We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Antico Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Antico Borgo
Ranked #7 of 49 Levanto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“A place to recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed during 3 nights. Lovely place in a great location with beautiful view to the sea and nearby hills. Breakfast was excellent and each day we tasted something new. The hosts were very pleasant and rooms are very clean. Certainly a place to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    47
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
111
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I found this bed and breakfast through Sawday and what a wonderful find it was. I love the location in the tiny hamlet of Dosso, overlooking Levanto. We had a room for 4 people which was clean, spacious and wonderful bathroom. It also had a little fridge in the room which was a great find. Knowing it was up in the hills we had come prepared with a picnic for dinner and had the pleasure of eating this out on the terrace, perfect! The beds were comfy, the only minor comment is that a fan in the room would be nice as in August it was rather warm but otherwise, it was wonderful. Breakfast was amazing, we were truly spoilt with a selection of goodies from cured meats to cakes. Will definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckieL1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed 1 night in this lovely place. Beautiful, comfortable, clean, well designed, amazing view, great service. Very nice breakfast, nice people.

Isolated so car is needed. It was not easy to find, but it worth it and we wanted to stay more. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anatzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

If it hadn't been for a slow-to-function air conditioner in our room, I would give this place 5 stars (maybe even 6 stars!) just for the breakfast alone, which is one of the all-time best breakfasts I have had in more then 25 years of staying at bed & breakfast places. The owner, Carlo, is a very gracious host. The house is lovely and relaxed at the same time. This is a place you could really chill out at if you wanted to. The room was spacious and charming, the bathroom modern and super-clean with well-functioning fixtures. The view from the terrace (where breakfast is served) is spectacular. It is a 15-minute drive down into the town of Levanto on twisty roads. Levanto might strike you as a bit of a letdown, especially if your idea of a sleek resort is Portofino, Positano or St. Tropez. I liked the idea that Carlo provides a residential parking card you can stick on the dashboard, allowing you to park free in the parking lot at the train station (and a few others nearby).

Room Tip: If you go in the summer and are daunted by 99-degree temperatures (as we encountered in July), be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djstorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our fourth time at L'Antico Borgo and still an excellent 'five star trip advisor' stay.
Carlo and his staff really know how to make your stay perfect. Very clean spacious rooms, delicious breakfasts, views from the terrace to die for!!! Stargazing at night....wonderful.
As we have stayed here before the staff remembered us and welcomed us like old friends.
This is truly a very special place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borrowedtheboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon. Had a little trouble finding it, but once we got on the right road it was clearly marked. Didn't help that it was pouring down rain when we were searching for it! Sits tucked away from the road with a small parking area up a small hill/close to the building.

Building is very nice with a welcoming entrance area and comfortable common areas downstairs. I was a little disappointed upon arriving, because I had requested a room with a sea view and we were given a room with no view at all (looked out the the wall of the adjacent building). We asked if they had gotten my request, didn't get a response (seemed like they avoided the question - other places where I had requested certain rooms, no problems) but we were told all the other rooms were full. Even though our room had no view, it was still very nice so it wasn't a huge deal to us, just a little disappointed on that aspect. Just be advised that there are only 2 rooms that actually have sea views, and you should contact the hotel in advance to see if you can get either of those rooms, if that's important to you! :) I would have followed up with them before we arrived if I knew this myself/ahead of time.

Our room was very clean, spacious and on the 3rd floor. Staff was friendly (other than the room question) and helpful, giving us information on the trains to the villages, etc. Breakfast was wonderful - great variety of items, eggs to order and one of the best cappuccinos I have ever had! The first day we ate inside, as it was wet outside from the rain - the second day we ate outside on the patio, which was lovely and had a beautiful view of the mountains/ocean in the distance. We felt this hotel was an great value for the price point. Only cons were no view from room, and wifi did not work at all in our room. So we had to come down the lobby area to use wifi. Staff commented that it's a common problem there (no wifi signals in rooms or very flaky), but didn't do anything about it. Didn't really bother us that much, but they shouldn't advertise wifi in the rooms if it doesn't actually work in those areas. Wifi was fine in the lobby though.
Other than that, we had a great stay at this B&B and I would definitely recommend it to others!

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor was nice but no view! Request sea view room in advance, there are only 2 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealtorE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Durkheim, Germany
Level Contributor
191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We lived some years in the northern part of Italy and we have seen some hotels in that area. The L'Antico Borgo is really something special. It is a beautiful place, clean and managed with love to the details. The place is some kilometers away from the center but you can use the residential card, provided by the hotel, which lets you park for free or for a good discount direct at the beach.
Compared with other roads in the mountain area, the road to the hotel is really big, so don't be afraid.
The breakfast is delicious and the variety of food is far above the standard, even compared to higher rated hotels.
The only problem is the way of living in such houses. The hotel is close to other residential houses. Air conditioning might be helpful at lower temperatures but in summer, you need to switch it off and open the windows - such as the other people do. That means you can hear every word for around your room. That works, if everybody has a similar lifestyle. During our stay, everybody went to bed around 11 and 12. After that time, the whole area was absolutely quiet, no cars, nothing but silence.
So, if you go to the cinque terre area, we can recommend that hotel very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wulf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#9 of 15 in Levanto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
1.8 mi away
Villa Clelia Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antico Borgo

Property: L'Antico Borgo
Address: Loc. Dosso, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Antico Borgo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to spend a wonderfuland relaxing holiday in the Cinque Terre.A friendly and welcoming atmosphere characterizes this manor house.It is located in panoramic position in "Dosso",one of the most attractive medieval hamlets of Levanto, the "door to the Cinque Terrre"...Romantic rooms,wonderful breakfast, panoramic terrace,cleaning service every day,wi-fi, and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Antico Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing