We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartments near Cinque Terre, quiet, hillside location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Apartments near Cinque Terre, quiet, hillside location”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There were no accommodations in the B&B, but Federico emailed me that they had an apartment across the street. They quoted the same price, but since it was an apartment, there would be no maid service,. It was a spacious 3 bedroom, sunny and lovely. The kitchen was stocked with all the necessities for cooking, including a dishwasher! There was also a washing machine. No dryer, but a clothes line out the kitchen window. We stayed four nights, when we had to leave, as it was reserved for another family. They placed us in a second apartment.
Our second apartment was at the Villa, and had it's own private garden. It was a 2 bedroom, with the same amenities as our first. We loved both units, and would stay again.
The location was great, as down in the village, it was more crowded and noisy, yet the walk was only 10 minutes along a brick paved path broad steps that went across the river. The train station was only a 5 minute walk. We left our car in their garage the entire 6 days, as we either took the train, or boat into the Cinque Terre, or walked into Levanto for our dinners.

Room Tip: Since we didn't stay in the B&B, it would be difficult to recommend a specific area. The loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    116
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
104
251
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Situated on a hill on the far side of town, the lush, peaceful gardens add to the quiet location. Beautiful rooms, bountiful breakfasts and caring staff make this a hotel to return to. Frederico arranged for our transport to the train station when we left and we were so grateful for his help.

Room Tip: Garden rooms add a nice outdoor ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Villa Margherita is a great place to stay in Levanto; close enough to the centre to walk everywhere but far enough out to be quiet, even in the beautiful gardens. We had a car (parking available) but left it at the Villa as the trains and ferries were the easiest way to get around. The staff at Villa Margherita went out of their way to help, both with the initial booking process and with finding out information on the ferry times and destinations. We were also advised on the 3 best restaurants in Levanto; we managed to visit all 3 and were impressed with all of them. We had both double and single rooms in our group; the double room was a good size and the single rooms (with double beds) were "compact", but all the rooms caught either the morning or the evening sun and so could be filled with light. However, you won't want to stay in the room as the whole coast from Portofino to Riomaggiorre is there to easily explore and will not disappoint. Great location, great staff, great stay!

Room Tip: The double room with a small balcony on the south-western corner was fantastic, but all our rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We loved this quiet and affordable option which gave us a base from which to explore the towns. Levanto is one stop beyond Monterosso, with all of the 5 cities tourist trains also stopping there along with some express trains. Levanto is a larger town with ample dining opportunities and a nice beach. The hotel is out of town a short distance up the hill and is very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast spread was great and we thought their morning capuccino was among the best we had during our entire trip. The room was small but very well designed and nicely furnished. At the end of our stay, we were driven to the train station by hotel staff which was very helpful and much appreciated.

Room Tip: From the train station follow the trailblazer signs located along Corso Roma; do not let Gmaps send...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The B&B is on a hill within easy walking distance to the town and the beach. Our room was a classic double and although a fairly nice size room, the large wood furniture made it feel smaller. The air conditioner did not work in our room but luckily the air was cool enough to keep the window open. Very quiet at night but would get noisy early in the morning with the open window. The Wi-Fi worked well. We were able to park our rental car in a private garage above the B&B.

The hotel is very open, light and airy. They have a nice breakfast with breads, pastry and meats. The B&B is overall very lovely and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Make sure your air conditioner works if you book when the weather is warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CO92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Arrived 9/5/2014 departed18/5/2014.Spotlessly clean,great breakfast,helpful staff nice atmosphere and looking forward to a return.Levanto is a picture perfect destination with high quality seafood and fruit and veg.Marg&Michael Melbourne.

Room Tip: Balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I spent three nights at Villa Margherita. My room (double at the single rate) had a great view of the water. Not a bad location for getting to the train station (on foot) or even to the beach. The room was clean and the whole experience was peaceful. Breakfast was a typical European breakfast with pastries, meats and cheeses and cappuccino. Quite lovely!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soloprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#6 of 15 in Levanto
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#8 of 15 in Levanto
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Margherita by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margherita by the Sea

Property: Villa Margherita by the Sea
Address: Via Trento E Trieste 31, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
#6 Family Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Margherita by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Margherita by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Margherita By The Sea Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing