We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Levanto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Palace
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Great hotel with cosy bedroom and very kind staff. It is very close to the railway station (a 7 min walk) and the beach (same time walking). Everything works fine. Very kind people in the reception ready to assist you on everything you need. The hotel offers nice dinners every day at 19:30h (25 euro per person). It is less than the average price considering that it includes antipasti, primi piatti, seconti piatti, a salad buffet and desert. The food is superb. Special thanks to Eva, that helped us on every occasion. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guilherme2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

This family owned hotel has Anna and her team doing their utmost to please. Situated just a short walk from both the train station, old town, and beach. Levanto train station is included in the daily ticket that covers both transport and entry to National Park walking tracks in the Cinque Terre. It has easy train access to the villages of Cinque Terre and in the other direction - Portofino. The twice daily ferry to Portovenere is only 5 mins walk away.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. Both the room and ensuite were very clean and were kept that way for our 5 night stay.
On the basis that "...the best chef in the Cinque Terre..." was here, and the additional cost was good value we opted for the half board package which included breakfast and dinner. This was a lovely, civilised way to eat, and the qualaty and variety of meals throughout, was excellent.
If, like us, you are, at home, used to quiet tranquility at night, you may find that the occasional high-pitched engine noise of a late night worker returning home on his Vespa, will wake you up. However, city dwellers reading this will probably not notice this noise. It didn't keep us awake for long, so wasn'y a major problem.
There is no Air Conditioning in the rooms, and in a May heatwave (30C+ during the day) it didn't strike too hot at night with windows open, and the thick walls probably help to keep the rooms cool.
Al in All, a very pleasant hotel, with lovely staff and good food

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road, if you sleep light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LockeyNewForest_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at his hotel with our baby daughter for a four days in April and we loved it! The staff was very friendly and they did everything possible to accomodate us. Our baby daughter was treated as a star and received custom made pasta everyday of our stay. And on our early morning train departure to Milan, the staff had prepared sandwiches and drinks for us to bring along.

Better and more personal service is hard to come by so next time we are in Levanto, this is where we will stay.

PS. The only improvement we could come up with about this hotel is that they would turn the lights down in the restaurant in the evening to create a cozy atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livet_er_fint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This family run hotel offered easy access to the villages of Cinque Terre, Portofino and Portovenere .The hotel is a short walk from both the train station and ferry terminal. Levanto train station is included in the daily ticket that covers both transport and entry to National Park walking tracks in the Cinque Terre.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was large and comfortable. Both the room and ensuite were very clean and were kept that way for our 7 night stay. The staff were friendly and obliging.
We opted for the half board package which included breakfast and dinner. The meals were of a very high standard all prepared with fresh ingredients and provided a real taste of Italy.
We would recommend this hotel to our friends and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The Palace has a convenient location, for rail travel and local restaurants. Its an old family run hotel verging on the quaint. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel facilities were reasonable considering the age of the hotel. The room was spacious ( triple supplied) the fittings were in line with the age of the hotel. It was clean and well serviced. Like many old hotels, the level of sound insualtion was poor, both from other rooms and the street outside. Traffic noise usually ended by the late evening. Breakfast was served in a very pleasant old dining room, which was quite spacious but too many guest seemed to be pushed together in close proximity whilst other vast areas of the room were empty. This table allocation was a poor option for me. ( by 8.30 the staff were busy preparing their "used" tables for the next meal) The breakfast food was a reasonable, if uninspiring, buffet , and this dining arrangement would benefit from changes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

The Cinque Terre is a spectacular travel destination in Liguria: Five picturesque coastal villages perched on the Ligurian Sea about 50 miles south of Genoa. The limited accessibility to these villages -- mostly by train or boat (hiking is also popular) -- has helped them maintain their distinctiveness.

Tourists who wish to visit these villages can either base themselves in one of the villages, where accomodations are often in short supply, or they could stay at a nearby town. I think that the National Geographic Traveler got it right when it recommended Levanto, a "pleasant town to the north with plenty of hotels", as a gateway to the Cinque Terre.

In Levanto you can buy an inexpesive day pass for unlimited train travel among the villages, or -- slighly more expensive but still very affordable -- a daily boat pass (try each on successive days!). The appropriate length of visit is highly personal, of course, but a 3-night stay in Levanto provides a respectable minimum, allowing the visitor to spend about half a day in each of the five villages.

The best hotels in Levanto are rated 3 stars, which means perfectly clean and with reasonable comfort, but without "excessive" luxury. Luxury would seem a bit out of character, anyway, because of the nature of the places visited. There are four 3-star hotels in Levanto, and I have only stayed at The Palace.

I have nothing but praise for The Palace. The personal attention of its owner, Anna Pilotti, gives the hotel a familial character. Characteristically, Anna arranged for me a full course dinner, although I arrived late and the kitchen was practically closed. I strongly suggest that you opt for the "half board", which provides hearty breakfast and dinner (with many local specialties), for the absurdly low price of about 20,000 lire additional (without a doubt, the best $10 I have ever spent in my many visits to Italy).

Increase in global tourism means that each and every year this destination loses a tiny bit of its original charm. Though there is plenty of charm left, I would suggest scheduling a visit soon, preferably outside the July-August season.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kloomnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

This hotel is family run, clean and perfectly positioned to walk to Railway Station and to the beach. The staff are friendly and efficient and the owners welcoming and helpful. The meals are excellent value and delicious, and although you can't really linger over dinner, the courtyard garden provides a lovely spot to sit and enjoy a coffee or after dinner drink. Levanto station is included in the Cinque Terra Rail Pass and car parking is also available at the hotel. Levanto is flat and easy to get around and doesn't feel as touristy as the five villages, but still has a lot of atmosphere. Jan and Ron. Australia

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Abetaia
Hotel Abetaia
#9 of 15 in Levanto
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
402 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#4 of 15 in Levanto
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace

Address: Corso Roma 25, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Levanto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range: £65 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and charming hotel in the centre of Levanto. Nice rooms simply and elegantly furnished. Private parking. Excellent restaurant. Gluten free. wi-fi. Air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing