We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for Cinque Terre & Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Cinque Terre & Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Hotel Europa at the beginning of September. From the moment we arrived at the hotel to the time we left, the service was excellent and the staff very friendly. The owner of the place is extremely attentive to details and demonstrates a real care for his guests and their wellbeing.

The hotel is very cosy and has a "home-away-from-home" feeling. We stayed in the small bedroom with a lovely view over the street that gives you an authentic feel of Italy. It is small but comfortable. The breakfast has a wide choice of pastries, cakes, local cheese and ham. Parking is charged 10 EUR/day but is conveniently located right in front of the house.

Location is perfect! The town of Levanto is lovely with small pedestrian streets, local shops, and a beach. From the hotel, the train station to Cinque Terre is at a 5 min walk. We really appreciated to stay at a hotel a bit outside of Cinque Terre, which is busy and not accessible by car. The train is very convenient to travel to the 5 villages of Cinque Terre, and will take you between 5-30 min, 10 EUR/day for unlimited access to trains.

Great hotel & Stunning region, we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    69
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
84
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel was basic but centrally located to explore Cinque Terre without actually basing yourself in one of the five towns. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The free wifi worked well. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice of food. The staff were very helpful and assisted us in exploring the area. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Hotel is located in one of the main streets of Levanto.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed four night at this hotel to hike Cinque Terre and relax by the beach before heading home after our 12-day trip. We booked from the hotel's own web site as it was cheaper than the booking sites. We walked from the train station (apparently the taxi drivers have ganged up and have a set price regardless how close your hotel is) and were greeted by friendly staff who provided us with maps, brochures and train timetables, very useful!. Our room was on the top floor with a nice view over the town (and the church bell, which you learn to hate after being woken up by it around 7ish every morning), and next to our room was a terrace with stunning views over the town and the sea. The room was quite spacious (I believe we paid a bit extra for "vista panoramico", so there might be smaller rooms) and was clean and very nicely decorated. The hotel is centrally located and close to the beach (very very crowded when we were there and you have to pay to enter some parts of it). Breakfast was good and thankfully offered bread, cheese, ham, fruit, etc, as opposed to the more cake-only-oriented breakfasts we had at other hotels. The only minus was the bathroom, which was very small and smelled a bit odd - it could use an update to match the rest of the room. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bibbi963, Direttore generale at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your nice review and we are very pleased that your stay with us has well ended your vacation. A good beginning and a good ending are important, and that is what we try to offer good breakfast and good dinner for a good start and finish well the days spent in our hotel.
Expect in the future and we send our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Lovely hotel with genuinely caring and welcoming staff and owners who will go out of their way to make you comfortable and help ensure you have a great stay. Close to shops and an easy stroll to the beach. Has own restaurant and bar. Rooms are basic but very clean, some with small balcony. Hotel has a lovely ambience that makes you feel most welcome. Only comment would be bathroom was small (but adequate) and double bed was too singles pushed together so not a true double bed. Other than that, nothing negative at all. Generous breakfast also included.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimM1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bibbi963, Direttore generale at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Kim,
when we read his reviews as we think we have made ​​the center. Better to say that we are on the right track. We thank you again and hope that it is still our guest we confirm that we will try to improve.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

family of four and our two teenage daughters got their room just across from my wife and mé so we could be close. We truly enjoyed our stay and we will surely book the same hotel again when we come back. Levanto is perfectly situated for reaching The Cinque Terre by the coasThis small boutique hotel is amazing in every aspect. Service is great with friendly staff taking care of your needs 24/7. The hotelmanager, Pietro and his family makes sure there's a warm and loving atmosphere which makes you feel at home the second you arrive. We travelled as a t train in just 5 min. The beach is just 100 meters walk down the road and plenty of really good restaurants nearby. The Europa Hotel is much more than it looks. It has great clean rooms and bathrooms and the art noveau style of the building and interior is just amazing if you appreciate architecture just a little. Thanks for a wonderful and loving hospitality Piettro! Best of luck Peter & Susanne

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hans Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bibbi963, Direttore generale at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Susanne & Peter,
what we can say; when we have guest like you it is really easier to be a good hotel manager. We happy you aprecied the Art Noveau style of the building and the "familiar" style of our structure. We hope you again in our place, maybe in October, the olives, mushroom and herbs time. All the best from Anna Fulvia, Natalia, Pietro (Pier) and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

we were looking for a last minute break to escape the wet June weather here in the UK. the flight to Pisa was booked and decided to stay on the coast as inland may be too hot.
Chose Levanto because of the rocky scenic coast and excellent rail link from Pisa. train took about 2 hrs and was 17 Euros for us both one way which in my book is good value.

Back to the hotel: I booked directly with them off their own secure website as I guess that the money is better in the hoteliers pocket than that of an agent. The hotel's own website shows far better pictures than the likes of booking.com and the pictures are not misleading in any way. In fact the only thing that is misleading is the official 2 star rating. This hotel far exceeds this on quality of food, cleanliness and customer service.
We walked from the station. Easy, signposted and downhill. Found the hotel in the middle of this quaint little town. Were checked into a double room 107 with safe, air con and minibar. A bit small but bright clean and comfortable. There was the noise of the bells but I found this comforting and quaint rather than obtrusive. Some guest noise one night but no worse than anywhere else.
Had a nice drink in the bar with home made appetisers provided. The owner spoke very good english and explained the qualities of the local white wine.
Had dinner in the hotel that night 22 euro each for 4 courses. Buffet antipasti, choice of 2 pasta dishes and choice of 2 mains and desert. Excellent home cooking and much of the pressure of choosing taken away. We were certainly impressed but did not feel we could eat such big meals each night so that was our only evening dining experience.House wine 6Euro half litre. However everywhere else we ate in Levanto left us fully satisfied in quantity and quality and there is a good range of choice in this small town..
Breakfast was self serve buffet, fruit salad, cake, bread, etc etc. One of the better ones I have had in Italy. My only slight gripe was that coffee came from a self serve machine rather than a proper one from the bar but most seemed happy with that and it was ok. Some did ask and get coffee from the bar but I guess if that was the norm extra staff would be needed.
I think the owner (Pierre Luigi) has only had this place a couple of years and is making small improvements over time. We certainly enjoyed our stay here and wish him and his family and the excellent staff all the best of success.
Levanto it must be said is an excellent place to visit. This is my 8th time to Italy and first to Liguria and I rate it highly. Worth the extra time to get past the overcrowded, flat Tuscan riviera.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony on an upper floor. Book direct with hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Direttore generale at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Loskie, thanks for the kind words of recognition of our Hotel. We're so glad you enjoyed our territory and our structure. We expect in the future for a tasting of local DOC wines and in the meantime we wish you all the best for your future. I'll drink a great Blandnoch to your health. Slàinte Caraid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salernes, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I did really appreciate my four days stay in this hotel ideally situated -100 meters from the sea -10 minutes walk from the train station-
Very warm welcome by the manager Pier Luigi .(He speaks English )and his family. Smiling employees always ready to help.Very clean rooms and bathrooms .fridge and safe in the room.I I was staying on a half board .The breakfast buffet was complete and varied .The evening dinner -a three course meal -with antipasti ,pasta ,meat or fish and a desert with Ligurian Specialities , mostly "home made was excellent ."Very pleasant terrasse on the 4th floor .Room 110 ,and others I guess ,with a balcony ...I am glad to recommand it

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#8 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#7 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Dante Alighieri 41, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing