We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Agriturismo experience”
Review of Agriturismo Salemi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agriturismo Salemi
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Agriturismo experience”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 11-12th August 2013 - we came from Agrigento especially to see the Villa de Casale. This accommodation was a highlight as we had never experienced an Agriturismo before - we were concerned about privacy but we had nothing to worry about -it was a great experience and would definitely stay again.
We did have to concentrate while diving from the main road into the property as it was quite narrow - but it certainly wasnt busy. The hosts were kind and gracious and the meals...oh what a treat! - true Sicilian hospitality and produce. If you really want to experience true sicilian food I think an Agriturismo with 1/2 board is a great choice - not sure if they are all up to 'Salemi standard'. The Chef was very talented and full of personality - beware he makes sure you are eating well and may top-up your plate! A dip in the lovely pool was a great way to relax after an afternoon of touring and there are plenty of sunbeds. Rooms are simple but very comfortable and all have a view out to the rural rolling hills of the countryside.
The Villa de Casale is a must and so is the town of Piazza Armerina - we happened to arrive at the start of a festival and had a wonderful afternoon enjoying the atmosphere. The locals are so friendly! Thankyou for your lovely hospitality and wonderful Villa.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    60
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
57
107
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoofddorp
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This Agritourismo is situated just outside Piazza Armerina and offers you very kind hosting, comfortable large rooms, outside swimming-pool and a wide choice of freshly cooked, local food served in a real romantic Italian setting. The old olive oil estate has constantly been refurbished into a nice Agriturismo nowadays with all modern comfort but still in a very quiet, natural setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife & I stayed here 1 night in late september 2013. My big regret is that we didn't stay longer. The hilltop view is stunning, the grounds & the entire building is clean, quiet & delightful. The dining room is outstanding for dinner. I forgot to tell them in advance of my wife's gluten allergy (my mistake). I mentioned it to the server when the appetizer plate came. He went into the kitchen & told the cook. They modified my wife's meal (special appetizers & all remaining 3 courses) on the fly to make sure she had an outstanding meal. That included making special pasta & serving a special main course that was different form what everyone else was being served. I sincerely thanked them. The breakfast buffet is top shelf too. Yes the road in gets a tad bumpy - it's worth it! One of the finest, most comfortable places we've stayed in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We arrived exhausted as we had attempted to drive without going through Piazza Armerina from where the signposting was excellent and made several wrong turns. From this poor start everything just kept improving. The staff were really helpful and welcoming and spoke English well or adequately. The €20 evening meal with 4 courses (no choices), but you could opt for less was great value and the included breakfast meant none of us needed lunch. Visiting the nearby Roman mosaics was straightforward and so enjoyable. We found the beds more comfortable than others, but if there were noisy guests it could be a bit noisy. The views from Salemi are lovely and star gazing and enjoying the sunset were extra bonuses.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpexplores1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a lovely time at salemi, it is quiet during the day and silent at night, which gave us all a perfect nights sleep. The food is good and the people are quiet friendly. The place itself is nicely done up, only four years old and very well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We arrived late on our first night of three were we had booked half board. We didn't get there until 2330 and were welcomed by the staff. It was easy enough to find the farm as there were good signposts along the roads, yes the road to the farm is a bit small and bumpy but nothing to write about!! The next day we were greeted with lovely scenery and a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice and fresh food. As we had missed the dinner the night before we were provided with an amazing free lunch / lovely fresh local ingredients. The dinners were great but make sure you are hungry as there is plenty of food / we were advised plenty of times that if we didn't like something to just say and an alternative dish would be provided - we didn't change anything! My wife is a vegetarian and the chef and staff were very accommodating and her food was lovely, smiles all around.

The pool is large for a farm and we virtually had it to ourselves - sometimes felt like we were staying at a private villa. rooms were spacious and very clean with good showers!

All in all a great experience and would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPJDJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The reason for staying here was that we wanted to go to Villa Romana del Casale in the vicinity, so it was a one night stay.Location wise it's in nice countryside but quite a bit of a trek off the main road. Great views. Quiet and peaceful. It's actually more modern than it looks. Great welcome by the hosts. Nice large room and comfortable bed. If I had to be picky is that noise travels so if there are noisy guests you'll hear them. No complaints about the facilities. Breakfast was very good indeed, typically Italian in style. They do offer dinner and we thought as we were late arriving we couldn't order it - house rules state dinner should be ordered by 1000 but we were asked if we wanted to stay. It is €20 per person, not a bad price. I did have a difference of opinion with my partner who commented that the meal was somewhat plain but in my view it was fantastic value for money and delicious. The occasion was somewhat spoiled by the german couple next to us discussing me and my partner - note to non-British people we do not all speak English only, English is my 2nd language, and I do speak some German and Dutch but my partner is german.....

This is definitely a place I would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshwizardK10D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piazza Armerina
2.7 mi away
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
#1 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Agriturismo Savoca
Agriturismo Savoca
#2 of 14 in Piazza Armerina
235 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Trigona
Villa Trigona
#1 of 14 in Piazza Armerina
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Agriturismo Bannata
Agriturismo Bannata
#1 of 11 in Enna
123 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Clementine
Villa Clementine
#1 of 38 in Piazza Armerina
379 reviews
5.9 mi away
Agriturismo Gigliotto
Agriturismo Gigliotto
#12 of 14 in Piazza Armerina
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Salemi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Salemi

Property: Agriturismo Salemi
Address: C.da Leano, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Piazza Armerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo Salemi 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Salemi is located in the green and picturesque district of Leano, few kilometres away from the town of Piazza Armerina. Thanks to regular and careful restoration works, this lovely 19th century farmhouse maintains its ancient beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Agriturismo Salemi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Salemi Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing