We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the country side”
Review of Hotel Abetaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abetaia
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Imagine living amidst scenic and tranquil surroundings with fresh air and lots of trees. Abetaia is probably the best hotel I stayed in for my 16-day trip in Italy recently. The hotel is located in quite a remote area of Levanto but is very refreshing. The rooms are huge, very new and modern in deco and the hotel is peppered with personal touches of details. The owner Sonia is very warm and friendly and gave lots of advice for sightseeing in Cinque Terre. Breakfast is great with lovely home-made food and quite a wide variety as well. Love the spacious grounds around the hotel.. Abetaia is perfect for a romantic getaway as well as just to relax and chill after a busy-day of touring/sightseeing in Cinque Terre.

The only `downside' we encountered was when the shower floor got flooded! It's a very comfortable and luxurious shower but the drainage system seems to have some problem. Other than that, everything else about the hotel is impressive.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jesscet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abetaia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

I often read tripadvisor when planning, however, I have never taken the time to post my own experience - Hotel Abetaia was so fantastic - that I believe everyone should know about it. My husband, daughter (2 years) myself and another couple planned to visit Cinque Terre to hike after a 1 week stay in a villa in Tuscany. Check in was a breeze with warm & friendly Sonia, showed us to our modern spacious, quiet rooms which was a real treat after our rustic accomodations elsewhere. Over cappuccino's she showed us what train to catch to plan our hike, where to eat and answered all our questions. Then after putting our daughter to bed we walked over to the restaurant where we expereienced the best food of our trip - the menu, quality of the food, wine and the overall experience was unreal. The first night her husband the sommelier took us through an authentic seafood & white wine menu and the next night a meat and red wine extravaganza. We loved every moment of our time in Cinque Terre because of this wonderful establishment, like a fantastic boutique hotel, it really took time to take care of the little details. This is the place to stay if you are planning to visit Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea2421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was the first of 4 B&Bs on our honeymoon in Italy, and was the most modern and over all comfortable of the 4. The restaurant was our favorite of any we visited on the trip, and if you don't know what to pick, trust their recommendation. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty as well. They are definitely out of town, so if you don't have your own car expect to require a taxi or the owners do a shuttle service as well as time allows. This distance does make it much quieter than one in town is likely to be though, which we appreciate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed in Hotel Abetaia in June of this year with the view of visiting the Cinque Terre and other areas along the coast. On arrival we were enthusiastically greeted by the owner and shown to our room. The room was very modern and spacious, with a lovely balcony to relax on. There was also sitting areas within the grounds to relax should your room not have a balcony. Breakfast was included, although I got the impression that they didn't replenish the food and once it was done it was done (but this is fine, it is after all only a small hotel!!).

The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from Levanto itself - you probably would need a car, although I have read that the hotel has a shuutle bus - so handy to get to the train station to travel around. The owners are also very helpful in that they will give you as much info as you need regarding how to get to places etc.

Would definetly return should I be in this part of Italy again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NI_Traveller_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I don't give out 5-star ratings as a general rule, but Hotel Abetaia earned the highest review I have written in connection with my 3+ week tour of Italy. We liked the hotel the moment we arrived and immediately changed our itinerary so we could stay one extra night. I'm including a picture of Sonia, the hard-working and sweet front desk clerk. Her dedication to clients is apparent in everything she does. The hotel has laundry facilities for use by guests and Sonia even offered to wash and hang a load of clothes for me! While I did not take her up on her offer, I certainly appreciated her willingness to go to such lengths to help.

Everything at Hotel Abetaia is artfully done. The rooms are beautiful and modern in design, the grounds are immaculately groomed, and breakfast each morning is a picture. For instance, small things, like the way fruit is displayed uniquely every morning, make for a memorable breakfast experience.

I will definitely stay at Hotel Abetaia again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

By coincidence we found this amazing place. We went there for the recommended restaurant and found a beautiful place to stay at the same time. Stayed for 2 nights, superb rooms, minimalistic but warm at the same time, superb and personal service by the family that own and operate the hotel and restaurant which is highly recommended as well. The only thing missing was a swimming pool, which is planed.
The owner went into the garden at 23 hours at night to bring fresh mint for my wife`s Mojito. Will never be forgotten!
From the
Norwegian couple

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Espen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We loved our time at Hotel Abetaia. The location is so relaxing. After travelling around Europe it was so nice to get away from the crowds. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were really nice. I would really recommend this hotel to guests who have transport. The only downside was we felt a little isolated but if you are happy to pay for taxi service or if you are happy to relax with a book away from the crowds then this is the ideal place. Had read on 'trip advisor" that there was a courier twice a day but this wasn't offered but we were provided with a free taxi to pick us up from the railway station the day we arrived. We are still really glad we stayed there and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suedv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
3.5 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
485 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
446 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#4 of 15 in Levanto
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
389 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#8 of 15 in Levanto
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abetaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abetaia

Address: Localita Pian del Mommio SNC, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Price Range: £83 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abetaia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming from Levanto to the surrounding hills at just 6 km, guests arrive to a green and peaceful area at Hotel Abetaia. The structure offers 12 completely renovated rooms equipped with every modern comfort, is surrounded by fragrant and shady spruces and located along the banks of a river; our hotel offers large outdoor spaces, peace and relax and an excellent restaurant where enjoy the typical products of the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abetaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing