We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming and wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Very beautiful and charming hotel with very clean rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet. This hotel is in an excellent location, just 2 km from the city center and train station connecting Cinque Terre. You will want to park your car at the train station and explore the town of Levanto. There is a wonderful terrace at this hotel. The staff and the owner are very helpful and extremely considerate of their guests.
I highly recommend this hotel, we have stayed here twice and absolutely love it.

Room Tip: We always ask for an ocean view? What a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajk717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    87
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
51
164
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We chose Al Terra di Mare because we were unable to find a room in the Cinque Terre - glad we did as it was a perfect resting place after two long days of travel. We arrived in Levanto by train, somewhat late on Sunday night, and called for the shuttle which arrived within ten minutes. Once at the property, we were greeted by the owner's son who was very friendly and accommodating. The room was perfect - comfortable bed, spacious, and clean. There was a full kitchen setup within a cabinet if you wanted to take meals in your room. We had a view overlooking the valley and a small table with chairs on the terrace just outside the door. A very nice breakfast is included but wise to get up early for the best selection. The only drawback is the location as it's about 2km from the train station and further into Levanto so, unless you have a car, you will have a hike or will have to rely on the shuttle which is 5 euro per trip. (They may have included it in the cost of the room during your stay but there is a fee for pickup and drop off at the train station). Levanto is a nice place and worth exploring...it gets overshadowed by the Cinque Terre but this property is certainly a great option.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very charming hotel with spacious and clean rooms. The personnel is very friendly. The location is not ideally: about 2 kms from the city center of Levanto without restaurants or shops close to the hotel. There is a shuttle service from the hotel which is very convenient to get to the city or the railway station, but it is not for free. In the city itself you have to pay to park your car. The pool area is larger then how it appears on the pictures and offers a great view on the valley.
Although the hotel is rated as four stars, there are a few minus points that do not match this status:
- The restaurant is only open for breakfast (only cold, but nice choice) and on 6 evenings a week for a light dinner (cold + one pasta and one veggie choice); no lunch possibilities near the pool side. So you are kind of forced to leave the hotel and take the shuttle or car to have lunch/dinner. The quality of the food is good.
- Some bathroom essentials were missing upon arrival (no soap !)
- The hotel forces you to save electricity in a rigoruous, almost ridiculous way: the airco stops whenever you open a door or window (even to let somebody in); the "electricity key" is welded to the door key, so if you need to lock or unlock the door, you're in the dark....
- Don't put the Wifi router too close to the TV set, because it interferes; took us a few days to figure this out.
- Walls and floors are not well isolated; you can hear undesirable noise.
As a summary: it's a very nice hotel for a couple of days to visit Cinque Terre, but not the best choice for a longer stay when you might want to relax in the hotel.
And ... it's not a cheap hotel if you consider the distance to Levanto and the above shortcomings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a terrace on the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPRubens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife and I had a weekend retreat to this magical place! It was down home comfy with Petra the pup as a nice little mascot. We sat on the terrace after a wonderful meal drinking wine from Monterroso recommended by the staff and it was divine. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mraleyatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at this lovely family run hotel for a few days this summer (wish it could have been longer) and enjoyed its peacefulness after being in Rome. The view is spectacular, the property was immaculate, the rooms were large and bright and the family that owns and operates it were wonderfully accommodating. The shuttle to and from town and the train station did interfere a bit with spontaneity but we always got where we needed to be albeit a small fee each time except for the arrival and departure transport. There is also a wonderful taxi service in town, Andrea's Taxi, that was able to supplement our getting around. If you have smaller children I think being in the town of Levanto would be a better choice for ease of getting around but we would stay here again just hope we get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretP4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Evjenia, Francesca and Frederico operate and own this hotel and are justifiably proud of it. The rooms and public areas are all beautiful with fresh, elegant decor. The rooms are quite spacious and have balconies with furniture. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, but some low fat, low sugar options would have been appreciated. Yes, it is a walk into town and the bus is expensive 5euro per room, but Frederico waited 45 minutes for us one evening when the train was delayed! There is ample parking available.A cold buffet provided each evening. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They called the ferry each morning for us to see if it was operating. Drinks etc. are available on the terrace. I would recommend this hotel, it really is an oasis.

Room Tip: All rooms have views and access to their own outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedroMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauwe, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel is located on a hillside away from the town. It's a oasis of tranquility.
Excellent place to unstress.
Excellent rooms.
I would advice this to couples who want to relax and enjoy a nive hoiliday.
Plenty to see in the environment to fill a seven days stays :
1 . the five Cinque terre town's + the walks between those town (beautifull)
2. By train to Pisa
3. Visit the port of Portofino

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#8 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#7 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Terra di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Terra di Mare

Property: Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Address: Localita Gallona, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Levanto
#4 Family Hotel in Levanto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Terra di Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Levanto, the door to the Cinque Terre, Hotel Al Terra di Mare recalls a small Ligurian village, surrounded by silence of vineyards and olive-trees. The hotel is designed as a typical village and the rooms have an independent entrance on picturesque alleyways leading to the Piazzetta, a panoramic terrace overlooking the valley and the sea where the bar is located (with free WiFi). The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, have free internet access (Wi-Fi and cable), air conditioning, minibar and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms overlook the narrow streets, others have panoramic views over the valley or the sea, and some have balconies or terraces. In summer you can enjoy a beautiful outdoor pool where drinks and ice creams are available in the cool shade of the pines. Breakfast is served on a nice terrace overlooking the sea, it offers a rich buffet of fresh and local products.The hotel has free parking, a garage, a shuttle service to the beach, the center and the train station (2 km away). Using solar energy with photovoltaic and solar panels, installed on the roofs, the hotel meets most of its energy needs fully respecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Al Terra di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Terra Di Mare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing