We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to experience this part of Sicily”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Piazza Armerina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed at this beautifully positioned B&B recently for four nights--comfortable rooms, wonderful views of Piazza Armerina, great conversations with the hosts (including Maria Grazia, a licensed guide for nearby Villa Romana and its great mosaics), delicious breakfasts including local specialties, and when I fell ill (unrelated to anything I ate there), they took wonderful care of me. I will go back whenever I can, and with great pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyNancy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

Very nice location overlooking the old town. The B&B has a very "homey" feel to it. Good and spacious room with all the facilities. WiFi and also desktop computer available. We returned from the old town in the evening and ended up sitting in front of the fire with a bottle of wine. You can also sit on the large balcony and look over to the Duomo and old town, lit up at night.
Breakfast is at a large table shared with the other guests (good fare). It is a different but very nice way to share travel experiences with other guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had a very enjoyable couple of nights here (once we eventually managed to find it!!)

The room was large and comfortable if a little old-fashioned. The breakfast spread was very good and the setting round one large table encourages interaction with the other guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_and_J_Daykin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

After years and years of travelling around the world as an international advisor and, for pleasure with my family, I do not remember to have met such interesting owners. Luciano and Maria Grazia are a cultivated couple who love their region. Luciano is a successful marathon runner born again archeologist and Maria Grazia a professional guide attending groups coming from everywhere to be stunned –as we were- by the marvellous roman mosaics preserved in Villa Romana del Casale, a top tourist atraction in central Sicily. The B&B is an old countryhouse revamped with very good taste by Maria Grazia and Luciano. Located on the outskirts of Piazza Armerina it has a beautiful view of the town. Our room was very nice and the breakfast the best we have enjoyed in Sicily (I will remember the french style croissants as the best I have eaten in ten tours of italian regions...). Last but not least, Luciano, aware of the distance to the town center is always available to give you a lift. La Casa Sulla Collina D’Oro is for us a nice souvenir and a place we will recommend to anyone travelling to Piazza Armerina.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segredod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

The relais is simply fascinating! From this location, you will be able to enjoy of a fantastic view. The owner is really nice and helpful. I liked to have breakfast together with the other guests of the relais at the same table...the best way to socialize with new friends!
Raccomanded!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel is in a quiet part of PA overlooking the cathedral (great view from the breakfast room and terrace). The owners are highly knowledgeable about the Roman villa and other local sites. The coffee and breakfast food are very good, with unlimited top-quality local cheese, ham, croissants and fruit available.

A slight drawback is that the hotel is a few minutes' car drive from local restaurants for your evening meal, though the owners should have that problem sorted out in a few months (July 2013) when they open another place near by.

The wi-fi is free. I paid €50/night for B&B, low season.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivor E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Our recent two-night stay at Casa Sulla Collina d’Oro was a very pleasant one. Our room was nicely-decorated and very clean, the owners and their staff were friendly and helpful. As we like to sleep with our window open, we were thrilled to find screens in our bedroom - quite a rarity in Italy! The location was excellent for the fascinating Villa del Casale archaeological site, as well as for our own personal pilgrimage in the Sicilian interior to visit the Canadian War Cemetery near Agira. There are several large terraces at the B&B and the view of Piazza Armerina is spectacular, particularly in the evening. Unfortunately, our travel plans did not allow us enough time to visit Morgantina or venture into the town, both highly recommended by our fellow guests.
Our only setback was on our second night when the neighbourhood dogs were unsettled and there was a recurrent chorus of barking throughout the night, including a dog very near our room. Regretfully, we had to forego that wonderful screen and close our bedroom window! (This seems to be very common in Italy – homes with fences and large dogs that are kept outside.)

Breakfast, which was served at a large communal table, was exceptional – by far the most abundant and delicious breakfast of our holiday. (The bread stuffed with sun-dried tomato was particularly yummy!) It was very pleasant sitting with fellow tourists and exchanging travel experiences and tips.

This is a well-run, well-maintained and very comfortable B&B, with a warm and cozy atmosphere. The April evenings were a little cool and it was lovely to come downstairs in the evening and see a wood fire burning in the living room. We enjoyed our stay at Casa Sulla Collina d’Oro.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piazza Armerina
0.4 mi away
Giardino delle Zagare
Giardino delle Zagare
#3 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
18 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Al Ritrovo
Hotel Al Ritrovo
#2 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Rossa Country House
La Casa Rossa Country House
#5 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Suite d'Autore
Suite d'Autore
#4 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
172 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Sicilia
Hotel Sicilia
#2 of 4 in Enna
271 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Mosaici da Battiato
Hotel Mosaici da Battiato
#7 of 11 in Piazza Armerina
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro

Address: Mattarella s.n.c., 94015 Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Enna > Piazza Armerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Piazza Armerina
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From a panoramic position overhanging part of the historical centre of Piazza Armerina, bed & breakfast "La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro" ( the house on the golden hill) Relais de Charme will be glad to welcome its guests in an old house dating from the end of the 19th century, which has been restructured and renovated with the help of typical Sicilian building materials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Casa Sulla Collina D'oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Sulla Collina D'Oro Piazza Armerina, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing