We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The setting is so pretty and peaceful. The deluxe room was well furnished with a view of the sea. I asked for help with activity planning and a staff member sat us down with a map and got us started. After a day of walking we decided to eat dinner there and were well pleased. There was no charge for internet access. The only issue was navigating the steep drive in a cheap rental car, but we figured it out.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We used this hotel as a gateway to Cinque terre and found it fantastic. Clean, spacious and new. The staff were helpful and very friendly and their shuttle would take us to and from the train station, Levanto town, etc... It was a nice break from all the crazed touristy hotels and B & Bs in the towns of Cinque Terre. The views from the hotel were also great...overlooking the valley, right down to the sea....the air was fresh and clean. Levanto also proved to have its own charm and was a great little town to explore. The only down sides were that there was no lunch or dinner served on the premises (though there was an amazing pizzeria 15 min walk down the hill...25 min back up), and being in an olive grove and vineyard, it could have used some cats and dogs to add to the farmhouse, country setting. It also was noisy when another room was slamming cupboards or moving chairs, etc... Otherwise it was a great hotel and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get one with a veranda....great to sit out with a glass of wine and take in the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

rather remotely located
rooms are very noisy, you participate in any bowel movement of the guest in the room above you
breakfirst ok, but orange juice cheapest available
….................................…….......................................................................,..............................,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,......

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank p.aries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers stayed for 3 days in early July and wish we could have remained longer. Stunning location and lovely room. The pool is an oasis at the end of a hot day hiking. Staff treated our teens with respect and great friendliness. Special thanks to server Julietta and Alberto. Only mild complaint is cost for shuttle which adds about 24 € to daily rate.
The Pinker Darling family

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenpinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I think the hotel manangement may have changed, because what I read in the other reviews does not seem to fit with our experience there. (June 2011).

The most important thing you need to know is how you will be travelling around cinque terre. If, like most people, you are going to take the local trains, this hotel will prove to be the biggest mistake of your trip. The hotel is far far far away from the town. 2 kms may sound walkable, but 2 km uphill at an angle of 45 degrees.....hmm....not so much.
Basically everytime you need to go out of the hotel and do stuff on your itinerary, you have to pay 3 euros per person. The shuttle is NOT courtesy. The worst part is that they dont charge per room, they charge per person, so my husband and I spent 6 euros to go out of the hotel, and 6 euros to come back. So if you like to come back to the hotel to freshen up before dinner, pay 3 euros (per person) again one way. So you can easily spend much more than your estimated costs. Sucks, huh.
Also, you need to call them everytime you want the shuttle to come pick you up. If you have a cell phone, great. Otherwise, go find a phone booth! And then wait until they collect all other passengers and reach you. Not my idea of an idyllic vacation.

We travelled all over Italy and France for about a month, and this was our worst experience. All other hotels provided free wifi, not this one though. They provided wired internet, and you need a cable to connect to it. In this day and age of smartphones, how many people travel with internet cables?

Save your vacation, and some precious euros......find some other place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank GK23Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This is a beautiful hotel located just outside Levanto - it would be at least an hour walk to Levanto town center. The Service was EXCELLENT and the staff went out of thier way to be helpful and informative. I had to leave before before breakfast and typcial shuttle hours and they made sure I had a too go breakfast and arranged an early shuttle to the train station. A shuttle is availalbe into Levanto and to the train station but there is a charge for each trip. The shuttle drivers are very helpful with everything from tips to luggage. It was not a quiet as expected as I could hear things from other rooms. Had full amenties in the room, was very clean and had comfortable beds and nice bedding. The views from the terrace are spectacular. Pool does not open until June.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry05011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

For a tranquil and beautiful setting where nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Had a fantastic stay.
Ian & Sue
Perth WA

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
461 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#8 of 15 in Levanto
254 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Abetaia
Hotel Abetaia
#9 of 15 in Levanto
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Terra di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Terra di Mare

Address: Localita Gallona, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Levanto
#3 Family Hotel in Levanto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range: £114 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Terra di Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Levanto, the door to the Cinque Terre, Hotel Al Terra di Mare recalls a small Ligurian village, surrounded by silence of vineyards and olive-trees. The hotel is designed as a typical village and the rooms have an independent entrance on picturesque alleyways leading to the Piazzetta, a panoramic terrace overlooking the valley and the sea where the bar is located (with free WiFi). The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, have free internet access (Wi-Fi and cable), air conditioning, minibar and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms overlook the narrow streets, others have panoramic views over the valley or the sea, and some have balconies or terraces. In summer you can enjoy a beautiful outdoor pool where drinks and ice creams are available in the cool shade of the pines. Breakfast is served on a nice terrace overlooking the sea, it offers a rich buffet of fresh and local products.The hotel has free parking, a garage, a shuttle service to the beach, the center and the train station (2 km away). Using solar energy with photovoltaic and solar panels, installed on the roofs, the hotel meets most of its energy needs fully respecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Al Terra di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Terra Di Mare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing