We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel for roadcycling in the Dolomites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Festungshotel Al Forte
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Arabba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed in Festungshotel Al Forte in May 2013 for roadcycling in the Dolomites. The roads and Passes around Arabba are all very picturesqe and thereforea heaven on earth for cyclists.

If you would like to stay in a hotel from which you could to walk in to the centre of the village, this is not the case.The road to the village (that is 4km from the hotel) is very busy and without a sidewalk.

The hotel is full of character. The Room was very nice and clean. From the balcony we could enjoy in the views over the mountines. The Wi-Fi access is not for free. You have to pay 1 eur for 3 days. Unfortunately we couldn't enjoy in the Wellness becouse the facilityes were rather small and therefore very busy. The fee for sandals and bathrobes is 8 eur/person and the whirlpool costs aditional 8 eur/person.

We signed up for the 1/2 board option and were not disappointed. The restaurant (in the old fort part of the hotel) serves up wonderful food in beauitful surroundings. The waiter in the restaurant and the waitress in the bar work constantly to make you feel welcome. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

For cyclists there is an underground room to store your bike securely in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Festungshotel Al Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review about our Hotel Al Forte. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Arabba and that you could appreciate the rooms, the spectacular view offered by the rooms, the spotless.
We also would like to thank you for the compliments to the staff and to the restaurant: our main goal is to let feel our guest like at home.
We just would clarify some aspects of your review:
- the hotel is just 2,9 km from Arabba and not 4;
- there are some sidewalk to reach the center, please next time ask info to the reception and they will show you;
- the wifi connection is always for free;
- next time, we would like to reccomend you to book a Junior Suite or a Suite in order to enjoy the free sandals and bathrobes and whirlpool.
Thank you again and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Lovely hotel. 4* quality. So clean, comfortable beds, massive bathroom. We were in a spacious room for three people. We had a lovely view from our balcony.
The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough to help us. The waiter has a particularly good dry sense of humour.
I didn't use the spa as 1) we were busy sightseeing and 2) I was with my daughter and it was full of men, however it looked very nice. On a previous trip my husband used it and rates it highly. Like a grotto with lots of candles.
We were half board and enjoyed delicious self serve breakfasts (the coffee was good despite coming from a machine - not your usual kind of machine.) There were cold meats, cheeses, donuts, croissants, yoghurt, fruit as well as scrambled eggs and bacon. In the evening we enjoyed two delicious 3 course meals from the set menu. Large portions. There is also an A la carte menu.
We spent a lot of time in the bar too. No cocktails although on the menu but a good gin and tonic. Drinks come with bowl of nibbles.
Highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again. My husband after two visits rates it even higher than me.

For cyclists there is an underground room to store your bike securely in.

Room Tip: I should all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha6319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Festungshotel Al Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

It's a big pleasure reading your kind message about our Hotel Al Forte and we are very happy to know that our hotel satisfied all your needs and offered all the services necessary to spend a nice holiday.
We would like to thank you for the beautiful words about the staff, the hotel and the restaurant.
We do our best to let our guest feel like at home and it's a big joy to receive reply.
We look forward from seeing you again for a new holiday in Arabba and wish you all the best.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Small, spotless, beautifully decorated hotel, efficiently run by young husband and wife team. Very good restaurant and inviting bar in adjacent restored pre-WW1 military fortification. Spa. Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVOdio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Festungshotel Al Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review about our Hotel Al Forte and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Arabba.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday and that you appreciated the hotel and the restaurant as well.
Thanks also for the compliments addressed to the team.
We look forward from hosting you again for a new holiday in Arabba and wish you kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

A great hotel, tucked away in a quiet position. The food is very good and is served in an old fort, with loads of character. The weekly 'Ladin' evening was a special touch, with staff in traditional costumes and a candle lit entrance up the stone staircase.
All staff were most courteous and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them.
The access to the skiing is via a shuttle minibus, but this was never a problem for us. Even when we wanted to return to the hotel early, we only had to use the free phone from the main square and the bus came to meet us - brilliant.
The overall impression is that this is a 4* rather than a 3* Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite, which was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Festungshotel Al Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel al Forte for your holiday in Arabba and for writing this beautiful review.
We are very happy that you apprecited the location, the food, and the traditional atmosphere.
Thanks a lot for the compliments to the staff : we always do our best in order to let our guests feel like at home and give them all the comfort and the services needed.
We really hope to host you again for a new holiday and take the occasion to wish you all the best.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We arrived to a very friendly staff, clean and comfortable room with a fantastic view of the valley and mountains. We signed up for the 1/2 board option and were not disappointed - the food was delicious and plentiful. We feel we found a gem away from home at the Al Forte and we look forward to returning this fall for another wonderful week of cycling in the Dolomites.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Festungshotel Al Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Thank you so much for your beautiful review and for choosing our Hotel al Forte for your stay in Arabba. We are happy to know that the hotel was nice and that you found the room clean and confortable.
In addition it's a pleasure to know that you appreciated our cuisine and that the staff was friendly and available to satisfy your requests.
We look forward from seeing you soon for a new holiday in the Dolomites.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Nice place I can reccomend for everyone. If you are a biker you can find a soulmate. Lovely neighbourhood and best, picturesqe roads and corners. Dolomites are fantastic during wintertime as well.I think hotel deserves more than three stars. There is no pool and distance to nearest boutique is unknown but for us, bikers this area is our heaven on earth end exept good weather,
what is rather normal here we dont need eny more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank My-vfr800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Festungshotel Al Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words about our Hotel Al Forte and for writing your review on this website.
We are very glad to know that you spent a nice time here in Arabba and that you enjoyed your bike excursions on the mountains. It has been a big pleasure to host you here in Arabba and we look forwards from seeing you soon for a new holiday.
Kind Regards and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

As other reviews have stated this hotel merits four stars, the only reasons it is not awarded them is may be its a little to far out of town and it has no pool but believe me in every other way it is four star. Guido and his wife Deborah run with thier staff a spotlessly clean hotel which is full of character. The restaurant (in the old fort part of the hotel) serves up wonderful food in beauitful surroundings. Neno in the restaurant and Gabriella in the bar work constantly to make you feel welcome. The bedrooms are also spotless with nice bathrooms and flat screen TV. Only thing missing is a kettle and tea ond coffee (so if you like a drink in your room take a travel kettle) The hotel mini bus worked perfectly and if you required transport outside of the time table for the ski lifts all you need to do is pick up the free phone in the town center and call, five minuites later you will be picked up. The hotel also supply a nice warm ski and boot room. My wife and I did not use the wellness center but it looked stunning. All in all I can't say a bad word about this hotel I just hope you all stay away so we can book our room again next year. Guido and Deborah, thank you once again for a great stay, See you both next year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelaketahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Festungshotel Al Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thank you so much for your beautiful review about our Hotel al Forte and for choosing our house between the different hotels in Arabba.
We are very happy to know that you spent a nice holiday and that you enjoyed the hotel and the services offered.
Thanks a lot also for all the compliments to the food, the restaurant and the cleanliness.
We try to take care about every detail in order to let our guests to feel like at home .
It will be a big pleasure to host you again next year and for sure we will have a room for you!!
Kind regards and take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arabba hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose
Hotel Alpenrose
#1 of 14 in Arabba
320 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sporthotel Arabba
Sporthotel Arabba
#5 of 14 in Arabba
266 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Evaldo
Hotel Evaldo
#2 of 14 in Arabba
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Genziana
Hotel Genziana
#10 of 14 in Arabba
116 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Portavescovo
Hotel Portavescovo
#8 of 14 in Arabba
160 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Malita
Hotel Malita
#3 of 14 in Arabba
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Festungshotel Al Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Festungshotel Al Forte

Address: Localita Pezzei 66, 32020 Arabba, Livinallongo del Col di Lana, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Livinallongo del Col di Lana > Arabba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arabba
#4 Spa Hotel in Arabba
#5 Family Hotel in Arabba
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arabba
Price Range: £97 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Festungshotel Al Forte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Arabba, small and quiet paradise of the Dolomites, Hotel Al Forte looks like the ideal place for those looking for a peaceful, relaxing and calming holiday.The romantic, family and harmonious atmosphere will accompany you during the entire stay.It is the ideal place for lovers of sport and wellness, for those traveling alone or with friends, families or groups of friends. Immerse yourself in a relaxing stay, away from everyday life, where you can rediscover the pleasure of the senses and the palate.The pristine and healthy alpine nature will be your frame and make you feel like in a dream.Hospitality, good food, family and relaxation await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Festungshotel Al Forte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Arabba
Arabba Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing