We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable but understaffed and far from 4*”
Review of Hotel Al Ritrovo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Al Ritrovo
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Piazza Armerina
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 727 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable but understaffed and far from 4*”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel is a few minutes on the opposite side of town from the Villa Romana del Casale (in other words, it's a few minutes by car into town, a few minutes to go through town, then a few more minutes to get to the Villa). There is rarely someone at the front desk, and one generally has to phone the restaurant, and someone will come in to help. The staff are all quite nice, but none speaks a word of English.
Our room was on the ground floor, and there was no highway noise from that floor, as others have complained about. It may be a problem in higher floors. When entering the hallway, you kind of have to take a "leap of faith" into the darkness, because the lights only turn on after you enter the hallway (motion sensor). The rooms are clean and comfortable, but the TV's don't have a single channel in any language other than Italian.
The restaurant had a number of different items on the menu, and it gets quite full with locals after 9 PM, but I never saw anyone order anything but pizza. We did the same (the pizza was quite good). The breakfast was OK. Not among the best of our trip, but certainly quite adequate. Parking is easy and plentiful.
I might have rated this place more highly, but it advertises as a 4*, and it's nowhere near that by any stretch of the imagination. It hardly even qualifies as a 3*. There is nothing extra one might associate with a 4*, such as a pool, fitness center, or hot tub, and I don't see how a place with no front desk staff, no bilingual staff, and limited TV channel selection can call itself a 4*. The 3* we stayed for the next 4 days in Catania was significantly nicer (Hotel Mediterraneo). If I had to do it over again, we would have visited the Villa as a day trip from Catania or Palermo--the highway connections are quite good.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are quiet and you don't have to deal with the small, old elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    24
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
197 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Al Ritrivo gave us a great place to stay as we prepared to see Piazza Armerina, and specifically the amazing Roman Villa, a must-see.. The decor was very nice, and although the bathroom was quite small, the room was comfortable and polished.

We did have one complaint. There weren't many people staying at the hotel when we were there and the front desk clerk was away most of the time, leaving all the room keys, and our passports, unattended and in plain sight. She showed us our room initially, but we never saw her again. She left her laptop and at one point even her pocketbook on the chair. We rang the bell several times at different times, and in the morning when we were leaving, but no one ever came. I have no idea where she went.

Other than that, the hotel was great and the restaurant is the bomb and served us the best Pizza we have had in a while. A liter of great wine for €6 is a nice touch too. Go there!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UnclePen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We arrived with no reservation and were given a lovely room with a big bathroom and a hydromassage shower. The location was right off the highway, large parking lot, good restaurant (populated by locals) with good pizza. Room was very clean, the staff very efficient and the breakfast was more than we could eat. For the second morning we told them we really did not need the meat and cheese platter; juice, cornetti, the basket of breads, and yogurt was more than enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matitx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford,UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had a suite, and although the bathroom was modern (though shower cubicle was very small) the furnishings in the sitting area can best be described as "quaint". Bedroom contained a TV, very firm bed and sidetables. Large terrace outside, but we didn't use it as it was raining the night we were there. No wi-fi. Small refrigerator in room, but no glasses for drinks. These were provided on request by the pleasant staff. Good restaurant on site.

It was quite a way out of town, so we didn't get to see Piazza Armerina old town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a good hotel to stay for visiting the archeological sites in the area. Although outside of the town it is easy to find, fairly new and staff is friendly. Rooms are fine and clean and breakfast in the restaurant in the other building is o.k. Price /value is good. Also it was well heated which is not always the case in Sicily in the winter time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caro089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piazza Armerina
1.9 mi away
Suite d'Autore
Suite d'Autore
#2 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
156 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
#1 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
262 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Casa Rossa Country House
La Casa Rossa Country House
#4 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Hotel Paradiso
Park Hotel Paradiso
#5 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
294 reviews
44.7 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mosaici da Battiato
Hotel Mosaici da Battiato
#6 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ritrovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ritrovo

Property: Hotel Al Ritrovo
Address: Cda Bellia SS 117Bis | Km 44+250, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Piazza Armerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Ritrovo 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Ritrovo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Al Ritrovo Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing