We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic and quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Palocla
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sciacca
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Idyllic and quirky”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

A former convent, Villa Palocia is now a quirky little hotel in a fabulous setting. We treasure the unusual adventures that travel provides, so we loved this hotel. It is definitely not the Holiday Inn, and we say "three cheers"! Our room was unusual, quiet, clean, and comfortable; we found it very romantic. Yes, the shower stall is tiny and if you are a larger person it may be uncomfortable. But the vaulted ceilings in our room, antiques, gorgeous gardens, and friendly staff gave this hotel our #1 rating from our Sicilian vacation. The generous buffet breakfast and good Italian coffee made a great start to the day, too. The pool area is spectacular. Great value for the money.

Room Tip: The hotel was a bit difficult to find. We required the GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSchmincke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    28
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
52
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Wonderful in every way. Marco and Francesca were kind, helpful, spoke good English. The setting is lovely and peaceful, feels like you are away from town, yet it is not far from town. Rooms and dining room are clean and appealing, and the breakfasts were excellent. Dinners were also interesting and good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Good food , excellent service, rooms comfortable not grand breakfast good nice stay

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesta49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Although the setting was lovely, the hotel was hard to find, the restaurant was closed, the room smelled, and the bed not only smelled like mildew but was also miserably uncomfortable. The shower stall was so tiny that it was very difficult to pick up the soap if it dropped. The staff was pleasant but could not give a recommendation for a restaurant in town, although they did offer to order us a pizza. Breakfast was provided and was OK but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MLFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Very charming, with lovely outdoor area that would have been even better if it hadn't rained! Pool is serene. Ask for a plate of wine and cheese at the pool! Not much English spoken, but we managed fine. The ONE problem is that it is very difficult to find. We wandered around until finally we got someone in town to call the hotel and the owner had to come get us!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

amazing location,in a beatiful countryside,not far from the sea,not far from towncenter,excellent food just one problem....didn't have to much time to spend there i'll come back very soon thanks villa palocla

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbrighi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This place is wonderful, we booked in for three nights but due to an issue we were offerred their apartment in Sciacca city centre where we ended up staying an extra two nights.

The hotel was lovely, the food was amazing and very reasonable as well as very clean. It was wonderful spending a couple of days relaxing by the pool. I bought a lilo and floated around for hours on end reading my book ....

If you do stay here you need to have a car, it is a little out of town but it suited us perfectly. The place is family run and we recieved excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sciacca hotels
9.5 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melqart Hotel
Melqart Hotel
#6 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Aliai
Hotel Aliai
#7 of 10 in Sciacca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Calandrino
Hotel Villa Calandrino
#9 of 10 in Sciacca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.8 mi away
Club Lipari Hotel
Club Lipari Hotel
#5 of 10 in Sciacca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
5.1 mi away
Torre del Barone Club
Torre del Barone Club
#4 of 10 in Sciacca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Palocla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Palocla

Property: Hotel Villa Palocla
Address: Contrada Raganella, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Palocla 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Palocla hotel is 3 km far from Sciacca and its famous thermal baths as well as just 2 km far from wonderful Mediterranean beaches. The hotel has 8 rooms equipped with all comfort: TV, mini bar,strong-box, air-conditioner and direct line. In the restaurant it is possible to enjoy typical Sicilian specialties. The charming swimming pool is open from May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Villa Palocla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Palocla Sicily/Sciacca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing