We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AltraVista Guest House
Ranked #20 of 50 Levanto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had been driving from Venice, I'd lost the printed map to AltraVista, when we met a wonderful man by the side of the road who had a phone and called Fabio, found out where we were to go, gave us directions, and, well, by the end of our interaction we'd invited him to our home in the States and he offered us his in a house swap! It was a magical saving moment at the end of a long day. When we arrived, Fabio was waiting for us outside the church next door. After we moved our things into the rooms, he offered me a glass of wine and I took it gratefully. We started talking like we'd known each other for a long time. The place was great - the common area, the mature gardens, the tables outside, the rooms - clean and spacious and comfortable - everything done with great taste and sense of design. We were hiking all of the next day til very late at night, so didn't see Fabio much except for breakfast (which was lovely). It was during breakfast that he suggested a walking route, which train tickets to buy, and where we might eat. All his advice was perfect. We had the most memorable time those two-three days in Levanto. I can't wait to return when time permits again. Fabio was very engaging - an interesting person who worked hard to make sure everyone was taken care of. Thank you Fabio!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bringthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had a wonderful time in AltraVista. Loved the location, so peaceful and beautiful. I can almost still hear the birds singing in the midsts of the hills under the house and the breeze and trees floating around us.

Fabio was an excellent host, with fantastic suggestions (excellent restaurant recommendations) and a lovely warm reception. Don't know what we enjoyed more... the area or Fabio's company.

We did a fantastic 4-hour walk to the first of the Cinqueterre villages and really enjoyed it. It was good exercise (not for weak though...) and ended in amazing views from the top of the hill. I definitely recommend it!

Altravista was great for the baby and my family too as the amenities were excellent and we had enough space for everything. In my opinion, this was good value for money, and I am very happy that we found it. I would however perhaps not recommend this option for people wanting easy access to everything. The roads up to San Michele are narrow and winding and parking options were never a problem but require a relatively-good driver (or at least one that does not panic).

Room Tip: We had the apartment (in order to have use of the kitchen) and it was great. The lovely views though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slinares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Our host Fabio was wonderful. He is very knowledgeable about Chinque Terre and told us about many things to do. He explained the area to us, showed us trails on a map to hike, told us about places to eat and much more. It was a true Italian experience. We are Americans living in Italy. We have been to many places through out Italy and this was by far our favorite. The place was clean, quaint atop a mountain with a great view. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank questdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Thought it was just a great place to stay. Peaceful and quiet, yet close enough to the railway to Cinque Terre. Hiking in the area was beautiful, we followed Fabio's suggestion to Monterosso on the first day and enjoyed it very much. We're both in our 60's - it was a good workout but easy to do if one is fit. (Caution - if it's warm, calculate how much water you will need for the hike, then double it) If Fabio offers to make dinner one evening - jump at the chance, he's an excellent chef. Rides to/from town are easy to arrange. Fabio will do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. Rooms are clean, the pictures are accurate, and the views are amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G0Avs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Fabio is a really nice and friendly guy. We came to his house to make a trip to the villages - to walk through the Cinque Terre. Fabio gave us informations about trains, cities and so on.
Furthermore he has created a very helpful map of Levanto...so which restaurants are good, where the best beach are, how much several things cost... so we went to the "Le 3 Cantine" restaurant which is really good. You must taste the fish antipasti for 2 persons. This is absolutely enough :) You will get 20 different fish antipasti. Great!

The room is not big, but very nice and has a small balcony with a great view. Also the bathroom is small, but enough for 2 persons. Everything is clean.

So it was a perfect stay in Fabio's house. Thanks to him.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We absolutely loved this place and Fabio. Although it wasnt located in the Cinque Terre, it was the next northern village. Very cute and quaint- great view of the mountains and was only a five minute car ride from the village center. Fabio is beyond helpful- transporting his guests to and from the town, making reservations, giving recommendations for places to eat, things to do, etc. I would suggest this place to anyone who wants to experience the Cinque without having to fall into the tourist drop. The B & B is in a beautiful area and typical Ligurian style with fresh grapes, fig trees right off your balcony. The place is very clean, neat and homey with comfortable beds and large showers/bathrooms. Thank you Fabio for everything, we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay. Fabio provides a wonderful place of tranquility away from the busy touristy places. The B&B is situated in a typical Ligurian village and it is perfect - clean, beautifully decorated and the setting is awesome. Fabio shares generously about the area and we had a lovely time sharing his homemade pesto in his garden overlooking the forest. I will try your recipe when we get home! Thank you Fabio for making our stay in Cinque Terre so special.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jeannetteanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#4 of 15 in Levanto
379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Villa Valentina
Villa Valentina
#3 of 50 in Levanto
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AltraVista Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AltraVista Guest House

Address: Via San Michele, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range: £96 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AltraVista is a Guest House that offers couples, families, or smallgroups, the opportunity to be guests in one of our comfortable rooms or ina separate nice apartment with the possibility to have the bed & breakfasttreatment. We are an alternative solution for the tourist who wishes to beaway from the confusion of the classical tourist circuit but at the sametime close to all services, good food, and culture.This typical three floor Ligurian house has been completely restructured,has a plateau garden typical Ligurian style, with olive trees, lemon trees,and medicinal plants. The communal space is dedicated to relaxation andfor breakfast service, where one can take some shade under the arbor of thegrape vines, and admire the breath taking panoramic view of the Ligurian Hills.AltraVista offers you an holiday stay in a uncontaminated area of Liguria,immersed in the nature and scents of the country, a solution for a tranquiland relaxing vacation, nearby the sea and the Cinque Terre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your AltraVista Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing