We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place- a hidden gem!”
Review of Casale Romano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casale Romano
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Motta Camastra
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Brilliant stay in the self catering apartment. The hosts were great, helping to recommend and organise day trips- we walked up Etna and did a tour of the Aeolian Islands- neither of which we would have done so well on our own. The food was lovely, especially the evening meal, freshly cooked local food, served with care and attention. Surrounded by fruit and olive trees it was the perfect setting for a holiday in which to relax and refresh. Yes it's a little way into the hills from Taormina but for us this was perfect - away from noise and crowds.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

The owners were very welcoming. The place is about 30 minutes away from Taormina and only 5 mins walk from Alcantara Gorge. There are a few really nice restaurants in the area. The pool was great. We stayed there in July so it was very hot and we found that the aircon could not cope. It was hot and stuffy in the room. Also there was no fridge. The room and the bathroom were cleaned every day but the towels were not changed. There was a message displayed by the reception that the guests were not allowed to take food or drinks to the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agaplusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We had a wonderful holiday at Casale Romano. Sabina and Saro are brilliant hosts and all the staff very friendly. The homemade evening meals were a delight. I celebrated my birthday there and they made it an extra special day. The superior rooms are very comfortable and the apartments very special. Being surrounded by lemon and orange groves was beautiful and the scent from the trees wonderful. Having breakfast in the sunshine on the terrace there was lovely too. In all a very special spot in Sicily with so much to see and do in the surrounding areas. We visited so many amazing little villages on hilltops, Etna of course, and ate wonderful food and enjoyed many local wines !

Room Tip: apartments very special, stayed in the old wine press one which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiesquirrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were lucky enough to stumble upon this gem whilst travelling around Sicily. The location seems a bit of a drive from Taormina but is well worth the trip for the comfortable rooms, beautiful setting and amazing (& affordable) 3 course local menu that is on offer each night.

We loved it so much that we stayed an extra night so we could relax by the pool and enjoy the fantastic hospitality some more.

I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone thinking of staying in the Taormina area given its value of money and peaceful setting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewAANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel is located remotly in a village. That is OK if you are prepared for this. It is a family rub business. Unfortunately there were a number of negative experiences we had:
The rooms are cold
The cleaning is non existent. Towels are not changed and beds are not made.
Bathrooms are shabby

But worse of all service for this price was bad:
Although there is plenty of fruit in the garden there was no at the breakfast, which was dull
The owner had a very strained relation with the staff, raised her vioce a lot at them
The internet was expensive, and a problem to get access to. Worked bad once ackquired.

All in all not recommendable for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasfromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Casale Romano September 2010 and the whole experience was a disaster.

Firstly, booking the villa through thompson to find that the villa was already occupied and to be shown to a tiny, dark, basic hotel room was less than pleasing!

after explaining to the hotel owner that we were in the villa and not the hotel, the owner offered us a 'non thompson' villa to stay in. Although this was nice of the owners, thompson had booked our villa wrong and the villa we were offered was no more than 3 star! no air con, no washing machine, holes in walls, the list goes on.

When we challenged thompson (at it was their fault and not the owners of Casale Romanos) we were made to feel like criminals by the owner, shouted at in the public courtyard and later totally ignored and made to endure the rest of our 'relaxing silicilan break' in what i could only describe as a horrendous, hostile envrioment.

So, moving onto the food. We stayed B&B. The 'freshly squeezed orange juice' was never to be seen. One day i decided to pick and squeeze my own, to yet again, be talked to like an piece of crap. In addition, although i am quite fond of dogs, i am not fond of having someone elses dog slaver on my lap whilst i eat my breakfast!


After the room saga we later found snakes and rates within the villa grounds. We pointed this out to the owner who shrugged this off stating 'the snakes get rid of the rats'....if you were thinking of taking your children here, i need say no more!!!

On a positive note, we stayed in for dinner one night and the food was ok, plus we met a lovely couple who got married over there and the owner made a big effort for them which was nice.

Overall, if you want a basic accomidation, that is quiet, and rural, then Casale Romano would be fine. If you want anything more...avoid!

Room Tip: only stay in the thompson villa (the old wine cellar)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofiaalbohaithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We spent a fortnight at Casale Romano in a self-catering apartment in June 2011 and had a great time. We had more than adequate space including a full sized shower, washing machine, fridge, TV etc. Our apartment being in the original wine press was somewhat unique in its form as some of the old equipment was still in place. Imagine staying in a beam engine and you’ll get the idea. Plenty of space though and the only downside was that it was due to its situation a little dark needing the lights on whenever you were inside. However with the weather we had being inside was not something we did much.

Being self-catering we had only two meals back at the ‘hotel’ but enjoyed them both. There is a reasonable supermarket, closed Sundays and Wednesday half day 10 minutes’ drive up the road which supplied all we needed for the fortnight.

Everyone was very friendly especially Harold the dog and there is a basic café/restaurant 10 minutes’ walk up the road adjacent to the Gola Alcantara Gorge. A car is a must however and we found more than enough in the area to keep us busy for the fortnight. Taormina is around 10 miles away or slightly more depending on how many laps of the Hospital you do trying to find the car park.

Casale Romano is an ideal base for visiting the North East of Sicily within which there is masses to discover and explore. A Sat. Nav. is a very useful accessory but needs to be treated with suspicion as ours on a couple of occasions got us in impossible situations, caution required.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktt348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motta Camastra
2.7 mi away
Alcantara Resort
Alcantara Resort
#1 of 1 in Gaggi
237 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo San Cataldo
Agriturismo San Cataldo
#1 of 6 in Motta Camastra
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Villa Rita
Bed and Breakfast Villa Rita
#4 of 7 in Motta Camastra
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Agripark Gole Alacantara
Agripark Gole Alacantara
#2 of 6 in Motta Camastra
61 reviews
0 mi away
Agriturismo Valle Alcantara
Agriturismo Valle Alcantara
#1 of 7 in Motta Camastra
20 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Savoja Boutique Residence
Villa Savoja Boutique Residence
#1 of 2 in Motta Camastra
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Romano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Romano

Address: Contrada Rinazzo | Via Nazionale 5, 98030 Motta Camastra, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Motta Camastra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Motta Camastra
Price Range: £46 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casale Romano 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casale Romano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casale Romano Sicily/Motta Camastra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing