We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Alpenrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alpenrose
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Arabba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the Italian "settimana bianca" (snow week). We were traveling with two small children. We took advantage of a special offer where children didn't pay. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and ate well, as we had the half board. The breakfast buffet was quite good as well. The only thing that bothered me was that water had to be purchased with dinner and at the end of the week, we had spent over 60 euro in just water. In other hotels we have stayed in (in the Dolomites), tap water was available as the water in the mountains is very clean and safe to drink. It must have been their policy to only offer bottled water there (it could vary according to which valley and region your hotel is located).

As for our room, we were told it was a suite, but it was in the smaller side for a suite. It would have been more than adequate for a couple, but for a family of four it was a little tight. I did really like the soap and shampoo they offered.

The hotel staff informed us before our arrival that the hotel was "on the slopes", in part this is true, but it is not the easiest area to navigate, especially for beginners or small children. We probably wouldn't return only because we would prefer something more convenient to the slopes for small children.

The hotel also offered a babysitting service daily from 4 pm to 10 pm, which came in handy to entertain the children for an hour or so before/after dinner. The children also enjoyed very much the horse drawn carriage ride that the hotel offered once a week.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkusP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were lucky enough to arrive during the week when it was wall to wall sunshine, blue skies and still very good snow. Staying in the dependance, we were maybe a little distant from the actual goings on in the hotel, so - for instance - we never met the owner. However, this was made up for by Anna, the receptionist who could not have been nicer. Our waiter, Carlo, was superb: entertaining, helpful, charming, child-friendly. He really made our breakfasts and dinners special. The dinners were delicious, the breakfasts a little monotonous, room for improvement here. Our accommodation was great - a very capacious apartment which was thoroughly cleaned every day and even our washing up was done for us! I had forgotten how beautiful the Dolomite area is - better than Whistler or Banff! Maybe more like Colorado. Certainly a very extensive ski area which compares very favourably with the Trois Vallees.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We are two families who ski together usually twice a year. We usually go to the French Alps with the usual tour operators but this year decided to try the Italian Dolomite's and after reading reviews booked this hotel in Arabba direct. We are very glad we did. The hotel is very reasonably priced compared to many 4 star equivalents in the French Alps.We flew into Verona with Monarch and the transfer takes in excess of 3 hours. Nearer airports are Venice or Innsbruck.When we arrived we were warmly greeted and shown to our rooms (standard rooms) which were spacious and well equipped with lots of storage space and a balcony. The ski room is also really good.The hotel is ski in and ski out for a competent blue/ red run skier and the skiing in the Italian Dolomite's is excellent ( we had lots of snow). It was February half term and although the Sella Ronda runs and lifts were quite busy once we skied into the resorts we had lovely tree lined runs quite often to ourselves. The views are amazing.
The food at the Alpenrose is excellent with plenty of choice for breakfast and a 5/6 course evening meal. Drinks were also very reasonable. We had a Ladin dinner on the final night with a tasting dessert buffet including a chocolate fountain which pleased our teenagers!
After skiing on Thursday the hotel put on an igloo party with free hot wine and apricot strudels which were delicious.
The wellness area in the hotel is excellent and was also not too busy considering it was half term.
All the staff in the hotel deliver excellent service but special mention to Deborah on Reception and Carlo our waiter who gave us some good advice on where to ski.
We will definitely return to the dolomite's and to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Well what can I say that is not in other reviews, this was our 1st ski holiday booked by our own travel agent aka Mrs Chorlton ! We are 2 families with 3 children 13, 14 and 16, and it lived up to all of our expectations. The staff and owners are all very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble, and the food is excellent, and if like myself you are vegetarian, if one of the many courses is not suitable the chef cooks an alternative, the service is very quick, but with 6 courses to get through, it is understandable. I cannot believe anyone leaves the table hungry. They cater for young children as well. The facilities are the best we have ever had at a ski hotel, rooms very roomy with plenty of space we had room 104 which had a fridge. The ski and boot room good and unlike others plenty of room to put on boots. Ski in and out is interesting along what is known as the path of death but don't be put off it is a 200m cross mountain path to the main slopes and the same coming back, it can get a little bumpy but is not difficult, and certainly does not reflect the regulars name for it. The wellness centre is similar to what can be experienced at some 4* hotels in the uk, less a pool, with a jacuzzi, steam room, fantastic multi spray showers and 2 saunas, one of which has soothing music and lights which change colour, and also heated chairs. Just be prepared some Europeans use the facilities naked. The hotel supplies a bath robe and sauna towels and flip flops for adults. This hotel is more than a 3* in our estimations. There is a pianist/organ player 2 nights a week, he is very entertaining and the hotel put on a canapés night and also an igloo party in the grounds, built by Dino the man who endlessly clears the snow, we sat round a log fire outside on fur rugs drinking gluhwein and eating apricot strudel. Arabba is not a lively après ski resort and is quite small but we go to ski not to party, Nd the Dolomites provides some of the most beautiful and dramatic scenery in Europe, with long tree lined runs with the rocks in the background, this rivals whistler in Canada. The skiing was hard this week as there is lots of snow and many runs were moguls but that is the fun, and when the weather is good you can cover. Lots of distance, a must is the hidden valley which you get to by skiing across to armentarola and then catching a bus 6€ per person, the runs and panoramic views are fantastic, for 2€ You can then be pulled by horses back, but be careful when it stops and aim for an outside position on the rope. There is no shortage of skiing for any ability and distance, and for feb half term, there were very few queues, apart from peak times on the sellaronda tour. We will definitely be returning to the Dolomites and this hotel, for summer or winter.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Fliss D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Delmongo Family of Hotel Alpenrose Arabba run a lovely, authentic, and efficient hotel with all the warmth and truly genuine hospitality one could wish for. The Multilingual staff are very attentive and really pleasant, even under extreme pressure. The Receptionist Celeste deserves a special mention.
Along with that authenticity the forte of this hotel is the food, with great breakfasts, excellent evening meals and top class waiting staff.
We feel we got lucky in finding this hotel, in fact part of me doesn't want to tell anyone else about it!
The special touches here are to many to mention but there is a lovely gentle "buzz" here at all times, we can't wait to go back!
Ps. it's right on the slopes, ski in - ski out!

Room Tip: We had a lovely comfort room with sofa and a large balcony, robes and flip flops are also provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deirdre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here the last week in January to visit family elsewhere in the resort and was overwhelmed with the management and service throughout my holiday.

The rooms are bright and spacious enough with almost everything provided including toiletries, Wi-Fi, large heated towel rail (there was an absence of UK TV channels) and the ski amenities in the basement are satisfactory.

The hotel offers true door-to-door skiing and sits just above the heart of Arabba, absolutely perfectly located for long days on the powder.

Where the Alpenrose really offers a USP is in every member of staff (without exception) wishing to assist and make your stay enjoyable. Notably Celeste on reception, who during the week had no end of issues to deal with owing to vast amounts of snow disrupting travel in and out of the resort. The prospect of staying additional days was treated with delight however, knowing one would be looked after so attentively.

6 (optional) courses available every evening with an extensive wine list, and 3 additionally special evenings offering a drinks reception, igloo party and traditional Ladin fare respectively were all very successful.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Alpenrose as a high standard ski hotel with charm, charisma and the most cordial service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed 2 weeks in an apartment just a short walk from the hotel. Originally planned to self-cater in week 2 but food was so great that we dined at hotel each and every night. Front desk staff Deborah and Celeste were always around, always helpful, friendly and cheerful. Waiting staff, led by Carlo (the Legend of the Dolomites) and not forgetting Vittorio, drinks from Felice, and Angela and Anna were all exceptionally attentive and professional. All the staff kept up a cheerful demeanour whilst working very hard in the busy Christmas to New Year period. Chef went to special trouble for Christmas and the NYE feasts. Also, we were especially impressed with the efforts to bake birthday cakes for guests who had birthday during their stay (including my son).
Great location right on the slopes. You can ski to and from the hotel and the apartment building. If you need a lift back up the hill from the centre of the village, you might be lucky enough to have Dino come in a classic carriage pulled by two charmingly bedecked horses.
We've travelled extensively. We know a good place and good people when we find them. We'll be going back.
BTW, the skiing around the SellaRonda was excellent too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoggieSpear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arabba hotels
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Arabba
Sporthotel Arabba
#5 of 14 in Arabba
273 reviews
2.3 mi away
Festungshotel Al Forte
Festungshotel Al Forte
#3 of 14 in Arabba
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#10 of 14 in Arabba
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Evaldo
Hotel Evaldo
#2 of 14 in Arabba
232 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Olympia
Hotel Olympia
#14 of 14 in Arabba
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Portavescovo
Hotel Portavescovo
#8 of 14 in Arabba
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenrose

Address: Via Precumon 24, 32020 Arabba, Livinallongo del Col di Lana, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Livinallongo del Col di Lana > Arabba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Arabba
Price Range: £114 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenrose 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alpenrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing