We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Trattoria di Montemagno
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Calci
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Giuliano Terme
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Since I live a few kms away I go to this family-owned restaurant pretty often. This is a gem of a restaurant, probably the best value for money of the entire Pisa area. The place is simple and unsophisticated, as its cuisine, but the quality is great and prices are very low, even for Italian standards. A typical complete dinner, including wine and coffee, will be under 25 Euros, and will leave you satisfied. A must.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabrizio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    148
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leitrim
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mountain Village Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Well worth making the trip to this hillside Trattoria, great food and great value. Amazing sunsets too

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Hydroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ciò che vorresti non cambiasse mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I visited with some colleagues Trattoria di Montemagno. That wasn't my first time. I had already been there with my family twice in the last years. Practical faces excellent foods. Try to imagine the best success of your recipe at home. Well, they are able to serve it at your table with the difference that some of the dishes, even if originating from popular tradition, are no longer present on our tables. They have to keep the price within the economic standard, otherwise other matters would spoil their success. In spring or summer Booking is necessary.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ettore m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Austere, good food, excellent value for money, in a Medieval village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

You need to be told where this place is, and you will still search for it; hint: It is the tiny brown door in the corner of the (only) piazza in Montemagno. The surprise is to find it full of guests on a Tuesday.
The style is simple. Paper napkins and traditional water glasses (also for the wine; you're in the countryside here!). No menu to hold in your hand; what has been made today is written on a blackboard. You want something else, you need to go somewhere else.
One antipasto, four primi, four secondi, and three contorni. What more do you need?
The selection of wines consist of red (tastes like a young Chianti) and white (a Vermentino?). What more do you need?
The food is simple (in the sense: Not overly elaborate; no artistic flowers drawn as black strokes of balsamico on huge plates. But the tastes are focused, to the point, and with no frills.
You'll have a proper Italian cena for 25 euro.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tageSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stateline, Nevada
Level Contributor
420 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“You'll never find this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We ate here with my cousin who has a summer home in Calci. This is an out of the way place and always packed.

We had several appetizers, four entrees and four desserts.

Overall the service was good. This is a family run operation and the restaurant is cozy.

I tried all five entrees. They were great. I’m sorry I don’t remember what we had but each was cooked properly, flavorful and a good portions.
The first courses of food were all tasty and very good.

The bill for five with two bottles of wine was about 125 Euros. Not bad for what we ordered. A lot different from the cost in the large cities of Italy.

If you are ever in the area and can find this place I would stop. OH between Pisa and Lucca that might help

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria di Montemagno also viewed

 
Calci, Province of Pisa
Calci, Province of Pisa
 
Vicopisano, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Trattoria di Montemagno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing