We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with good rooms and a good swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel l'Approdo
Merseyside
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A great hotel with good rooms and a good swimming pool”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while on a cycling holiday in Puglia. The location is at the bottom of the hill on the coast road to Otranto above the harbour.We were really delighted to find a good clean outdoor swimming pool where we could cool off. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We had a problem with a toilet which stopped working but it was promptly repaired. Breakfast was good. The reception staff were very helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    48
    29
    28
    20
See reviews for
43
92
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Dissappointing in all the way. First they didn't find our reservation, (was confirmed by email). The room was old and poor. Because we stayed 3 nights at >200€/night the friendly staff upgraded us to the renovated floor. Room was better but still poor. Breakfast verry poor. Restaurant o.k. but not special... Certainly nothing was 4-star rating...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor -> renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justliketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Maria di Leuca hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

4 stars family run hotel U can choose the kind of room based on how much U wish to spend
The over the sea view bedrooms are much more expensive

The hotel terrace overview the Leuca port bay & u can enjoy the great view lounging on the great couches

It's a yes, a bit expensive, location is great U can walk everywhere down town Luca from here
Good level of service & costumers
They make their best to help their guests & connect u to the best options to enjoy this amazing place

Room Tip: Second floor rooms sea over view a bit expensive but not as much as the first floor which is complet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariacriistinaHeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Basic hotel no frills but clean and functional. Nothing stands out but since there are not many choices in the area this is probably the best one. Check prices close to your travel date as many last minute bookings were given a significantly better rate at the desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Dont bother, everything about this hotel was disappointing, room, location, food, staff, pool simply everything. We drove down from a fantastic hotel in oustini to discover this place which was more expensive

Room Tip: dont choose any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 451Rosamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We are frequent travellers both for work and leasure. We were not very happy with our stay at L'approdo, a hotel that we would rate as 3 stars max, not as 4 stars.The asking price is too high for what the hotel actually is. The pictures shown on the website and on tripadvisor (perhaps put by the hotel staff?) are definetly missleading: the swimming pool is very small, probably 15 m by length or less and not nice; we stayed in a traditional room, very different from the pictures shown on the website.Traditional = dated. The room was clean and we slept well, but the price was a rip off. When we arrived we were told that there might be wifi connection in the room, but the receptionist was not sure???guess what? There was no wifi connection in the room.The service at the restaurant is appalling and it is a pity because the food is very good: at breakfast the waiters talk to each other instead of attending the guests, you have to get up from the table and approach them if you wish to get a cup of coffee; at dinner we asked to sit closer by the sea, but the waiters didn't understand our request and there were free tables.
After 8:00 there is no loung bar at the hotel. The swimming pool bar closes and there is no bar at the reception.
The best part of the reception is used as a 'trendy shop' therefore there is only one sofa left for the guests to sit on.
All and all we will not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the new rooms. Do not stay in the tradional ones, they are dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flying_carpet224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed here recently with some friends during the Cat Laughs weekend in Kilkenny, this is a super B&B in lots of ways - has the feel of a small boutique hotel going on , great city location, lovely fresh rooms, really warm host (Rosie)and good value for money. This will be my default for weekends in Kilkenny from here on and I would suggest it should be yours too!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidieDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria di Leuca
0.4 mi away
Messapia Hotel & Resort
Messapia Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in Santa Maria di Leuca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terminal
Hotel Terminal
#2 of 5 in Santa Maria di Leuca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rizieri
Hotel Rizieri
#3 of 5 in Santa Maria di Leuca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Montecallini
Hotel Montecallini
#1 of 3 in Marina San Gregorio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
12.7 mi away
Robinson Club Apulia
Robinson Club Apulia
#3 of 26 in Ugento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Masseria Le Pajare
Hotel Masseria Le Pajare
#2 of 4 in Lido Marini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel l'Approdo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel l'Approdo

Property: Grand Hotel l'Approdo
Address: Via Panoramica 1, 73040 Santa Maria di Leuca, Castrignano del Capo, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Castrignano del Capo > Santa Maria di Leuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Santa Maria di Leuca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel l'Approdo 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel l'Approdo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel L'Approdo Santa Maria Di Leuca, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing