We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stella Maris
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent 3 days in Levanto and stayed in Stella Maris - a fabulous place decorated in baroque style. The staff were incredibly helpful, courteous and professional. On our last day we asked for a 6.15 wake-up call, and thinking that we would be leaving on a very early train - we found a note under our door the next morning thanking us for staying with them and informing us that they packed a breakfast for us (left in the dining room on the table), assuming that we would be leaving before breakfast time. A real touch of class from the General manager! We will recommend this place in a heart beat to those who are thinking of visiting Cinque Terre. Even though the five historic villages are charming and lovely, I would rather be in the comfort of the Stella Maris and take an easy train ride into the cities daily - which is what we did.

Room Tip: We were booked for a standard room but they graciously put us in a superior room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elfreda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    33
    8
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This cute boutique hotel (you wouldn't know it was a hotel as it is located in the same building as apartments!) is a wonderful find. The rooms are decorated in baroque style with very high ceilings which are painted in beautiful fresco art. The staff are wonderful - the breakfast is great, and the location is superb. Excellent value. I would go back to this hotel without hesitation. Highly recommended! We had room 3 (I think there are only 5 or 6 anyway) and it was like staying in someones (luxurious) home..go - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There was no fitness centre or swimming pool - so unable to rate properly. All rooms are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Algoz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. It's more like a B&B than a hotel. Very clean, staff helpful, breakfast good however very "Italian". Centrally located and easy to walk to both harbour and train. Two minor complaints:even although we were the only guests staying for the entire week, we were in the smallest room and wifi would be a great addition to our comfort. Yes there is cable Internet but when you are on a long trip and there are 2 people wifi makes a huge difference. Overall - very good. Recommendations for restaurants were spot on - thank you.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Centrally located but no lift to first floor reception and the hotel - would have been impossible for me to carry my case up the steep staircase without the help of the receptionist. Spent 2 nights there and taken aback by the dark oppressive room - seemed more like a pet project to showcase antique furnishing by the owner rather than a professionally run hotel. The hotel was preoccupied with a wedding being held in the gardens the second night so breakfast was not served there. Breakfast was poor in the extreme - on a buffet was a cornucopia of little jars of preserves and packeted slices of cake and little else. There was no bread, no rolls, no fruit. The receptionist/waitress said "scrambled egg is possible" and one scrambled egg on the plate with nothing else was exactly what arrived. Ironic, as there was a large kitchen where staff were preparing extensive food for the wedding. The wedding was overpoweringly noisy that night outside our window but thankfully finished at midnight. Mixed opinions on the staff - one delightful and helpful receptionist, another more off-hand who was manning the switchboard and also had to be asked to make us coffees for our breakfast. Overall, would definitely not stay there again nor recommend - I prefer a more professionally run hotel for that price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeddiPomPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Levanto hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

good value for money. Right in the centre and you can walk everywhere. Big old authentic rooms. 2 min walk to the beach. Have dinner at nearby da rino restaurant and trattorria centro for fantastic local sea food

Room Tip: beds are a bit small in the double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJCLdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I was there this week during the terrable storm and the entire staff from check in until we left were like family! I look forward to going back and support the Cinque Terre area and will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeBski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The hotel is located in an old palace with wonderful (but dark) frescoes and our room was particularly large. However, the bathroom, which was a boxed in addition was tiny and there is far too much uneccessary furniture in the room which reduces the available free space in the room. The beds are quite comfortable. Breakfasts are in a lovely outdoor area with a reasonable range of food options. One issue l have is that it is relatively quite expensive but operates more like a B&B. Little things like running out of yogurt, the toaster is broken and hasnt been repaired/replaced, no brochures in the common areas. It would have been fine if it had not been so expensive-we had expected a better experience for the price. It is overpriced for what it offers-there are better options in Levanto. Levanto is just on the outskirts of the Cinque Terre towns and a very good location to base yourself to see the Cinque Terre towns (as long as you are prepared to accept that long delays on the regional train are part of the experience). The Cinque Terre region is lovely to see and unique, but be expected to be overrun by tourists. Levanto itself is a small but attractive town. There are lots of B&B offerings available, in addition to a number of hotels. The breakfast area operates as a restaurant but only one hour in the evenings so its really giving it lip service and its use is infact discouraged. There are though plenty of other options available for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#11 of 15 in Levanto
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Property: Hotel Stella Maris
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 4, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Maris 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Levanto located between Cinque Terre and Portofino on the first floor (no elevator) of Vannoni Palace welcomes you to the warm atmosphere of the hotel de charme Stella Maris.The hotel has beautiful rooms, frescoed ceilings, antique furniture, snow-white lace curtains will satisfy the aesthetic taste of the most demanding without depriving the modern comforts. Want all the comforts of our sweet home, forget the stress of daily rhythms, be pampered ... The owner and staff will be working for the dream goes beyond expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing