We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but better places in other towns”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Bucerias, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Okay, but better places in other towns”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We thought the price was a bit high for a low season, but Levanto is close to Cinque Terre and therefore cheaper for accommodations. The hotel is in a great location and the breakfast was very good. Again our room was close the local supermarket and a bit noisy in the morning when the truck was unloading.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieandMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    86
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
120
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

It is a very clean and comfortable hotel. Very close to the beach and the train station. It is a perfect hotel for Levanto. Although a little expensive, I would definitely stay there again. The beach in Levanto isn't great, but the city is beautiful. Also, the hotel gave nice recommendations for restaurants.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lucasmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel was in an excellent location with a wonderful family run business. Nothing was a problem for the staff. Their recommended restaurants were fantastic (La Palme & La Loggia).
The breakfast was very varied and my wife enjoyed the self boiled eggs!
The beach was great even though it was the usual European pebble beach. The water sports rental was nice and laid back with some good Bic SUPs. Also close to the Pipers Bar.
We rented bikes from the hotel and rode north to Bonassola which was a short 20 minute ride (2.81 kms) through old railway tunnels.
We all did the easy walk from Riomaggiore to Manarola. But the walk from Monterossa to Vernazza to Corniglia was approx 3.5 hours of sometimes difficult terrain. We did the ferry trip to Portovenere which was fantastic and 2 hours wasn't enough time.
A most enjoyable 4 nights stay and thank you to "Ciao Bella" for your smile and recommendations.
One negative was the noise from the early morning deliveries to the local supermarket.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Junior Suite like Room 2009 for a bit more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

If you choose not to stay right in the Cinque Terre towns, Levanto is a good choice, as it is considered the gateway to the Cinque Terre. The town is a decent size, so you will have more dining and shopping options than in the smaller towns.

Getting off the train from Milan, I saw the signs for the Nazionale almost immediately, and after a walk of about 10 minutes, reached the hotel. The lady working the reception desk was friendly and welcoming and spoke excellent English (as did all the front desk staff). After collecting some sightseeing tips and a train schedule, I headed up to my room.

I was on the third floor overlooking the back, rather than the street, and could see the town square from my window. The room was done in pale blue and white, very restful and refreshing in appearance. There was plenty of space to put my clothes, luggage, etc., and there was a small mini fridge. The bathroom and shower were tiny, with not much space for toiletries, but I managed just fine so it was not an issue. WiFi is available in the lobby only. The staff will wash and dry your clothes free of charge, but do not provide ironing.

The breakfast buffet featured cold meats, cheese, various breads, rolls, pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, and juices and is more than adequate to get your day off to a good start. In warm weather you can opt to have breakfast in the garden, and there is also an attractive rooftop garden for relaxing or sunbathing. A warm and inviting ground floor lounge makes you feel more a family friend than a hotel guest.

Room Tip: I'd probably chose a room on the back side rather than the front, though some in the front have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amethyst23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife & I stayed at the Hotel Nazionale for 3 nights in August 2012 and would highly recommend this gem of a hotel in Levanto - close to all the attaractions. Excellent location and certainly convenient when visting Chinque Terre. We would recommend staying in Levanto as against the other towns in Chinque Terre because of the convenience and location.
Our stay was made pleasurable by the wonderful and helpful service provided by the friendly and professional staff in a family run property. Excellent continental beakfast in a garden setting and good size well furnished rooms. Free Wi-Fi provided in reception/ lounge area where you could relax and enjoy the facilities.
We would have no hesitation in staying at the Nazionale on a return visit to Chinque Terre which is high on our list of one of the friendliest towns we have had the pleasure of visiting.
The hotel owners and staff should be congratulated on running a professional,clean and wonderful establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for a week in Hotel Nazionale in August 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a standard room which was quite comfortable. The hotel is right in the centre of Levanto, which has a pedestrianised town centre, and is ideal for strolling around the town to peruse the shops, walk to the beach or enjoy the many nice restaurants. The hotel is family run and all staff are extremely friendly (and fluent in a number of languages). The hotel is a great base for visiting Le Cinque Terre. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our room faced onto the front street but we did not find it noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynberg186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Nice hotel with sitting area on roof when you want to sit outside. Very friendly staff. And well place in the town to get anywhere. Bit noisy if you are near the square. B'fast was average. Nice sitting room for colder days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from square and a busy restaurant on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#7 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#8 of 15 in Levanto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Property: Hotel Nazionale
Address: Via Jacopo da Levanto 20, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing