We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I was at Villa Margherita this July and had a wonderful experience. The room was extremely confortable and spotless with a very nice view of Levanto. The breakfast was just great particularly when I sat outside and enjoyed the lovely gardens. The villa has a nice location for people interested in going to the beach or taking the train to visit Le Cinque Terre. If you are interested in hiking the location of the Villa offers a nice walk along pretty villas that will bring you to a walking and bike path along the old railroad. Overall a great experience and location for anyone wanting to experience this beautiful region of Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

I depend heavily on the TripAdvisor reviews, especially when booking hotels out of the country. I have to say, of the 5 hotels I booked for our Italy trip, this one was the only disappointment. The room was adequate and clean, the bathroom small and breakfast about the same as everywhere else we stayed. Where I really felt they fell short was in service. The owner was borderline rude to us and not at all helpful in planning activities. Perhaps he was having a bad day(s) but we nicknamed him "Mr. Grumpy". I only met what I have to assume was his sister when we checked out and really didn't have much interaction with her. The only bright spot was the owner's father Mario who, even with limited English, pointed us towards an excellent restaurant.

I must agree with a few of the other reviewers, I just don't think this hotel was worth the money. It was a decent base for Cinque Terre, but if I had it to do again, I would have looked for a place in Monterooso. The trains visit it just as frequently, it is big enough to have restaurants and beach services and can be the starting or ending point for hikes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I and another couple enjoyed a brief one-night stay at the hotel recently. Paola and her brother were extremely kind and helpful, our room (along the upper garden, looked newly built or renovated) was absolutely spotless, the bathroom huge and well-appointed and the breakfast (while not grand) was tasty. The nice gentleman working the desk in the evening(I'm guessing Paola's father) was kind enough to phone our restaurant to book for us and asked after our experience the next morning. The hotel was kind enough to permit us to keep our car in their parking area for a couple of hours after check-out time. A clean, well-located little hotel in a great location in a BEAUTIFUL town and region.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Was in Villa Margherita July 2013. Clean, nice room with lovely view, reasonably priced. Several lovely gardens to relax and have a snack. Wonderful breakfast included with great service. Close to train station.. 5 minute walk to town makes it a good choice for proximity yet far enough away from the noise. Close to jogging and biking path. Only drawbacks are 2 minutes of somewhat precarious walking along the road towards town. Owner was very gracious and polite and provided us with everything we wanted including meal suggestions and return trip to train station even though I sometimes got the feeling that he would rather be doing something else. Neither of these very minor issues should discourage anyone from staying here. I would definitely stay here again.
See review of Smallface1 for trip recommendations.

Room Tip: Garden rooms though larger and classier, are pricier and don't have a scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uzis_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay with a friendly helpful staff. Full hearty breakfast with numerous choices. Easy walk to the beach, center of town & train station. Quick train ride to Cinque Terre. Lots of great restaurants. The locals were all helpful and friendly considering the mass of tourist they must deal with everyday. Definitely would return to this B & B.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel gets most things right. Rooms are nice(choose the garden rooms and not the rooms in the main house), breakfast is good though more fresh fruit would be nice. It is especially nice to sit in the garden during the morning or evening. The first part of the walk into town is on a main road and slightly dangerous. Ask for pickup to and from the train station as it is a difficult walk with luggage. The owner could be friendlier with guests but he is efficient.

Cinque Terre is everything one reads about it. Add the 2.5 hour walk from Levanto to Monterroso which though a bit challenging is certainly spectacular.consider a trip to Portovenere ( by boat) and another one to Portofino via the train to St Marguerite al Ligure.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank smallface1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I consider myself an experienced traveller. I normally do not write reviews but after my delightful stay in such a little quiet well kept secret paradise of italy I felt the need to share. The owners are siblings, Paola and Federico. They share the shifts equally with kindness and go beyond the word hospitality. The rooms are small but clean,quaint ,and simply surrounded by heavenly grounds. I would highly recommend this as a getaway from all the chaos of cinque terre. Side note the sole taxi driver Andrea is also so helpful and gracious.

Room Tip: No pool. Fitness is walking to beach and back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffaella1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#4 of 15 in Levanto
381 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Abetaia
Hotel Abetaia
#9 of 15 in Levanto
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#8 of 15 in Levanto
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Margherita by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margherita by the Sea

Address: Via Trento E Trieste 31, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range: £69 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Margherita by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Margherita by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Margherita By The Sea Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing