We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an extremely comfortable place”
Review of Kimera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a very comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated B&B run by a delightful lady - a unique character with a big heart who wants to make your stay perfect. Everywhere there are beautiful blue and cream ceramics from nearby Caltagirone - even the sink in our shower-room. Our bedroom was huge with huge comfortable
Bed and a sofa and armchair. A big telly and excellent Wi-Fi. Breakfast was huge with everything. Fruit and tea and coffee making things were available all the time in the breakfast area. Good easy free parking outside. The Duomo and square just up the hill and just down the hill Piazza Garibaldi - the centre. Excellent place to stay for a visit to Villa del Casals and the Amazing Roman mosaics. We stayed in the blue room - I think perhaps the best room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

The warmth of the welcome we received after her husband had picked us up at the bus station was most gratifying. She made us feel that her house really was our house. It is located near the cathedral and within easy walking of restaurants but, nonetheless, we found the rooms large, comfortable and very quiet. Breakfasts were plentiful with a range of foods, more than enough to set us up for the day. We were there in April when the bus to the Villa does not run, but they gave us a ride out, and then back again. This saved us a significant taxi fare. The only negative in our stay was that one day (and I think this was an oversight) our room was not refreshed. We would certainly strongly recommend the Kimera to anyone visiting Piazza Armerina

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank declanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

These may be some of the most pleasant people I've ever met. Not phony, just lovely. Very little English but it doesn't matter. Their warmth and concern shows through. This is a tough town to navigate; 45* slopes are the norm. So it takes determination to see what you want. Kimera is 200' from the top, next to the cathedral, so most everything is downhill. But you have to get back up there! Too much for our 70+ knees. We walked down to dinner and crawled back to Kimera. This B&B is a bit too close quarters for our taste but am not sure of alternatives in town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Super, very friendly, helpfull und kind.
B&B very clean and lovely, with nice decorated rooms.
B&B is located Perfect in Town, next to the Center, but it's not loud.
Best breakfast adventure on our tour in Sicilia, with the nice owners, you have to know them! A greate experience.
Good prices.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We also spent one night at the Kimera prior to visiting the Roman villa. We arrived on a very quiet Sunday afternoon (when the town was totally dead) and really hungry, and the housekeeper very helpfully phoned a nearby restaurant and they stayed open especially for us. The hosts were very welcoming, and Pippo served us breakfast the following morning and was very funny. He even ensured that we got out of the town centre and onto the right road for the villa, by insisting that we follow his car. This was really a great stay - the room was slightly quirky but rather unique, and it did feel like staying in someone's home (in a good way).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The weather was cold and blustery and we had just spent hours at Villa Romana del Casale when we arrived at Kimera. Rita welcomed us in with enough warmth and charm to make us comfortable right away. She and Pippo are gracious hosts who make you feel you are in your own place. We loved all the decorations, including local ceramics. Our room was clean, comfortable, quiet, and well-equipped. We had plenty of space for our stuff. Free parking was available right outside the door. There was a good WiFi signal. Rita made sure we knew where to go for dinner, how to get around, and how to make ourselves at home. Breakfast was abundant and delicious, with both sweet and savory options. Rita even led us out of town to make sure we got on the right road to our next stop. We enjoyed walking around the B&B--the town is very interesting, especially the neighborhood where Kimera is located. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jct263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

At the heart of B&B Kimera are owners Rite (pronounced "Rita") and Pippo (some of the reviewers call him Pepe, but "Pippo" is the actual Italian name, short for Giuseppe). They were full of energy and recommendations to make our stay in Piazza de Amerina more comfortable. The rooms were comfortable, and the snacks and breakfast were just fine. Toward the end of our stay, Pippo kissed my head and told me I was the bald Kirk Douglas! What a unique experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrMikeWatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piazza Armerina hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
#1 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite d'Autore
Suite d'Autore
#3 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Giardino delle Zagare
Giardino delle Zagare
#4 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Clementine
Villa Clementine
#1 of 38 in Piazza Armerina
402 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Dimora del Conte
B&B Dimora del Conte
#4 of 38 in Piazza Armerina
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B La Quercia e l'Asino
B&B La Quercia e l'Asino
#3 of 38 in Piazza Armerina
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimera

Address: Via Cavour 46 | Sicilia/Enna, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Piazza Armerina
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Per una vacanza diversa, caratterizzata da un'ospitalita calda, accogliente, familiare, ma, altresi, raffinata. Kimera e un bed&breakfast che sorge nel cuore pulsante del centro storico di Piazza Armerina, a due passi dal DUOMO che svetta sopra i tetti delle case come un faro, in una residenza d'epoca di fine ottocento, recentemente restaurata, ma di cui ha mantenuto, impreziosendola, la suggestiva atmosfera di un tempo. Il B&B e gestito direttamente dalla famiglia proprietaria e le tre camere, suggestivamente indicate con i nomi di spezie (ZENZERO, CANNELLA e PEPERONCINO) avvolgono gli ospiti in un' atmosfera unica e di grande effetto, prodighe di ogni tipo di confort. Gli ambienti sono curati nel dettaglio. Nulla e lasciato al caso, ogni particolare e studiato per assicurare agio, riservatezza, relax e per esaltare il gusto del bello e dell'armonia. Il B&B Kimera e l'ideale per gli Ospiti che ricercano conforts ed estro creativo in una dimora storica, connubio perfetto tra antico ed arte contemporanea. Gli arredi sono unici, impreziositi da cotto, pietra, legno, arredi in ferro battuto ed oggetti di valore, quali tele, quadri e splendide ceramiche di Caltagirone: un sapiente intreccio tra design ed eleganza, creato personalmente dalla proprietaria che dell'Ospitalita fa un' Arte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kimera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimera Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing