We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best. May have a spider problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average at best. May have a spider problem”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My boyfriend didn't tell me until we left that he killed over a dozen spiders in our room, This may explain some of the itching the following days. The rooms are big but don't feel very comfortable. The beds where very hard. The outside garden is very nice but we got attacked by ants and didn't spend long out there. I would look for something better if I went back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    114
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
103
246
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If you happen to see a negative review about Villa Margherita you must remember that there are some people that will never be satisfied.
My wife and myself were not let down by our travel agent Leanne when she told us how good this place was and what a great guy Federico is.....all the staff are so friendly and helpful.
I really can't add much more to what has been said.....pick all the best parts from the reviews and that sums up Villa Margherita add to that Levanto is such a pleasant laid back town with some very good restaurants which the staff will direct you to.
As a footnote.....not too many hosts willingly get up at 5.45am on a Sunday morning to get you to the station

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausjog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous stay and great value in this B&B! Great location with free shuttle to/from train station. Levanto has a real buzzy vibe with lots of good restaurants to choose from and a short walk to the beach and station for walks to Cinque Terre. Much more affordable With lots of pizzazz.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_W280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were thrilled to see that on arrival there was an indoor parking garage, as we were in our own car. Federico, the owner, keeps hold of the key and moves cars around as necessary and there is a lift from the hotel up to the car park, which is above the hotel (the hotel is situated on a steep hill). Our room was spotless and we had a garden room which exited onto a small garden with comfortable outdoor rattan furniture. There was another garden on the next terrace down. The breakfast buffet was as good as you can get in Italy, and we were also given a key for the lower gate which came out onto the road below. It's only a 5 minute walk into the town centre and the location of the hotel is excellent. You get the impression that Federico and his sister Paola, both run a tight ship at the hotel as standards are very good. Definitely would recommend this hotel. It is also only a 10 minute walk to the train station to catch a train to the Cinque Terre villages.
Sue & Rupert, York

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie19York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Villa Margherita is a lovely period house just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Levanto town, which is just north of the Cinque Terre on Liguria's scenic Mediterranean coastline. We stayed four nights and while it was fairly expensive for us - especially as we paid extra for a room with a balcony, a really great pillared loggia where we sat for hours reading and admiring the views - it was well worth it. The room was really spacious and comfortable, the guesthouse has small attractively landscaped gardens to sit out in too (when the sun was too strong on the loggia!) and the staff were very helpful. There are also a few self-catering apartments plus secure car parking, for those who need it.

Levanto is a great seaside town: unlike the picture postcard villages of the Cinque Terre, it has a real life of its own apart from tourism; it has a long sandy beach which was v crowded, being August, but still lovely for swimming; there are fantastic walks up the hills both along the coast and to the inland villages; train connections to Pisa and Genoa are really easy, and the Cinque Terre villages are nearby, by train and by boat, so there's no need for a car; there's a good choice of restaurants and bars in the town, plus good food shops and gelaterias, all essential to a good holiday, and overall, it's a laid-back place that's high on our list for a return visit. The next small town, Bonassola, is also lovely (and nicer than guidebooks suggested) and equally high on the list!

Room Tip: If you like to sit out to read, chat and admire views of the town, sea and mountains, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annaheussaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family and I really enjoyed staying at this B&B. The rooms were nice and spacious and the service was excellent. The view from the terrace was just wonderful. I highly recommend this location if you are interested in discovering Levanto and Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

we travelled from Lake Garda to Milan by train where we met our daughter and partner and then we all continued by train to Levanto. As it was raining we asked to picked up and this worked well. It is about 10 minutes walk from the station which is ok when not travelling with big suitcases for a months trip. We stayed in the Red Diamond apartment which is situated on the ground floor below the establishment and it was as the pictures showed. We used the washing machine successfully. The bathroom has the toilet in it but we knew that before we booked. The garden was private. The bed comfortable and master bedroom big. Hosts great. When you travel all the way from New Zealand with only a few words of Italian it is a relief to come to a place that is what it says it is on websites. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#7 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#8 of 15 in Levanto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Margherita by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margherita by the Sea

Property: Villa Margherita by the Sea
Address: Via Trento E Trieste 31, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
#6 Family Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Margherita by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Villa Margherita by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Margherita By The Sea Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing