We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Villa Trigona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Trigona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

During a 6 week trip to the boot of Italy and Sicily, we decided to include staying at a farm property and chose Villa Trigona. What a wonderful choice!
The Villa is easy to find - just follow the well organised signs once you reach Piazza Armerina. The house is historic and charming overlooking olive groves. It has a lovely pool, however we didn't have time for a swim. Our room was top floor overlooking the courtyard and was very quiet. We had booked for a traditional Sicilian dinner - an absolutely delightful meal eaten out in the courtyard - the super cooking smells wafted through the house all afternoon - you could not miss out! The meal of numerous courses was if I remember correctly 25Euro pp and we regarded it as excellent value with wine included. Breakfast was also held out in the courtyard. This is an ideal place to stay when visiting Villa Romana del Casale. Staff were extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the courtyard and olive groves. Our room consisted of a small sitting room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the Villa Trigona for a week at the end of June. We very much enjoyed our stay and hope to return.
The highlights are: the building itself which is charming and full of character, its setting with views of the Sicilian countryside, the beautiful swimming pool, the very good food and most important, the friendly and helpful staff.
Our room, superior with a French balcony, was homely with old-fashioned furnishings in keeping with the building. It had an air conditioning unit, an optional insect screen on the window and a fridge. The bathroom was functional with shower and bidet and lots of hot water. There is a plentiful breakfast buffet, taken in the lovely courtyard. The food should be covered to offer more protection from flies.
The Villa is about 5 km down a country lane from the centre of the local town, Piazza Armerina, and about an hour and a half from Catania airport. A car is essential, as it is not possible to walk to the town, e.g. for a meal in the evening. However a very good set meal, including wine, is served at the Villa which is excellent value for money.
The location of Villa Trigona is ideal for visiting: the Roman Villa at Casale, the Greek ruins at Morgantina (well worth a visit) and the museum at Aidone nearby, the hill town of Enna, and Caltagirone for its ceramics.
Do choose here if you seek a relaxed, informal stay in beautiful rural surroundings. Do not choose it if you prefer sophisticated 4/5 star hotels with lots of modern facilities.

Room Tip: As it's an old building, rooms vary in size - probably worth choosing an superior room. Some roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CambridgeBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Historic house, situated in a quiet surrounding of Piazza Armerina, in a large garden with nice swimming pool. The house itself is worth visiting, beautiful old furniture and cosy sitting rooms.
Typical Italian breakfast under the terrace trees with extensive buffet and cappuccino served on the table.
We took the half board formula, complete with antipasti, primo, secondo and dolce. For the antipasti a carafe of local red wine, typical regional bottled red wine afterwards. No choice of wines, since included in the half board formula. Nice attention: a choice of liquors afterwards with the (facultative) coffee or tea. Friendly personnel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVBossche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The position is perfect for visiting the Villa Romana, do go to the town before following the sat nav...
We stayed as 2 couples, very different rooms for the same price, ours was shabby, noisy room looks old but the walls are paper thin, good luck with any other guests in adjoining rooms!! The air con and shower both needed attention. Our friends were very comfortable so it's pot luck as to what you get. The staff especially Hashmat were very nice and did the best possible. The food is amazing and the evening meal one of the nicest we had on our tour. Pity they can't up grade the rooms.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Cons: Our room was dreary with ugly furniture in bad condition and very little light. Terrible soft mattress which made sleeping difficult. The house is in a nice setting but the grounds are neglected. We think this place has seen better days.
Pros: Staff helpful and friendly. The villa is some distance from the town so they provide evening meals. They were the highlight of the stay. The food was tasty, plentiful (several courses) and lots of wine and even liqueurs. In particular there was an employee named Hashmat who was a real delight and adds significant value to this place.

Room Tip: Not sure from talking to other guests whether it's worth paying more for a "better" ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandmto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for a night on our tour around Sicily. It is out of town and feels like you are in the depths of the country. We were made to feel welcome and shown to a nice comfortable room. The dinner in the evening was really nice and very good value. Breakfast was also excellent. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our only regret is that we could only stay for the one night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Loved it here. Fantastically friendly owners and staff, lovely country-style rooms, very green surroundings and, crucially for me, food was delicious and plentiful! A great base to go and see the ancient mosaics (by car) and also if you want a central base for Catania, Ragusa and Syracusa. A thoroughly enjoyable stay - they just need to keep their beer colder! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piazza Armerina hotels
1.3 mi away
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
#1 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
280 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel Paradiso
Park Hotel Paradiso
#6 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
316 reviews
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Salemi
Agriturismo Salemi
#2 of 16 in Piazza Armerina
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Clementine
Villa Clementine
#1 of 38 in Piazza Armerina
402 reviews
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo Savoca
Agriturismo Savoca
#3 of 16 in Piazza Armerina
245 reviews
5.2 mi away
Agriturismo Gigliotto
Agriturismo Gigliotto
#11 of 16 in Piazza Armerina
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Trigona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Trigona

Address: Via Santa Croce | C/da Bauccio, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Piazza Armerina
Price Range: £52 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Trigona 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant mansion built between 1700 and 1800 offers accommodation in suites and rooms. The rooms which feature air conditioning and are fitted with en-suit bathroom. The Villa is situated less than 1 km. from Piazza Armerina and is surrounded by 50,000 sq. m. or green countryside. Ideal for relaxing tourism, cultural and gastronomic stays. Excellent meals exclusively cooked for the Villa’s guests can be enjoyed upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Trigona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Trigona Hotel Piazza Armerina
Villa Trigona Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing