We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trullidea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trullidea
Ranked #24 of 45 Alberobello B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We were getting tired of looking for a place to stay in this area. Speaking only English is hard to communicate with people in Puglia, luckily, our guide book recommends Trullidea as a place to stay so we went in to their office even though we didn't like the feel of how touristy the historic centre is. Antonella understood what we were looking for and kindly showed us trullo that she had available which we ended up staying there for 4 nights instead of two. The trullo is clean, very comfortable and has nearly everything you need. Antonella is such an amazing woman, vibrant and speak English really well which was such a treat for us. She even allowed us to join a tour of Matera that she organised for her clients. I highly recommend Trullidea if not for the trullo we got to stay but for their friendly customer service skills.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Natilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    42
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
24
60
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Trullidea is an albergo diffuso. It has several trulli around town (in the two trulli neighbourhoods) and breakfast is served at a cafe in twon, and one trullo serves as an office. It is a special experience sleeping in a trullo. The trullo was clean and convenient. Everything is near around town. Maghi helped me in direction on where to park the car and where to pay. Friendly welcome and very nice stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UriZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

I am a proponent of experiential stays during our trips abroad, so staying in a trullo during our trip to Southern Italy was a must-do. I agree with the common description of trulli as looking like Smurf houses. We had a very nice trullo from Trullidea in Alberobello, conveniently located in the UNESCO historical area. It had a large kitchen/living/dining area with a bedroom and bathroom on the other side of the trullo. It was very attractively decorated, very clean and comfortable. The hotel offers very nice bathroom amenities. The only negative aspect of this visit was the woman in the office. She was not very friendly and only answered questions, not offering information on attractions and restaurants. Also, while showing us our trullo’s location on a map, she did not accompany us to find the room the first time. We had no problems, but I could see map-impaired people becoming extremely frustrated if they had trouble finding their trullo.

Breakfast was in a local “bar” with outdoor seating and the usual selection of baked goods, etc., found in Italian hotels.

Check-in is in an office just off the main street on a pedestrian street. It is a bit confusing to find if you do not have good directions or a GPS. We found convenient free parking just up the hill from our trullo. Vehicular traffic is restricted in the historic zone, so you may have to port your luggage depending on your trullo’s location.

Trullidea’s trulli are scattered throughout Alberobello and offer a variety of living arrangements. I recommend a stay in a trullo and Trullidea was a good way to reserve. It will always be fondly remembered as much more than simple hotel rooms which tend to blur after long trips.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you want to stay in a trulli when visiting alberobello, I would definitively recommend Trullidea. When asked about prices and options, the woman at the reception showed us two free trullis she had at that moment. Both were very nice -very well renewed in different styles. They both had a kitchen and a bathroom. There were even very cozy, nice bathroom appliances like body lotion and so at our disposal. We had seen other private trullis before people were renting, but to our surprise they were more expensive than those from Trullidea and they were not so well prepared. We loved our stay there - even if it was only for 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BauldelaPiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

If you arrive in Alberobello you should sleep one night in a Trull. It is a special experience. We have chosen one of the most convenient option in terms of price and availability. Although generally I prefer spacious rooms I felt good in the small but well organized space. Breakfast consist of a Croisant and a coffee or a cappuccino in a bar at a few meters from the reception. A disadvantage of the complex Trullidea is that it has no parking. Near the complex there is a payment parking or, with a little luck, you can find a free parking space near the bar where the breakfast is taken.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnSimpluCalator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
216 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

standard room had all basic comfort,
breakfast is a serve yourself typical Italian continental breakfast, nothing special.
the location and authenticity of a trullo make it a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mechelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

What I liked about this place is that it makes you feel that you're living in a Trulli, and it's something one must experience when visiting Alberobello. There was wi-fi in the reception, that was a little bit far from the rooms, but it's a nice minute and a half walk (with lots of tourists walking all the time). I stayed in a room alone, was must say that at night, I got a little scared being alone in my Trulli as the room gets really dark at night. One must prepare the breakfast in the room (so the lazy people might like this as they may have breakfast in bed!), but the choice isn't very wide (some croissants and biscottis are provided with coffee, cappuccino or tea). But the room was comfortable, be ware of some flies and ants that you could see in the bathroom (but there weren't a lot). I would go back to this place if I ever go to Alberobello.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ZeinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alberobello hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Alcove "Luxury Hotel nei Trulli"
0.9 mi away
Trullo delle Rondini
Trullo delle Rondini
#23 of 45 in Alberobello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trulli Resort Monte Pasubio
Trulli Resort Monte Pasubio
#19 of 45 in Alberobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trulli e Puglia  B&B
Trulli e Puglia B&B
#3 of 45 in Alberobello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Piccola Corte
La Piccola Corte
#13 of 45 in Alberobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tipico Resort in Trulli
Tipico Resort in Trulli
#1 of 45 in Alberobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trullidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trullidea

Property: Trullidea
Address: Via Monte San Gabriele, 1, 70011, Alberobello, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Alberobello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Alberobello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trullidea 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Dove l’Ospitalità è sinonimo di Cittadinanza ed Appartenenza"Trullidea è un ”Albergo Diffuso“, composto da Trulli del quindicesimo secolo situati nel centro storico di Alberobello. Queste antiche dimore sono dominate dall’uso esterno della pietra a soglie, le chiancole, che rivestono il cono e creano il meraviglioso centro urbano, unico al mondo, oggi riconosciuto patrimonio dell’UNESCO. Soggiornare in uno di questi trulli significa vivere un'esperienza unica che vi riporterà indietro nel tempo .Diverse sono le possibilità del soggiorno in trullo: dal semplice pernottamento giornaliero in Bed&Breakfast, alla mezza pensione oppure pensione completa. Altra alternativa offerta è il pernotto in formula “Residence” per un soggiorno di tipo settimanale. "Our mission today is the respect of the Past"Trullidea Resort in stone-built houses with their cone-shaped roofs, the witheness of the walls in sharp contrast to the brilliant sky. Here, Trullidea gives you the possibility to live a unique experience.The trulli, are located atop a hill, scattered all over the historic centre of Alberobello and offer to the guests the charm of our historical and cultural heritage along with the comfort that the modern traveller has come to expect.Our accommodations are available as holiday homes (weekly rental) or daily rental in B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Trullidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trullidea Alberobello, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing