We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place”
Review of L'Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Antico Borgo
Ranked #8 of 51 Levanto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Carlo is a very helpful person, very kind and professional.
The location for B&B "Antico Borgo" is lovely , the house has a fine view over the Levanto and close hills. From here you can see the sea.
Rooms comfortables , cleans and charming.

it's a very good hotel, I can recommend it to you !
Ciao.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilanAndrea_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    47
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
111
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you're looking for a beautifully restored B&B with immaculate rooms, a superb breakfast ( with home made quiche), a terrace with a breathtaking view of Levanto where you can sit in the evenings sipping prosecco or home made limoncello, an oasis of tranquillity far from the madding crowds, then this is the place for you! We have stayed there on a regular basis over the past four years or so in various combinations - as a couple with golden retriever dog and with our (then) fifteen year old son in a three bedded room and we couldn't have felt more welcome on every occasion. Of course Antico Borgo is in the hills outside Levanto, so you need a car, but that's abundantly clear from the information on the net. This is our favourite secret place!

Room Tip: The best rooms are of course the ones with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elspeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chamonix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2012

First of all , Carlo is a perfect host , thank you from us all. We arrived with two children aged 4 and 9 and a 7 month old fairly large dog. To many people I am sure that we are their worst nightmare ! We could not have been made more welcome .
Having read the reviews they are ( mostly ) spot on ... I would only disagree with Tandem 2 s 'nightmare' ( although an alarm would be quite annoying) ... of course it's steep , it's a hilltop village for goodness sake ! But Carlo insisted on coming up to collect our bags from the car. Yes the car park gets full , but the locals all park on one side of the road and it is a perfectly good arrangement You do need a car to get up and down to Levanto and Carlo will give you a parking permit for the best spot on the beach ...fab ! There is only 1 trattoria locally which will be why it is recommended ! We favoured the trattoria Garabaldi in Levanto ...fab pizzas.
Otherwise read the reviews below, amazing breakfast , clean rooms , hard beds ? Well yes but my wife found them perfect , welcome to Italy ! p.s free wifi throughout and the directions are spot on.
We ended up having to split and payed for 2 rooms. So €150 a night was a bit pricey, but boy that breakfast is good .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesinchamonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Thankyou trip advisor for guiding us around Italy. We found this B&B absolutely charming, staff were great, room was spotless, food was 5 star, even the local bees enjoy the hams! Yes the bed was harder than mine, but I discovered that was all over Italy! I still slept extremely well. We enjoyed the fact we werent in Levanto, experiencing the quiet and taking in the ambiance, the local accepted way of life was appealing, we were the tourists and we enjoyed every minute. The drive to Levanto was mins away, and we had no parking probs.Hopefully when the surf is pumping we will return for a spritz at the Piper Bar and Sara's frittata.ciaociao

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We will definitely not return there. The location is far from Levanto !! There are not enough parking places so you need to park your car on the side of a very small road. The entrance to the B&B is extremely steep. The room was nice but no view at all. A girl of the B&B recommended one of the restaurants in the next village and was very much insisting to make reservations so it made us wonder... In the middle of the night an alarm went off behind the door of our room. As nothing happened after half an hour I called the tel.nr. which I found in the hallway. Finely somebody turned up but was unable to stop the alarm. Then another person came in and finely stopped the alarm. All together the alarm rang for one and half hour! It was a nightmare ! The next morning no excuses have been made which we thought was very rude ! We paid for a sleepless night ! The only thing we enjoyed was the view from the breakfast terrace.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tandem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anticoborgo, Proprietario at L'Antico Borgo, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Madam
i'm sorry for this this drawback .i write you to explain the situation
Somebody broke the allarm of the shower in the middle of the night.we've been unable to stop it ,untill we broke the siren.Idid quikly as possible.
we were not rude next morning ,only the waitress was not informed about the problem of thath night.In the meaning time i was working in the other hotel.
i understand your reaction and i'm soo sorry.anyway i did my best to resolve the problem.
All the rest (parking,distance,entrance)is well descript in the web site and in all our e-mail.
we don't guaranted the view for all the rooms

we don't have any charge on the restaurant close by us.we have our restaurant and hotel in Levanto center too. (hotel palace)
we only try to give the best informations to our guest .

anyway ,my apologies .

carlo pilotti
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Carlo and the rest of the staff were great. Our rooms were comfortable and well decorated. The breakfast was a feast. The view from the terrace looking down on the Mediterranean was breath-taking. The staff was also helpful recommending restaurants for dinner. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Amazing! Everything the brochure said and better! The highlight was sitting on the large patio eating breakfast and what a breakfast! Unbelievable the choices - am not going to tell you, so go ahead and book and saviour the delights! Carlo our host was expecting his first child the day we left so he was quite nervous throughout our 3 day stay. His mother, I believe, runs the place to perfection and was busy cleaning, cooking, baking all day and often made coffee for us late at night after we returned from exploring the 5 Terre. Perfect location to tour the villages as the train and boat depart from Levanto. Since we had come from a wonderful B&B in Verona we did not anticipate this would be as good but it was and so we had a truly memorable stay in Italy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janieg22609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#8 of 15 in Levanto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
1.8 mi away
Villa Clelia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antico Borgo

Property: L'Antico Borgo
Address: Localita Dosso, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Antico Borgo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to spend a wonderfuland relaxing holiday in the Cinque Terre.A friendly and welcoming atmosphere characterizes this manor house.It is located in panoramic position in "Dosso",one of the most attractive medieval hamlets of Levanto, the "door to the Cinque Terrre"...Romantic rooms,wonderful breakfast, panoramic terrace,cleaning service every day,wi-fi, and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing