We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad,bad,bad !”
Review of Hotel Nazionale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nazionale
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We used the Nazionale as our base for a three day stay in Cinque Terre. We had a small room with a shower so tiny that whenever you moved you would hit the shower controls and it would turn off. Even a stick person would have bee crowded! The walls of the room were so thin that we could hear the person in the adjoining room snore at night. The matriarch in charge was sharp and patronizing. The good thing was the breakfast , varied and plentiful, However when we asked for a cappuccino we were warned that only the first one was free.
We paid 130 E. per night plus 15 E per night for parking. When we checked out, an Italian couple that was ahead of us also had stayed for three nights and were given a discount at the counter. The "gentile" signorina Agnese did not accord us the same courtesy. The mercenary greed of merchants in this area really pushes the envelope. Anyway Cinque Terre is over hyped, over priced, and over crowded. Avoid it!!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room on arrival, and be courageous enough to complain. I am trying to be more brave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bounderDeltaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place was not that great, at all.
We paid a pretty penny and it was pretty much strictly for its location and lack of ample guest rooms in the area. Design and decor is quite ugly. The bed was super old and uncomfortable. The bathroom was tiny and awkward. Staff was friendly and the place was clean and the location is pretty central, so that's good. But the place itself? Needs some investment from the owners! You can tell that they're riding on the location and not updating the place simply because they don't have to...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Namidawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Nazionale in Levanto. The hotel is very clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. They suggested restaurants in Levanto as well as offered tips and tricks to explore Cinque Terre.
The location is excellent, it's an easy 10 minute walk from the train station and minutes from the beach.
The hotel has bikes that you can rent to take advantage of the beautiful bike trails along the Mediterranean.
If you are planning a trip to Cinque Terre this is the place to stay it's away from the crowds but a quick train ride to the five villages.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Sadly, this is a case where on-line ratings can be misleading. The booking agency, Venere has a published rating on 8+ and I would not give it a 5. Good points: the hotel is clean and tidy. Problem areas (significant). No AIR CONDITIONING. The hotel rooms are not air conditioned and very uncomfortable- open windows results in a very significant level of noise essentially all night long and into the morning. The noise level is very horrific- sleep is impossible in these conditions. Also- the hotel advertises Wi-Fi however the Wi-Fi is can only be accessed in the lobby area resulting in privacy issues for most. I was fortunate in that 1 very small room on the second level has Wi-Fi due to it's proximity to the connection.
The other issues is the hotel is over priced for it's offering. I've since spent time in a number of very superior hotels and they are approximately prices 10-15 euro's more. The Nazionale feels like a budget hotel and should not be priced at 130 euro a night by any means. No glasses in rooms- only plastic, does not even have a tissue box- cheap, inexpensive toiler paper as well ( always a sign of budget operations).
I would like to call out the wonderful Lady at the front desk during the evening of check in- she was very helpful and doing several jobs at once (laundry, lobby technical assistance for connections, directions and restaurant recommendations and also doing lots of laundry in between these activities- she clearly was working exceptionally hard and again with no air conditioning to cool her off.
IN summary- do not recommend- you can do so much better!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank colleen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in May - really lovely and would definitely stay here again! The hotel is right in the centre of Lavento and just a 10min walk to the railway station - perfect! Our room was 308 and had a lovely balcony which made all the difference! The roof garden looked very appealing but unfortunately the weather wasnt to good during our stay so unable to make use of it! The owners were very welcoming and helpful, and were very informative when you needed to know anything about the area. Definitely a place to stay when visiting Levanto!!

Room Tip: Room 308 was very spacious with a wonderful shower and the balcony was great to relax on with a glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilly125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed her Saturday, May 25 - Tuesday, May 28. The room was lovely and well appointed. The only drawback was the tiny elevator. Thirty-eight of us checked in at the same time; our room was on the third floor. Toting a suitcase up 66 steps was not fun! The lobby/sitting area was lovely. One afternoon a friendly pianist regaled us. The breakfast room and garden were pleasant. The breakfast buffet was a diverse selection of juices, coffee, tea, cold cereals, croissants, cheeses, meats and fruits. We were told there were English channels on the TV -- but could never get them in our room. The hotel is centrally located to the beach and restaurants. The staff speak very good English.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet AD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We reviewed all the hotels in Cinque Terre area. We wanted one with free breakfast, wi-fi, ac, elevator, good value and not a lot of steps to get to it; and was available for 4 nights. The hotel is located 2 blocks from the water and is surrounded by restaurants and bars. Wi-fi only works in the lobby. The ac is not turned on until sometime in June. Breakfast was very good. They have inside/outside dining and a rooftop terrace with a nice view of the mountains. The staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: Recommendation: get a corner room. They have windows on one side and patio doors to a tiny balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#4 of 15 in Levanto
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#7 of 15 in Levanto
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nazionale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nazionale

Address: Via Jacopo da Levanto 20, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range: £95 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nazionale 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Nazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nazionale Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing