We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many great things to say with a few improvements needed”
Review of Verdura Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Verdura Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Sciacca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Many great things to say with a few improvements needed”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Verdura is absolutely wonderful for families with small children. The accommodation is very good for purpose. Not beautiful but really practical and attractive for those that like a more modern place to stay. We were upgraded to a lovely suite overlooking the lawns and a skip and hop to the beach. The bathroom was really spacious and all of us were really comfortable. There are no cars allowed on the resort - this is marvellous for the children. You can feel that they are safe. Bicycles are provided for the guests which means if you need to get from your room to the spa or any of the restaurants you just hop on a bike. (Although, these bikes are a bit tired and I wish that the hotel updates them soon!) The staff are amazing. They always help and your happiness is their desire. Truly top staff.
I really wanted to give them 5 stars BUT the restaurants let this place down. They are very pricey for what they are. If you can be bothered to get in your car you can go to Sciacca (the nearest town) and have absolutely wonderful food for a fraction of the price. If they want to charge these prices then the food should be MUCH better. The worst restaurant is the lunch place. The best is the seafood restaurant on the beach but be aware it's a bit manic in there and not very relaxing. The "Fine dining" restaurant is NOT. So if you stayed here on a Bed and Breakfast basis you will enjoy it very much. The Spa is really good and NOT busy. The fitness instructor Lea is wonderful. The treatments also very good. I really would like to return soon so I hope Verdura will keep me posted as to the progress of the restaurants as they should be much better.
All in all, it's a really great place for families to stay and I saw some couples who looked very happy to be here so I can probably recommend this place to them. Live music every night of a very high standard also. One more thing. The hotel is on the beach, but the seas were really rough and the sea sporting club should have been better also and this too let the place down a bit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    370
    111
    43
    21
See reviews for
464
711
25
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The only way to describe Verdura Golf & Spa Resort is in superlatives, as the resort itself: the biggest, the most complete, the cleanest, the most tasteful, the best food, and so on and so on. But the one aspect that surpasses all of the foregoing superlatives is "SERVICE". Every single staff member, from cleaning lady, to waiter, lifeguard, and manager have an exceptional sense of customer service. Every move they make, every thought they have, aims at fulfilling their guests' wishes. Notwithstanding our frequent travel all over the world, Verdura Golf & Spa Resort kept us speechless many times. Don't find your taste on the menu? Don't worry, the chef will create something for you. You want sole for lunch? No worries, the catch of the (next) day will include sole. You ordered eggs for breakfast but they never came? Forget about it, the manager knows and apologizes at dinner with free wine. You don't play golf? Plenty of other things to do in this marvelous hideaway!
A final ramarkable detail: the Resort respects the hundreds of swallows that build their nests in the building structures, even just outside your room door.
In short: we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristianCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Verdura, Direttore generale at Verdura Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful review of our resort.

We are very pleased to hear that our facilities and superlative service satisfied your stay.

I would be delighted to personally assist you when you decide to come back to Sicily and the Verdura Resort for an even more unforgettable experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Ivan Artolli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Verdura for 3 days and 2 nights while visiting Sciacca, the ancestral home of my great grandparents. This is a magnificent property on the Mediteranean with breathtaking views, great food and amenities. The staff was very friendly and professional! In particular, one of our waiters, Antonio, was extremely accommodating, friendly and gracious! He made our stay even more enjoyable. Antonio epitomizes the highly professional and warm personality of this beautiful hotel and its staff. We definitely plan on visiting again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

- very special architecture and facilities, headstrong style
- extra-ordinary nice service, everywhere, what a well-trained staff! Specially Toni from breakfast
- SPA is wonderful, great treatments, products, professional staff
- loved the beach restaurant, delicious fish, the moon light on the sea ...
- nice beach and great pool
- wish to come back again
Good luck there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiana514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights here and wish it had been 10! The staff greeted us by name every time they saw us. The room was big, modern, and had a lovely private patio with two lounge chairs looking at the Sea/ and some of golf course.
We played two rounds of golf; one course a little better than the other. Everyone goes out of their way to please you.
We liked our meals a lot! La Zagara and Amare both!
And the service at all meals including breakfast buffet ( great buffet) was awesome.
The beach was so quiet; although many families were around during our " couple trip " it always seemed tranquil and serene to us at beach or restaurants. Lots of space! The pool is huge and gorgeous but we did not get to sit there during our stay.
It was a WOW hotel and we were especially in love with the kind staff. We hope to return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marciabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Verdura is a destination beach, spa, and golf property with contemporary architecture and every amenity in a beautifully maintained landscape. We immediately relaxed upon arrival after winding our way through the lovely property to get to reception. Perhaps, our favorite part of the hotel was the incredible private beach. There are permanent umbrellas for shade and lots of space and privacy. There is also access to kayaks, stand up paddle boards, sailboats and other water sports. The water is incredibly clear and we were able to paddle board over an old Roman port and look down at the old sea walls. The water was still a bit cool in June, but once we became accustomed to it, we very much enjoyed swimming. The beachfront is somewhat rocky, so they have added mats that you can walk on in bare feet down to the sandy bottom at the water's edge. The main pool is very large and is also lovely with an adjoining bar and restaurant area. Verdura also has fabulous spa and gym facilities with great classes daily (I took Zumba and Aqua Pump). The gym facility is large and has wonderful equipment and there is an indoor lap pool as well as a number of outdoor hydrotherapy pools with strong “waterfalls” and bubblers that help relax tight muscles. I also had a wonderful blackberry facial—my skin felt amazing afterwards--and they use all natural products. Our room was large and contemporary (it was a very nice respite from the intense sun) and we had a terrace on the lawn overlooking the sea. It felt very private. The bed had light curtains draped on the side and it was extremely comfortable with high quality linens and great AC. The bathroom was wonderful and the shower was particularly nice. There was also a separate dressing room in the corridor to the bathroom. Overall the rooms and property reminded me of a Four Seasons. There are bikes everywhere on the property and you can just pick one up and bike anywhere you want to go. After sunset drinks on the main veranda, we would bike to dinner at the casual restaurant (pizzeria) and walk back. The pizzeria had excellent service and good food and perfect local wine recommendations. Breakfast was also excellent. The only slight negative during our stay was that the poolside restaurant had very slow service and in fact, the first day the waitress forgot to put in our entree order so we waited and waited for food. We loved our stay though and can’t wait to return. We only wish we had been able to stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DiscerningTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Verdura, Direttore generale at Verdura Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review.

I am glad to read that you had a pleasant holiday and that you enjoyed overall the property.

We hope you have taken back home with you a lot of pleasant memories of your vacation and I would be delighted to personally assist you when you decide to come back to Sicily and the Verdura Resort for an even more unforgettable experience.

With many thanks once again and best wishes

Ivan Artolli
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

At first sight the Verdura Golf and Spa Resort looked great. We were on a Tauck Tour and it looked as if this would be the best accommodation on our trip.
However, when we tried to get afternoon tea at the Granita Bar we had to wait a very long time and remind the waiter of our order. The view from the Bar is excellent.
Walking back from the golf shops we got very wet in a sudden shower, and were offered a lift by staff back to our room, however, the seat of the 4WD was wetter than we were, so we declined. I was able to dry my clothes with the hair dryer.
We had dinner at the Liola Restaurant, however, it appeared to be the place for children to eat with their families. We did have the option of choosing La Zagara restaurant (as part of our package) and we wished we had. Liola provided slow service and there was far too much food on each plate per course.
The rooms (and vast bathroom) look modern however there appears to be no insulation in the walls between the rooms. We were kept awake all night by the constant movement of chairs in the room above us. So there appears to be no insulation between floors. This resort has been built for show but costs have been cut where it does not show.
While the view to the water is beautiful the beach is all pebbles, certainly not appealing to an Australian!
On the morning we left a truck drove past our room spraying a chemical on the lawns. I think it is important to inform guests before such a chemical is sprayed in case they have problems with it.
Already the door hinges etc on the front of the room were suffering from corrosion from the sea air. This resort will need constant maintenance to withstand its location.

Room Tip: A room with as few party walls as possible and no room above, due to lack of insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wandering59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sciacca
28.0 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
118.3 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
119.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.3 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
25.9 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
117.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verdura Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verdura Resort

Property: Verdura Resort
Address: Strada Statale 115, km 131 | Contrada Verdura, 92019 Sciacca, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Sciacca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sciacca
#1 Family Hotel in Sciacca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sciacca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sciacca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Verdura Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the warmth, passion and beauty of Sicily, Verdura Resort is a five-star destination for an unforgettable holiday experience. It is the first resort in the Rocco Forte Hotels, and takes our trademark Art of Simple Luxury to an outstanding new level. Just 203 rooms are set amid 230 hectares of beautiful Sicilian countryside, providing the rare luxury of exclusive privacy and space.Make the most out of your holiday in Sicily and live a collection of exclusive once in a lifetime experiences: simple luxury resort in-line with the Sicilian tradition, unique archaeological sites, unforgettable dinners under the stars by Fulvio Pierangelini, a world-renowned name in the culinary set, an award winning spa, a unique golf destination and world-class tennis and golf tuitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelsClick so you can book your Verdura Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf And Spa Resort
Rocco Forte Verdura Golf Hotel Sciacca
Verdura Resort Sicily/Sciacca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing