We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel & Location”
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stella Maris
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The location was perfect for walking around. The breakfast outside was a lovely touch, with gazebos, draped with fabric. Our room had a 20 foot ceiling, with a fresco painted on the ceiling. Lots of old pictures hanging, Also a chandler in the middle of the room. Antique furniture, lace over the headboard on our bed, desk, 2 chairs, and a sofa, dresser. The windows, were very large, draped with lace, with shutters over looking the garden. Lots of restaurants, and the beach, nearby. We stayed for 5 days, and will go back again. My favourite hotel in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giraffes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Stella Maris - great location in the "heart" of Levanto, blocks from the beach and "old" city. Can walk everywhere from there. Room was very clean and big and bright (we stayed in the original building, not the annex). Had a beautiful mural on the (very high) ceiling of our room. Big, high windows to let the light in. Desk clerks were very nice and helpful. Since we drove there, they provided us with a decent parking space a few blocks away. The only drawback is surly girl who handles breakfast. The breakfast area itself is very nice -a few tables under canvas gazebos- but her attitude sucked (though I got her to crack a smile at the end of our trip). She was the only negative thing about our stay, though, so we didn't let it get to us. (She did make some great scrambled eggs, though). Oh, and there's no elevator, so it's a few flights up to the lobby.

Room Tip: Make sure to book your room in the main building and tell them you don't want the annex (which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank szullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is a find on the edge of cinque terre great staff very helpful, and the owner is only to happy to talk about the history and refurbishment of the hotel, the room we stayed in was beautiful with huge windows which overlooked the garden. breakfast was in the garden and this was a nice way to start the day good selection available. Be aware no elevator so if you travel heavy be prepared to climb stairs. We really enjoyed our time in Levanto, loved the people food and village. Easy walking distance from railway station

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed there for 6 nights. The hotel is - or looks like - an old palazzo with high painted ceilings. Rooms are furnished with early 20th Century antique furnitures. However some of the high ceiling rooms are split in the middle height to make two seperate decks. We stayed in the upper deck and felt like Michelangelo painting Sistine Chapel's ceiling, especially in the first night. Then we get use to it. But I strongly suggest you to make sure that your room is not one of them. Staff is nice and trying to help, but their English is limited and some receptionists are not familiar with the area to help in directions and suggestions - maybe it was due to their lack of fluency in English. Last but not the least, if you are an internet freak, don't even think about this place, the speed kills.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We found this hotel through a concierge in Firenze. We had asked for a booking in the Cinque Terre, and he, in his great wisdom, placed us at Stella Maris.

The hotel is small and beautiful. It's truly like living in a palace -- sleeping under an incredible frescoed ceiling surrounded by beautiful antique furniture and art. It's close to the train station, beach and it's quiet!

We loved Levanto. It has a real beach and fewer crowds. The town is small and the people very friendly. It's a short train or boat ride to the Cinque Terre -- and a hikers dream.

Room Tip: Only saw ours, but it was beautiful. I understand that even better are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

This is second stay at Stella Maris. The rooms are beautiful, the location is perfect; the staff is so very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival - before we even told them our names, the owner smiled and said in her best English "I know you! You stayed here last year!" - that is the type of atmosphere and people here! The location is perfect! walking distance to the waterfront; train station; and the Chinque Terra! The rooms we stayed in had beautifully painted ceilings and were very generous in space with updated bathrooms. The breakfasts each mornign were delightful out in the garden under cloth covered gazebos. Great Place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mymcgarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We had a very nice stay. Staff very fliendly and helpful. Breakfast perfect. Rooms are very special, I personally felt they are very charming, maybe not my style at home, but, charming.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estotipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#4 of 15 in Levanto
381 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#8 of 15 in Levanto
254 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Abetaia
Hotel Abetaia
#9 of 15 in Levanto
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 4, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Price Range: £88 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Maris 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Levanto located between Cinque Terre and Portofino on the first floor (no elevator) of Vannoni Palace welcomes you to the warm atmosphere of the hotel de charme Stella Maris.The hotel has beautiful rooms, frescoed ceilings, antique furniture, snow-white lace curtains will satisfy the aesthetic taste of the most demanding without depriving the modern comforts. Want all the comforts of our sweet home, forget the stress of daily rhythms, be pampered ... The owner and staff will be working for the dream goes beyond expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing