We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kimera
Certificate of Excellence
California City, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

we arrived to Kimera earlier than scheduled. Rita the owner sent her husband to open the place for us. Rita is a very warm, kind and has a good sense of humor. she welcomed us and showed us to our rooms (3 couples). she's very proud of the decoration. for my taste it's a little bit too much.. Rooms are spacious. the breakfast was delicious, from the cheeses, fresh cold cuts, proscutto, ham, mortadella, fresh ricotta cheese delicious and hard boiled eggs....delicious bread as well. parking was no problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    35
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
117
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

our host is passionate about making guests feel welcome - and tells you so! carefully chosen furnishings, washbasins and other china the traditional ware from Caltagirone. Very generous breakfast, with lots of meat and cheese alongside typical Sicilian cakes/pastries, all chosen to be local specialities (one morning a huge mound of ricotta cheese); and also access to coffeee machine, a supply of several kinds of teabags ect during the day. Our host even organised her husband to drive us to the bus station at the end of our trip - and wouldn't take anything for the 'taxi ride'. She keeps the steps outside beautiful too with hanging baskest and pots of geraniums. Good access to Cathedral and Piazza Garibaldi (restaurants etc).

Room Tip: A tip - the entry from street is straight into Reception area which is also the breakfast area, only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very comfortable and beautifully furnished and decorated B&B run by a delightful lady - a unique character with a big heart who wants to make your stay perfect. Everywhere there are beautiful blue and cream ceramics from nearby Caltagirone - even the sink in our shower-room. Our bedroom was huge with huge comfortable
Bed and a sofa and armchair. A big telly and excellent Wi-Fi. Breakfast was huge with everything. Fruit and tea and coffee making things were available all the time in the breakfast area. Good easy free parking outside. The Duomo and square just up the hill and just down the hill Piazza Garibaldi - the centre. Excellent place to stay for a visit to Villa del Casals and the Amazing Roman mosaics. We stayed in the blue room - I think perhaps the best room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The warmth of the welcome we received after her husband had picked us up at the bus station was most gratifying. She made us feel that her house really was our house. It is located near the cathedral and within easy walking of restaurants but, nonetheless, we found the rooms large, comfortable and very quiet. Breakfasts were plentiful with a range of foods, more than enough to set us up for the day. We were there in April when the bus to the Villa does not run, but they gave us a ride out, and then back again. This saved us a significant taxi fare. The only negative in our stay was that one day (and I think this was an oversight) our room was not refreshed. We would certainly strongly recommend the Kimera to anyone visiting Piazza Armerina

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank declanOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

These may be some of the most pleasant people I've ever met. Not phony, just lovely. Very little English but it doesn't matter. Their warmth and concern shows through. This is a tough town to navigate; 45* slopes are the norm. So it takes determination to see what you want. Kimera is 200' from the top, next to the cathedral, so most everything is downhill. But you have to get back up there! Too much for our 70+ knees. We walked down to dinner and crawled back to Kimera. This B&B is a bit too close quarters for our taste but am not sure of alternatives in town.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surdtirol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Super, very friendly, helpfull und kind.
B&B very clean and lovely, with nice decorated rooms.
B&B is located Perfect in Town, next to the Center, but it's not loud.
Best breakfast adventure on our tour in Sicilia, with the nice owners, you have to know them! A greate experience.
Good prices.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We also spent one night at the Kimera prior to visiting the Roman villa. We arrived on a very quiet Sunday afternoon (when the town was totally dead) and really hungry, and the housekeeper very helpfully phoned a nearby restaurant and they stayed open especially for us. The hosts were very welcoming, and Pippo served us breakfast the following morning and was very funny. He even ensured that we got out of the town centre and onto the right road for the villa, by insisting that we follow his car. This was really a great stay - the room was slightly quirky but rather unique, and it did feel like staying in someone's home (in a good way).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piazza Armerina hotels
0.4 mi away
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
#1 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite d'Autore
Suite d'Autore
#2 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa Rossa Country House
La Casa Rossa Country House
#4 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Al Ritrovo
Hotel Al Ritrovo
#3 of 10 in Piazza Armerina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Clementine
Villa Clementine
#1 of 38 in Piazza Armerina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Dimora del Conte
B&B Dimora del Conte
#4 of 38 in Piazza Armerina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimera

Property: Kimera
Address: Via Cavour 46, 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Piazza Armerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Per una vacanza diversa, caratterizzata da un'ospitalita calda, accogliente, familiare, ma, altresi, raffinata. Kimera e un bed&breakfast che sorge nel cuore pulsante del centro storico di Piazza Armerina, a due passi dal DUOMO che svetta sopra i tetti delle case come un faro, in una residenza d'epoca di fine ottocento, recentemente restaurata, ma di cui ha mantenuto, impreziosendola, la suggestiva atmosfera di un tempo. Il B&B e gestito direttamente dalla famiglia proprietaria e le tre camere, suggestivamente indicate con i nomi di spezie (ZENZERO, CANNELLA e PEPERONCINO) avvolgono gli ospiti in un' atmosfera unica e di grande effetto, prodighe di ogni tipo di confort. Gli ambienti sono curati nel dettaglio. Nulla e lasciato al caso, ogni particolare e studiato per assicurare agio, riservatezza, relax e per esaltare il gusto del bello e dell'armonia. Il B&B Kimera e l'ideale per gli Ospiti che ricercano conforts ed estro creativo in una dimora storica, connubio perfetto tra antico ed arte contemporanea. Gli arredi sono unici, impreziositi da cotto, pietra, legno, arredi in ferro battuto ed oggetti di valore, quali tele, quadri e splendide ceramiche di Caltagirone: un sapiente intreccio tra design ed eleganza, creato personalmente dalla proprietaria che dell'Ospitalita fa un' Arte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kimera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimera Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing