We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a night; don't know about longer”
Review of Hotel Salsello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Salsello
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bisceglie
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Chose this hotel at random in the early evening after a long day's drive; thankfully it was well signposted off the main highway and we were led down to the sea through many twists and turns. Check-in was reasonably quick and we were given a decently sized room at the back, with a small verandah and a large bathroom. The room was clean and functional, but rather dated and sparse, and the shower stall - there was no bath - was in dire need of replacement. I assume that we ended up there because of availability, having turned up without a reservation.

We had a good meal in the very large restaurant in an adjacent part of the hotel, but as it was out of season the place was quite barn-like and the staff apparently felt there was no need to turn down the TV that was blaring away in a corner. Service there and at the bar was good, though. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast buffet, not through any fault of the hotel but just a matter of being in a hurry to get on the road. We got a very good price for the room; far cheaper than expected.

I gather this place is popular, given its location right across the road from the sea. Perhaps other rooms e.g. those with sea view are in better condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room, perhaps in a superior or deluxe category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

It is a simple hotel with all the amenities that you need for a calm beach holiday. Not 4 star, but a good 2 star value. I have to mention that the room was very clean and well cleaned every day. It has a great location if you want to discover a part of Puglia (which is beautiful).
It is right on the beach (stones in Bisceglie, sand in Trani - 10kms)... you can chose from several.
City center is about 30 minutes walk from the hotel. Supermarket, hospital is about 10 minutes far.
I would recommend to a friend... and would go back :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed one night here back in August. It was alright, they have a small pool area which was nice, as the waves were pretty big and covered the beach area with water. Breakfast buffet very good, and the hotel were very close to the outlet center and other shopping malls.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hotel Salsello is located opposite the Adriatic sea. It is clean and quiet. Our room had a lovely view.
The restaurant had good food, make sure you get a good bottle of wine, the house wine can be a bit rough.
I didn’t know they had a pool, and was directed to the ‘free beach’ over the road, which, when you get there you have to pay for.

Biseglie is a lovley little town and well worth the visit. Parking in the centre is a bit difficult, but is a lovely walk from the Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Hotel Salsello is located opposite the sea. Their restaurant which is situated on the 1st floor has lovely sea views and serves really good food. I had fillets of swordfish which was excellent and my wife had a pasta dish which she enjoyed. The hotel has a large swimming pool which is perfect when there is a wind blowing over the sea. The accommodation is more than adequate as is the breakfast. Possibly the only negative was the surly man in reception.

Room Tip: We had a back room without a view. I would ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

True this is a basic no frills hotel, not a four stars hotel. But it's cosy, the rooms are nice and clean and comfortable. And its location is excellent, being near the sea. Staff very helpful and friendly. Compared to the price of other hotels in Bisceglie this one is worth the money, I'd come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIG_VINX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Admittedly it was out-of-season (April 2013), but the meal on the first night should have served as a warning; very poor. Hotel seemed jaded. Staff on reception were off-hand and unwelcoming (except for the young woman who was present on one day). Room was a bit tatty. Nothing in the fridge (which was dirty) and no drinks facilities in the room. TV didn't function properly. Plastic shower screen was a joke. Bed was reasonably comfortable and clean. Breakfast passable. Whole place seemed tired and not very interested in its guests. Shame, because it's in a great spot.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Andyjmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bisceglie
0.2 mi away
Nicotel Bisceglie
Nicotel Bisceglie
#5 of 5 in Bisceglie
635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa
Hotel Villa
#1 of 5 in Bisceglie
281 reviews
12.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Riva del Sole
Grand Hotel Riva del Sole
#1 of 5 in Giovinazzo
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Memory Resort
Memory Resort
#2 of 5 in Bisceglie
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Bonomi
Hotel Palazzo Bonomi
#3 of 5 in Bisceglie
97 reviews
13.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Salsello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Salsello

Address: Via Vito Siciliani 41-42, 76011 Bisceglie, Italy (Formerly Salsello Hotel Puglia)
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Barletta-Andria-Trani > Bisceglie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bisceglie
Price Range: £29 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Salsello 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Salsello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing