We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Garden
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Very nice hotel. They speak good English if you can't speak the lingo. Good access to the beach and walks. Room nice and clean. Showers VERY small. Bed quite hard but I like them like that. There is a town clock that goes off every 15 mins. B'fast was ok notting out of the ordinary and no fresh fruit which is always a bug bear with me! Reception very helpful. It has internet access. The town is nice. Beach is stoney and a bit touristy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonty1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    134
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
175
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the property and expectations were well and truly exceeded. This small hotel is in a great location very near the beach. It is very clean and most of all the staff are fantastic.
I arrived in Levanto with no luggage....it was still in Berlin. Damiano and his team kindly followed up with the airline and courier numerous times until it was located and delivered. My issue was solved in their hands and they had no hesitation to go the extra mile.
In addition the hotel has bikes which are a fantastic way to explore the nearby almost private beaches adjoining this beautiful town.
I recommend staying in Levanto if exploring the Cinque Terre region as unlike some of the other towns it is almost free of the hundreds of tour groups.
Enjoy Levanto and hotel Garden!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMM1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I was a bit disappointed when I first arrived at this hotel, as I had got the impression that it had a garden and faced the sea, whereas in fact it faces a pedestrian shopping street and a weird road that goes across the seafront. However we stayed for four days while exploring Cinque Terre, and I ended up really enjoying my time here. I had read that the noise from the street could be problematic, so we asked for a room facing the back which was fine - it had a little balcony which only faced a neighbouring building but it was nice to get outside (and you could dry clothes there, the hotel provided a clothes rack when we asked which was great). Also I thought the hotel had a pleasant atmosphere and felt quite homely, I guess because it is relatively small and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The parking is 10 minutes walk away, but you can drive in to drop off your suitcases so that is fine as long as you are mobile. Levanto itself is very pleasant and relaxed a great base for Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We loved this Hotel, and were so happy we had chosen the small and friendly town of Levanto., Hotel Garden was 'spotlessly clean' and our room more than comfortable ..great size and large bathroom too. (us being 3 women.) Also a good size balcony overlooking the beautiful street and a glimpse of the sea. An excellent location..almost on the beach, lovely shops and plenty of quaint small restaurants offering friendly service and well priced quality food. The Salty Dog - we rated the best!
The Garden Hotel staff were amazing. Sooo friendly, helpful and welcoming. Special thanks to Francesca and also Carla for her yummy fresh homemade cakes. We felt like we were in a homely B and B.
Levanto is also well located to catch the 'very regular' train almost anywhere. An hour to Portofino or Portovenere...must see locations. Taxis are a flat fee of 10Euro to and from the train to your Hotel..worth it with luggage....but only a 10 min (flat) walk.
The walk from Levanto to Monterosso is free and takes 3 hours. and only 4 mins to return by train for 1.80 Euro ..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank CatloverGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in a triple room. It wasn't very big but we had enough space. Our room was facing the back so we had no noice from the street but from the clock. It struck every quarter of the hour, day and night. The airconditioning wasn't on but as it was rather hot we had to sleep with the window open. So we did not get much sleep. Apart from that, the room was very clean, beds comfortable, staff very nice and the breakfast was excelllent. Youghurt, cereal, fruit, bread, cheese and cold cuts of good quality. The location is great, a few steps under a bridge to the beach and about 5-10 minutes from the train station. The hotel offered free parking in a lot just next to the train station and if you arrive by car this worth a lot since it seems to be almost impossible to find anywhere else to park. We visited Levanto the last days of April. We thought Levanto was a nice little town. It took us 5 minutes with the train to Monterosso, 2,5 hours to walk. After a day in the crowds in the Cinque Terre towns where you have to fight for a table at a restaurant or bar it was like heaven to return to Levanto.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family just returned from a five night stay at the Hotel Garden. Anytime you book a stay at a place like this there is an element of uncertainty, but overall it is your holiday and you have expectations. We stayed in apartment 8 and it was a mix of good and bad. The review is an accurate assessment of our experience and I hope it will help in your decision-making process so that you have the holiday you want and deserve. 

ARRIVAL: We arrived around 5:30 in the evening. There is signage that attempts to lead you to the hotel but as a driver you are more focused on the people that are walking in the middle of the roads. Overall, it is easy to find once you enter Levanto and there is room for two cars to briefly park in front of the hotel (10 minutes) while checking-in and to drop-off luggage. The woman at the desk was very nice and helpful and made checking-in quick and easy. 

PARKING: As a couple of others have mentioned the free parking is approximately a kilometer (10-12 minute walk) from the hotel. Not very convenient or secure: it was an open field behind a plant nursery and next to the train station. Twice when attempting to leave the lot, customers of the nursery were parked in front of the entrance of the designated hotel parking. A minor inconvenience but still required me to track them down to move their cars. At least there is parking.

APARTMENT: The pictures we saw online were fairly accurate. The place was large and the bathrooms were nice; the bedrooms were all big and the beds adequate; the furniture is old and in need of updating but functional; the kitchen is very basic but it sufficed.

There were no basic staples provided in the kitchen, not even salt or pepper or a bottle of olive oil (we are in Italy, after all). Little details make a big difference. Dishes, pots, and utensils are old but usable, and definitely time for the hotel to invest in a new pan or two. The apartment was clean but not the kind of place you want to walk around without having something on your feet. 

A small TV with a small selection of channels is in the living space and was fine for the kids to sit and watch for a bit in the morning while we prepared to leave for the day. Wireless was provided but wouldn't work on anything but my wife's iTouch: and even that was intermittent. A little annoying but we were on holiday so not being able to check my email wasn't the worst thing that could happen. But if you expect it to work as advertised and need it you will probably be disappointed or frustrated.

The biggest issue was noise. It was noisy, noisy, noisy. We stayed 5 April - 10 April: not even the busy season. I can't imagine how noisy it would be during peak tourist season. They do apologize for the noise in the hotel folder given to you upon arrival. The noise comes from the street and inside the building. People outside yelling until late and we heard every step the family above us made: their kids running back and forth, furniture being moved, the baby crying at 1AM and again at 5AM, and the kids running back and forth at 7AM. Clearly we were unfortunate to have these people above us and that is a risk you will take when booking, but you will hear your neighbors - well! If you want any peace and quiet this is not the place for you. Sunday night a band played in the park across the street until midnight. Again, that is not the worst thing (I sat on the balcony and listened for a bit with a glass of wine) but if you are seeking quiet at night this is not the place.

THE AREA: The town itself is nice with some shops and restaurants and a park for the kids across from the hotel. It wasn't really beach weather during our stay but we did go down a couple of times to walk and play on the beach - literaly across the street. We enjoyed walking by the water, exploring the rocks, and getting our feet wet in the waves but, unfortunately, there is a lot of trash on the beach - it really is too bad. I recommend the beach at Monterosso.

The five villages of Cinque Terre are easily accessible by train and boat and all are lovely and charming: we had the best pizza ever in Monterosso. Definitely a must-see area of Italy. We have two kids (8 and 5) so we were not able to take advantage of all the walking trails and hiking but what we were able to do was wonderful and the views breathtaking. It really is a beautiful area and if I ever go back it will be for a night or two or a day trip to really hike the trails and surrounding areas - not an extended stay.

The location is also fairly close to Tuscany and we easily visited Pisa and San Gimignano for day trips.

CONCLUSION: Staying on-topic, the hotel is decent but nothing special. It could certainly use some updating (at least apartment 8) but overall it is not terrible, just very average. The staff is friendly and helpful. If it hadn't been for the excessive noise I would give it a bit higher rating - but the noise was very bad and we had only one night of ok sleep, once the people above us left. If you want a peaceful, quiet holiday do not book the Hotel Garden. Stay in Tuscany in a villa and make a day trip. If noise doesn't bother you then this is your place.

Room Tip: Get an apartment on the top floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damiano C, Proprietario at Hotel Garden, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Sir.
thanks for chosen Levanto for your holidays and for your review on Tripadvisor.
It’s really important for us know opinion of our guests; this help us to improve our offer.
We are glad to respond to your observations :
About kitchen, you are right, we already provided to buy new tools, I am really sorry for it.
For hygienic reason we never let in the apartment any non-packaged food but your observation gave us a good idea, we will prepare a welcome basket with salt, pepper, oil ……………..
Levanto is a touristy village, safe and smog free, people enjoy to stay outside, have a walk, listen live music, talking ( Italians like talking).
Noise is a consequence of this, we regret but it is difficult to avoid in the centre of a touristy village especially in particular crowded period like Easter.
The alternative is, how you say, a villa or apartment in the country............ in Tuscany or
in our vacation rental Borgo San Pietro set in the green and quiet hills of Deiva Marina.
In a condo everyone has his own sense of education and respect, we cannot be responsible for other people.
You didn’t tell us that wi-fi connection didn’t work, we’d try to resolve the problem.
Beach is regularly cleaned in winter period also, but sometimes it’s difficult to maintain due to rough sea.
I hope to be exhaustive, best regards to you and your family.
Damiano Cassola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#3 of 15 in Levanto
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#2 of 15 in Levanto
359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#10 of 15 in Levanto
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garden

Property: Hotel Garden
Address: Viale Italia 6, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
#5 Family Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cordiality, quality of service and friendship are the values that the Daneri - Cassola family make available to their guests who would like to spend a pleasant holiday in Levanto. We manage the hotel with modern and dynamic welcoming criteria, extended to improve the satisfying of our guests' needs. We are in the centre of town, a few metres from the beach, restaurants, bars and shops, from the ferry jetties and paths. The train for Cinque Terre and free reserved parking are a 15-minute walk away. We provide bikes for free for riding the new bike path along the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing