We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Not impressed"”
Review of Il Poeta Contadino

Il Poeta Contadino
Ranked #26 of 98 Restaurants in Alberobello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$133
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Puglia, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“"Not impressed"”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I live in Alberobello for most of the year and this restaurant has had mixed reviews with friends. I decided to try it for myself. It was lunch and I dined with 8 members of my family. The place is rather dark and old fashioned, service was good. The antipasti a mark of a good restaurant (if it is any good) was very disappointing at €15 per person I expected a feast but got 5 very measly portions of very ordinary food, most of it cold. My main course was a fillet of veal with mushrooms, simply cooked was fine and the salad was poor for €5. We finished with Tiramisu which we suspected was bought in, very ordinary, one portion was served at half the size of the others, when we complained they served another portion which was partially frozen in the middle. The cost? €217.00 for 5 adults and 4 children (3 not above 5yrs) this was a very expensive lunch for a very mediocre meal. I won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    119
    65
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience at il Poeta Contadino!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My friend and I wonderful dinner May 17th. The food was of high quality and the Chef was very creative with his presentation! We were served complimentary assortment of appetizers (pizza with onion, ricotta and spinich quiche, muscles "casino", and an aperitif. We split the first course of Orecchiette with friarelli and spinach. It was prepared perfectly al dente. The second course, and the reason for our trip there, was for the Buon Ricordo (happy memory) dish. The Chef was very creative with his presentation. This signature dish was comprised of bass, grouper, and scorpion fish. Each end of the fish overlapping the other and then rolled around zucchini and carrots placing it on top of a turnip purée. For dessert I had the molten chocolate and orange cake with...Grande Marnier. We now have a buon ricordo of this wonderful restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellaNoce01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The restaurant has a Michelin star, is located at the entrance to the zone trulli of Alberobello. Prices are much higher than in similar establishments nearby. A pleasant atmosphere. Very tasty risotto, I recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SergGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Extreme sophistication in a place you would not expect”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Marco Leonardo owns and is the chef at the brilliant at RISTORANTE IL POETA CONTADINO. its expensive but totally worthwhile.

Wine list is OUTSTANDING and has one world recognition. Food was elaborate but brilliant.

Perfect english spoken and excellent staff and service.

50 Euros a head.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertsonTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A worthwhile excursion”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Spending a week in the Ostuni area, our group of eight wanted something special for Mothers' Day luncheon. This Michelin One Star restaurant was our choice, and we were not disappointed. Although it has nothing to do with the food or its presentation, the two women servers, being entirely fluent in English, made a tremendous difference in our experience. In fact, as a tourist, these women were the most fluent we had during our 17 days in Italy.
Although the menu was relatively limited, the ability to benefit from the subtle direction of our servers meant everyone was satisfied. Portions were shared without any attitude from staff, and wines were suggested without any attempt to run up the tab. Reflecting on this meal and experience, every aspect of the afternoon felt seamless. When we departed, after a photo with Chef Lorenzo, we all knew we had had a wonderful repast, yet as I write this, I cannot point to a specific plate or item that absolutely HAS to be experienced. The menu offered a tantalizing and tasty adventure and one knew that an experience had been registered, and yet you had not been made to feel that you were an unworthy intruder in an exalted kitchen.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oystertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Poeta Contadino also viewed

Alberobello, Province of Bari
Alberobello, Province of Bari
 
Alberobello, Province of Bari
Alberobello, Province of Bari
 
Alberobello, Province of Bari
Alberobello, Province of Bari
 

Been to Il Poeta Contadino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing