We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Base Away From The Crowd”
Review of La Gerbera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Gerbera
Ranked #5 of 50 Levanto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We chose La Gerbera because it is near Levanto train station, which will be our daily transport to Cinque Terre.

Dori, our host, was very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean, and they provide free WiFi too. Shower room was a little small though. Breakfast was served on time every morning. We were given a choice of either focaccia bread or croissant for breakfast, we chose the latter. Soon we realised her version of croissant was like "danish pastry", sweet and did not look and taste like croissant. We decided to change to focaccia bread the following breakfast, it was good.

La Gerbera is near a supermarket too, a bonus for us to buy our daily needs like mineral water at a low price. (a 500ml bottled water in shops or cafe can cost about 1.50 euros whereas a 1.5 litres of water in the supermarket cost us less than 50cents.)

If your want to stay in a not so touristy location, yet have the convenience to do all the sightseeing, this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for La Gerbera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

We used Levento as our base to explore the Cinque Terra by train and used the feedback from Trip Advisor to select our accommodation. This was one of the best decisions we made. We stayed for 5 nights and Dori was an exceptional host and assisted us greatly with our plans to see the area and where to eat. Breakfast was delivered by her daily and a time we selected (after 8am as she got it from a local patisserie) and there was tea and coffee in the room which also had a bar fridge. The facility was relatively new and very comfortable. Most of the three storey building (which had around 10 rooms in total) was below the level of the road - so a series of steps was involved if you where on the bottom level. The disco lights in the bathroom was an interesting touch ..... Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this this accommodation. Note there is only street parking along the one way street that goes past the building which is within walking distance of the train station down the hill.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We booked into la gerbera when looking fora base to explore the cinque terre. We booked fairly late, but were lucky enough to get in. The hotel is a very short walk from the train station, and the owner provided very good instructions on how to find it. The rooms were very clean, modern, and a good size. Everything looked very new. The room comes with a basic breakfast with some tea coffee, mms etc, if you want more, there is a shopping centre just down the road, and he room has a fridge. This is a fantastic spot to base yourself for exploring the coast. Levanto was a bit less crowded than some of the other towns, and provides a whole range of less crowded walking trails as well as some good surf in the right conditions! We liked it so much we ended up staying an extra night. Owner was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goat101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Dorianna picked us up at the train station and brought our luggage up to the room. You enter your room from the outside of the building, there are 10-12 steps up which was not a problem for us. The room was just what we had asked for. Dori puts your breakfast in your room which consists of packs of toast and cookies. She stocks the refrig with orange juice and bottled water. That worked out fine and we appreciated having water in our room. Since no boats were running due to rough seas, we used the train to the Cinque Terre. The B&B was very close to the station, an easy walk. Dori also recommended several restaurants and we ate at 3 of them. We had a great experience staying here and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karensSouthernIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Very clean with modern furniture and bathroom, simple but more than adequate. Dorianna is a wonderful inn keeper, leaving chocolates and a birthday card on the little table for my sister when we returned from dinner. La Gerbera is located within easy walking distance of train station and good restaurants and shops in town. Be aware there are, as almost everywhere in Italy, steps you must be able to navigate to get to your room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed at this B&B for two nights in April and had a wonderful visit. The host, Doriana, was incredibly helpful: picked us up at the train station (even after an hour delay), suggested many good places to eat and visit, and held our bags after we checked out for the day before we took the train. The room was beautiful and clean with coffee and snacks for breakfast. The location was perfect for taking many walks or the train into the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeleine_F16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Doriana was the perfect host. She even collected us from the station and pointed out all the places we would need during our stay.

She was extremely helpful and and friendly, and wanted to ensure that we had what we needed. The room was newly renovated with everything we needed. The bathroom was lovely and the outlook pleasant. The room was a good size.

Her dinner recommendation was perfect.

Location was a nice walk not far from town or the station.

I would recommend this bed and breakfast.

Really good location for starting off on a Cinque Terre holiday or walk.

Doriana was the perfect host. She even collected us from the station and pointed out all the places we would need during our stay.

She was extremely helpful and and friendly, and wanted to ensure that we had what we needed. The room was newly renovated with everything we needed. The bathroom was lovely and the outlook pleasant. The room was a good size.

Her dinner recommendation was perfect.

Location was a nice walk not far from town or the station.

I would recommend this bed and breakfast.

Really good location for starting off on a Cinque Terre holiday or walk.







Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.1 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Durmi
A Durmi
#3 of 50 in Levanto
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Clelia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gerbera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gerbera

Address: Martiri della Liberta, 19015, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range: £74 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently built B & B La Gerbera is ideally situated to enjoy a nice seaside resort with a wide beach, but it can be also a starting point for excursions to 5 Terre. La Gerbera is situated in a peaceful area, a few steps from the heart of the town, 300 m far from the train station and 700 m far from the beach. La Gerbera has three polished double rooms, provided with wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Gerbera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing