We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountin hotel”
Review of Hotel Evaldo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Evaldo
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Arabba
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mountin hotel”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I will start with restaurant , because I think that is hotel's hard point. The brekfast is very good and the dinner is great . The restaurant is some times very laudy , but this is not to blame the hotel staff. Regarding the staff , is very helpfull , the second very good point. Another very good think is the shutle to and from the slopes . It is very helpfull . Now , the sauna . It has evry thing it needs for a good sauna , but the space . That's why it is not confortable, but it is OK . Regarding the massage , they are realy good . BUT , the swimingpool , practic , for me , imposible to use . Even the space is nice , is so laudy , that you can not listen to yourself . Terrible. They have to do something . The room . I do not know all the rooms , but mine was not great . Dark , with a small window , sad , with a small bathroom and a smaller shower , was not nice at all . I think they have better rooms . Avoid 333 . By the way , I did not uderstend the green light flashing all the time on the ceiling . It killd me on the night . Very unconfortable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    46
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
75
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Hotel Evaldo is run impeccably by Cristina and her family. Every detail is personally and directly overseen. We seemed to be among the only 'first-timers' at this gem of a hotel. Our room was beautiful and spacious and the beds, duvets and furnishings were of an excellent standard. Best of all, our room was remarkably quiet even though the hotel was completely full.

The dining room (we ate in the smaller one) was lovely, the food service efficient and the food quality excellent in its variety and presentation. The buffet of starters and salads was plentiful and enticing; there was also a two-course main menu with 3 or 4 choices in each course and a dessert buffet. The dinner service, like every other detail of the hotel, was again personally overseen by the owners and the hospitality is amazing. My husband received a surprise cake on the night of his birthday - a lovely and entirely unexpected touch and an indication of Cristina's meticulous hospitality.

The ski room is easy to use, heated and spacious, even with a full hotel. We were concerned about the distance to the lifts (about 500m) but the minibus service was actually more efficient and more comfortable than carrying skis to the piste from the hotel located much closer to the actual piste (where we stayed last year). Transportation to the slopes was virtually on-demand and we never waited more than five minutes to be delivered to / collected form the piste.

Arabba has truly exceptional skiing. It appeals to those who like to ski - the village does not have shopping or apres-ski to note, just a great variety of perfectly groomed, reasonably challenging and varied slopes with numerous modern lifts, charming mountain restaurants and access to neighboring ski areas and the sella ronda tour our the Dolomites.

Even at the opening of the season when we last visited, the Hotel Evaldo was full - for a reason. We found it to be comfortable, professionally run and of excellent value. In the past we have been tempted by other lodgings in Arabba but having stayed at the Hotel Evaldo, it is now manifestly clear that others simply do not compare. Cristina is a superb hotelier and host and she makes the Hotel Evaldo Number 1 in Arabba and not only there...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonBeachFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Visited the Evaldo for the 4th time at the end of September 2013. It was a good as ever with friendly staff, great food and an excellent wellness centre. The end of season offer on the rooms made them very good value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are best for all day sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonWilliamsHightrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I will keep this short as there are NO negatives. The hotel is fabulous, the food fantastic with plenty of choices, the staff professional and friendly, the rooms spacious and clean and the wellness centre is monitored by a nice lady who keeps the noise down!! I recommend this hotel 100% and if I return to this area (which is a little quieter than I would have liked) I will not hesitate to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a family suite which had a balcony towards the back of the hotel. Our family room was really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 160Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Amazing hotel in the best ski resort - Arabba. Food in the Evaldo hotel was the highlight of our ski trip, great mixture of Italian and local specialities. Friendly and helpfull staff, cozy rooms and nice atmosphere. We are definitely coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristensenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My wife reminds me that I say that about a lot of places. Arabba is a small, charming village between Cortina and Canazei. Options for meals and services are skimpy, but the village itself is post-card beautiful. It's one main street that follows the narrow route to Passo Pordoi at 6700 feet. We were there in September so things were really quiet. That's good because you can get the feel of the place. The Elvado is a great family-run hotel and they could not work harder to make our stay more pleasant. We arrived mid-afternoon in a downpour (the rest of our stay was cloudless) and they prepared some lunch in the bar to help us make it to dinner. They provided good information about places to go and things to see. A lot of lifts were already shutting down so being able to know that in advance helped a lot. We'd been to the Dolomites and we had some definite ideas of what we wanted to do this trip. The hotel was very good about showing us the "realistic" side of our plans. Unless you'll be off until the wee hours, choose a dinner plan...very reasonable, the service excellent, and the food wonderful. Breakfast is terrific and the bar is a fine place to relax a bit. Our room is a suite (#228) with a comfortable bedroom and a larger sitting room that opens to a deck with a view of the mountains and the sounds of a fast mountain stream. (Yes, there's a lift.) Walk the town and dream about how wonderful it would be to live here at 4800 feet. If you're driving, we found no local gas stations on the road to Cortina or Canazei so fill-up before you get close. Gotta be some, but we never saw any. If you go to Canazei, don't miss Mt. Marmolada to the south. If you're courageous, grab the "bucket lift". Continue on to Sottoguda and admire the steel birds that are everywhere. Loop on back to Arabba or just keep poking around. In Cortina, take the time to drive the loop road north and then east and quickly turning south through Lake Misurina, ending up back in town. Stunning. (see my photo) There are several places to stay in Arabba, but we loved the feel and service at Hotel Elvado. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just returned from a week at the beginning of April. I would echo everything that has been said before. Our room was huge although the bathroom a little small but adequate. The food and wine were fantastic and the staff extremely helpful and friendly. I didn't use the pool and spa but husband said they were excellent for this standard of hotel. Great ski and boot room. I wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend this hotel to anyone.
Incidentally, the hotel is well placed for the ski lifts. There is a very efficient minibus service but the lifts are only a short walk anyway. Arabbas own ski area is very good for its size and the links to the Sella Ronda and Marmolada glacier are excellent. The whole area is extremely beautiful with wide uncrowded pistes and not a single queue, even over the Easter weekend when the snow conditions were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzanneBowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arabba hotels
0.3 mi away
Sporthotel Arabba
Sporthotel Arabba
#5 of 14 in Arabba
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#1 of 14 in Arabba
311 reviews
1.7 mi away
Festungshotel Al Forte
Festungshotel Al Forte
#3 of 14 in Arabba
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#13 of 14 in Arabba
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malita
Hotel Malita
#4 of 14 in Arabba
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Portavescovo
Hotel Portavescovo
#9 of 14 in Arabba
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Evaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Evaldo

Property: Hotel Evaldo
Address: Via Mesdi' 3, 32020 Arabba, Livinallongo del Col di Lana, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Livinallongo del Col di Lana > Arabba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arabba
#2 Spa Hotel in Arabba
#3 Family Hotel in Arabba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Evaldo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Evaldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evaldo Hotel Arabba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing