We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a very good Location!”
Review of Ospitalia del Mare

Ospitalia del Mare
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ospitalia del Mare
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The building seemed a little outdated and upon first impressions I wondered if the building was built
For the purpose of a hostel ( as it has large corridors and rooms
And resembles (slightly) a hospital) but it is in a wonderful little town, Levanto, which has many more facilities than the small touristic towns of la cinque terra ( I preferred staying one town out). It is after the fifth town, one stop away by train which takes no time at all! There is free wifi and breakfast is provided. Breakfast is small, but it's what many Italians would have for breakfast, and it will generally be the same in all other accommodation in Italy! The rooms are large, and you get a large locker/wardrobe to lock away your
Stuff ( you need your own lock). The bathroom is fine, but the shower is hard to confine behind the curtain and water usually spills over the floor! Also, be aware that yhe reception is not always open and closes at certain intervals during the day. This may be slightly inconvenient, so note this when turning up! Minor negatives, and I would stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma2478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2010

This hostel was wonderful. At EUR 20 per night it was a fantastic deal. Jacky at the reception was so helpful and gave us a wonderful restaurant tip for Levanto - the Due Lune which had very lovely Italian food at a price range from EUR 5-12. Hostel has Free Wifi. Breakfast was okay - but you only get one piece of bread which is quite small. It would be nice if they offered a little more. Levanto is one train stop away from the first Cinque Terre town - or a 5 minute train ride. for EUR 1.80 you can travel in one direction from town to town for 6 hours. Once you get to the last town you just buy another ticket for EUR 1.80 and have another 6 hours to ride the train and get back. The train station is about a 20 minute walk from the hostel. Levanto itself is quite charming with cute shops, and a lovely beach. Great waves for surfing. One drawback is that there is no free parking nearby. In fact, there is only one street in Levanto that offers free parking, so it may take quite a while to find a spot. Otherwise it's usually about EUR 10-20/day in a garage.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fkobuddyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The perfect place to spend some days at the beach: the rooms were really spacious and clean, we got a female dorm as we asked for it, the personell was friendly, the walk to the beach was short and the breakfast was okay. The only thing which was bothering us was that the reception was often closed. A plus were some discounts for restaurants in Levanto whcih one could get at the reception. This was occupied by a very nice woman who described the way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kala96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We took our 2 teens here for 4 nights and yes, the beds are singles, but they are clean, the room was huge and the bathroom was great. The hostel itself was quiet, although the rooms facing the front (and the bar across the street, which had fabulous food, btw) were noisy, but with earplugs that we never travel without, all was fine.
The staff were friendly and accomodating; thanks to the lovely lady at the front desk who supplied us with bandages and burn cream when my daughter burned her leg on an exhaust pipe.
We'd definately go back and stay here; for families it's great, for romantics and honeymooners, go someplace else and pay LOTS more.
BTW, the breakfast was not great, but in Italy, it's ALWAYS bread and coffee. It served it's purpose!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debdoo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed in a 6-bed dorm room with a bathroom. The staff were friendly and you can deposit valuables in the safe for free.
You make your own beds and strip them when you leave, the room was fairly clean but the shower wasn't great and it was difficult not to get water all over the floor.
Breakfast is included but is very light: a bread roll, some jam, two biscuits and tea/coffee/chocolate.
So it wasn't incredible overall but for us it was fine, we basically dumped our stuff, headed to the Cinque Terre and started the walk, crashed there for the night and slept fine and that was it.
So if you're on a budget and just looking for a bed, this place is ideal. If you're looking for luxury, try a hotel.
It's about a 20 minute walk from the train station and there's a tourist info. office nearby where you can get maps of the Cinque Terre and buy the Cinque Terre pass, which can get you access to trains and the walks for different time periods, depending on what you want.
Levanto seemed like a very safe and friendly town, we had no problem walking back to the hostel at 12am.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EuropeGapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

This is a good place to stay if you wanna go to 5 terre. But, the 50 bucks I´ve payed it´s not worth it! I was with my boyfriend and there were no rooms with a couple bed, just two single beds. This place was formerlly an hospital, so It doesn´t make much sense the room spaces. For instance, the bathroom was huge and the bedroom was like an aisle, we tryed to make the beds side by side, but it didn´t work. The staff was ok, and didn´t told us where was the kitchen and what we could use. The blanckets was worn out, with some stains, that we prefer not to look. Well, in Brazil, the hostels are much much better and clean. I know this area does not have a proper choice for budget travellers, so if you have some more bucks, rent an appartment (go to 5 terre by train, do not stay in any of them) in Levanto, Sta Margherita Ligure and so on. It will be a little bit expensive but you won´t have problems in your honeymoon. BUT if you are with your friends, go to this hostel and spend one night here. The breakfast is poor, but it´s like every hostel in this part of Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opezzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2008

This is a brilliant hostel in the heart of Levanto and I highly recommend it. The rooms are spacious and clean - each has it's own bathroom with great hot showers. The beds are comfy too.

The location is great: the hostel is situated just off one of the main squares in town, 5 minutes from the beach and not up hill at all. It takes about 15 minutes to walk from the station (all flat), and when you arrive there is a lift for your tired feet.

The staff are wonderful and friendly and there is a really happy, relaxed feeling to the hostel.

Also, I would highly recommend Levanto to anyone who is looking to explore the Cinque Terre. Levanto station is one stop North from the villages, but all the trains stop there. However Levanto has more facilities than the Cinque Terre villages and is less expensive. It's a real jem of a resort and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jennynumpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levanto
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
2 mi away
Hotel Pensione Moderna
Hotel Pensione Moderna
#3 of 4 in Bonassola
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Affittacamere Angela
Affittacamere Angela
#14 of 21 in Levanto
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
506 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Abetaia
Hotel Abetaia
#9 of 15 in Levanto
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ospitalia del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ospitalia del Mare

Address: Via San Nicolo | Parco Nazionale delle Cinque Terre, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Levanto
Price Range: £26 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ospitalia del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing