We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Millbrook, AL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here the nights before and after visiting Cinque Terre. It's a great location. Levanto is a much less crowded and smaller town than La Spazia. When taking the train into Cinque Terre, it's much easier to begin on the further end (Levanto) rather than La Spazia because the parking is better and the train station is less crowded.

That being said, the hotel was great. Very nice rooms, excellent service, complementary breakfast, and a beautiful view of the sea! My wife and I were able to watch fireworks over the beach from our room's window (it was one of their many holidays).

A few small things to keep in mind:
–Like everywhere in Italy (it seems), the AC didn't work all that well.
–There is no real "restaurant" at this hotel. They serve cold antipasti and salads until 10pm, but it's best to make plans to eat in town if you want a regular dinner. (The food is really great quality, however.)
–If driving, this hotel is basically located on the side of a mountain. A very steep winding road leads to an even steeper drive way up to the hotel. But it works out fine once you get used to it.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel, and we would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph_L_Pearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    87
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
51
169
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We loved this hotel. We were fortunate to have the two rooms at the back and the top of the property. We liked the funky way the place is built up the hillside, with the rooms being separate from other parts of the hotel. Breakfast was perfection, something for everyone, including gluten free options with fruit, meats, eggs, and great coffees. Loved that the minibar fridge had room for our own things, and our outdoor seating area was perfect for aperitivo and late night cigar and sipping some port.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for A3 or A4...both if you're travelling with family or another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Drove to Levanto from Zurich and stayed for 5 days. Staff were friendly and pretty helpful with all requests. Our room was nicely laid out with comfortable bed and awesome terrace overlooking the valley down to the town and sea. Minibar was nice to have, if only for keeping our own things cold, while the air conditioning was quiet and functioned well to make sleeping in the warm weather easier.
Wonderful terrace with a good bar selection, they do offer food, but it's limited to cold things. The offerings were nice enough, but the bread is the same as from breakfast, but seemed more than a day old by that point.

The hotel is a fair way back from the town and sea - the shuttle was appreciated at €5 per room, per trip, especially the one time we tried to get to the station in the middle of the day (the shuttle runs only in the morning and from late afternoon on) and found a taxi to be €10. The town (or at least the station) is certainly walkable, but do not underestimate the hill on the way back - VERY steep. Having a pool at the hotel offset the need to head to the beach to relax.

Room Tip: D5 was excellent - above the reception meant there was some noise in the morning of people going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joegold80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel above Levanto has beautiful views and comfortable well equipped rooms.
The staff are efficient and welcoming, buffet breakfast was fine - breakfast with the stunning view - and the atmosphere relaxing. Spacious terrace to sit and unwind.
The shuttle service to the town and train station worked well for us and we got good advice where to eat dinner and transport information. The hotel serves only cold meals but we enjoyed the one evening meal there.
We were impressed with all the members of staff - always full of information - our rooms exceeded expectations.
All in all I recommend Hotel Al Terra di Mare, conveniently located for the pretty villages of the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - the views are great.
See more room tips
Green Features: Impressive practices - definitely an environmentally friendly hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel was nice, though not easy to find, especially seeing as our Internet Maps function was not working. The room was spacious, no view at all, hard bed and pillows (typical of 3 star hotels in Italy, though usually 4 star hotels are better, i.e. softer beds); nice bathroom, shower only. The staff were pleasant and helpful, though no-one mentioned the 10 euro charge for the 3-4 minute ride when offering shuttle rides to and from the town. Breakfast was okay, nice on terrace. If you want to use the in-room safe, you must request a key. Air conditioning only works when door and window are closed. Room smelled a little musty when we first entered, but the smell dissipated after we had the air on for a few minutes.
Levanto has few redeeming features, certainly not its restaurants nor any innate natural beauty. The beach is narrow and limited, but full of chairs and umbrellas to rent. The only reason to come here is because it is a gateway to the Cinque Terre towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, or at least one that is not on the main walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

In a beautiful setting. Look past the pylons though. The sea is a long way away also.
So peaceful. Beautiful terrace to sit and relax.

The room we had was very expensive for the quality and position. No view no seating area. Net curtains otherwise you look into room opposite. No curtains. Very bright light on somewhere.

I would not use this hotel for visiting the cinque terre region. You need to rely on the shuttle car.
Or have your own transport but really you are there to relax not drive. Our train was cancelled we were only in the next village... When the next train arrived we had missed the last shuttle and we had to walk back from the station. We did have a torch. A necessity. A very long and steep climb in the dark. Without a torch it would be dangerous to do.

Room Tip: Pay LOTS more money to get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a lovely place! Set high on a hillside overlooking the sea, this charming hotel offers a great respite from the tourist crowding the Cinque Terre towns. Great swimming pool, awesome patio and best of all, peace and quiet. The only sounds you hear are the church bells in the distance. To get to Levanto, which is filled with fabulous restaurants, and the train to Cinque Terre, you'll need to rely on a car, a taxi, the hotel shuttle or an extremely sturdy set of legs. The uphill climb to the hotel from the main road is a bit of a challenge. But well worth any effort because the place is truly delightful.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a view with a view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequentFlyer513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#7 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Terra di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Terra di Mare

Property: Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Address: Localita Gallona, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Levanto
#4 Family Hotel in Levanto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Terra di Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Levanto, the door to the Cinque Terre, Hotel Al Terra di Mare recalls a small Ligurian village, surrounded by silence of vineyards and olive-trees. The hotel is designed as a typical village and the rooms have an independent entrance on picturesque alleyways leading to the Piazzetta, a panoramic terrace overlooking the valley and the sea where the bar is located (with free WiFi). The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, have free internet access (Wi-Fi and cable), air conditioning, minibar and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms overlook the narrow streets, others have panoramic views over the valley or the sea, and some have balconies or terraces. In summer you can enjoy a beautiful outdoor pool where drinks and ice creams are available in the cool shade of the pines. Breakfast is served on a nice terrace overlooking the sea, it offers a rich buffet of fresh and local products.The hotel has free parking, a garage, a shuttle service to the beach, the center and the train station (2 km away). Using solar energy with photovoltaic and solar panels, installed on the roofs, the hotel meets most of its energy needs fully respecting the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Terra di Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Terra Di Mare Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing