We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All that we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sporthotel Arabba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sporthotel Arabba
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Arabba
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“All that we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We booked dinner at the Sporthotel in the skiing season 2012. We were so impressed we booked to stay for a week in 2013.
The hotel was everything we expected. To get to the slopes, you only have to cross the road, closer than some other properties that have claimed to be ski-in ski-out. The standard room was plenty big enough and well fitted (pink marble in the bathroom). The spa facilities are great after a hard day's skiing, two saunas, steam room, jacuzzi and small pool. Massage and other therapies are also available.
Skis can be stored in you won allocated locker, complete with boot warmer. A card-operated door allows access straight from the car park.
The food was sumptuous with a comprehensive buffet breakfast and four-course dinner. Some evenings this was also augmented by pre-dinner canapés.
The staff were friendly and efficient making this a great all-round place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a slopeside room which might have been noisy given that the slopes are pisted at night. No pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    60
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
96
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

one of the best ski hotels we have stayed in, attention detail and very welcoming
plenty of choice for food, when you see the family dining in the restaurant you know you are on to a winner. spa area is a bit small, a full size pool would be the icing on the cake

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendawoods16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

There are ski hotels that may be more plush or located in " high end" resorts like St Moritz but if you are serious about skiing this is one of the best I have been to

Family owned,the staff are fantastic and can't do enough to help. Although the evening meal involves a buffet for starters,there is a wide choice of courses each night. The wine list is extensive with a real focus on the local region and a great selection of vintages

Our deluxe room was really a suite..separate bedroom area and spacious lounge. High speed Internet throughout the hotel( not always the case)

Ski in ski out with proper heated ski and boot locker

Amazing spa with whirlpool,two different saunas,steam room and heated waterbeds in relaxation area

Entertainment in the bar before dinner from a great vocalist

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room if you can..great to spread out a bit after a day on the slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UluruAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Food was really good. Room clean and comfortable and staff very friendly. The only complaint about the hotel is that they charge 4euros for bottled water at dinner when it's free at breakfast. Why isn't it free for both meals? However, I will still go back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pussnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The location is great if you want to use the Burz chairlift but be careful when crossing the road as the car park and road surface can be very icy...my hubby went a cropper in the middle of the road.....it was on the way out in the morning so we can't even blame too much Apres ski :-) If you want to use the Gondola you need to climb down quite a few steps, not a huge distance but a killer coming back up at the end of the day.
Our room was on the 3rd floor, lovely and spacious, very comfortable bed and wonderful jacuzzi shower and bath in a good sized bathroom.
The hotel staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant, always a smile and always very welcoming. The hotel bar has a pianist/singer playing most evenings creating a lovely atmosphere whilst you enjoy a pre-dinner drink or two. The wine list has to be one of the most extensive we've seen in a ski hotel, so many to choose from and something for every price range...if you like your wine you won't be disappointed. Our only slightly negative comment is that the quality of food was a bit hit and miss but perhaps we're being picky. The menu changed daily and you have a choice from 3 or 4 starters and main dishes, but the food was sometimes lacking in flavour and imagination.....plenty in terms of quantity but the quality varied quite a bit during the week. That being said, dinner was always a pleasant experience and the waiting staff were really friendly so overall dinner in the evening was always a pleasant experience. We would stay at this hotel if we decide to use Arabba as a ski base.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room away from the lift as appeared as though it could be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed at the Sporthotel for Christmas 2012 expecting a charming experience in a great location....We were not disappointed in any way. In fact, the hotel exceeded expectations on just about every level.

Keen skiers, location was important - the hotel is 50m from the piste.

The interior is full of character and charm - very traditional. The decor and cleanliness were without fault.

The bedroom was large with the added bonus of a balcony view over Arabba. Rooms were cleaned daily and towels also changed every day. Bathroom was classic/modern, a decent size and had a decent power shower.

Facilities: excellent spa with everything one might expect.

Food: simply outstanding - breakfast was varied and extensive. Dinner was definitely restaurant quality. The Christmas Eve feast (an 8 course affair) was undoubtedly one of the memorable culinary events we've experienced.

Last, but definitely not least was the service: exemplary - friendly, efficient and calm. Nothing seemed too much trouble and it is refreshing to feel a) that your custom was valued and, b) that one is made to feel genuinely welcome.

Comments have been made about the wine and the price. Well, there are several more reasonable offerings at around €15-€18. The hotel, though, has a considerable cellar that it prides itself on. Given the quality of the food, and the whole experience, be prepared to spend that little bit more would be my advice - there are some superb wines to be had.

All in all, I couldn't recommend the Sporthotel highly enough and certainly hope to return at some point.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkHunter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

This 4 star hotel had been recommended by another couple, and we booked it for a week's ski holiday. Not a bad decision! Location is good, and the quality of the building, fittings and furniture was excellent. The restaurant was beautifully appointed with a menu that should please most and helpful friendly staff that tried hard to meet the needs of their clients. The bedrooms are well-equipped and very comfortable, and most have a mountain view.
The only slight niggles I had were: the piano bar for aperitivs was lovely, but only had a pianist playing on one out of seven evenings - despite the brochure promising 7/7. And, there was a definite shortage of waiting staff in the bars and lounges. Fetching our own drinks from the bar sounds more like an English pub than a four star hotel.
Also, we (and several other couples) complained about the noisy drunken Polish men in the bedroom corridor outside our room at 1 - 3.30am over several nights. It took more than 48 hours for the hotel to approach the Poles and get them to be quiet. The hotel night porter on the first night it happened just shrugged the incident off!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arabba hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#1 of 14 in Arabba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Evaldo
Hotel Evaldo
#2 of 14 in Arabba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Portavescovo
Hotel Portavescovo
#8 of 14 in Arabba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Festungshotel Al Forte
Festungshotel Al Forte
#4 of 14 in Arabba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malita
Hotel Malita
#3 of 14 in Arabba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#13 of 14 in Arabba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Arabba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Arabba

Property: Sporthotel Arabba
Address: Via Mesdi' 76, 32020 Arabba, Livinallongo del Col di Lana, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Livinallongo del Col di Lana > Arabba
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Arabba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arabba
#5 Spa Hotel in Arabba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sporthotel Arabba 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sporthotel Arabba is located in Arabba-Livinallongo, surrounded by the most beautiful peaks of the Dolomites, at the feet of the imposing Sella and Marmolada, in the heart of the famous Dolomiti Superski ski domain, connected to the hotel by a nearby ski lift. The hotel is an ideal choice both for snow holidays and for trekking and mountain biking. The house offers wonderful interiors with wooden furniture, lounge room with fireplace, and a cozy and sophisticated atmosphere. All rooms and suites have telephone, flat TV with Sky channels and digital terrestrial channels, safe, hairdryer, Wi-Fi internet access free, panoramic view. The exclusive restaurant, listed in the Michelin guide, serves international and local specialties, to enjoy also in the romantic Stube Bianca, open to the public. Moreover: romantic and well-furnished wine cellar, ski room with boot dryer, game room, Internet-point and free Wi-Fi with ADSL. Relax in the wellness center provided with Finnish sauna, bio-sauna, calidarium, tepidarium, aromatic showers, whirlpool with swimming machine, and Techno gym fitness room. Massages, beauty treatments and solarium upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sporthotel Arabba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Arabba Hotel Arabba
Sporthotel Hotel Arabba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing