We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another memorable meal here”

Trattoria di Montemagno
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Calci
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Another memorable meal here”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

For the second time this year, we ate at this Trattoria while staying at the Antica Toscana B&B, just 2 minutes walk away. It's such a find - brilliant food at a low, low price and very good local wine, served in carafe-bottles. This time we especially loved the antipasti misti which included brilliant slices of the most delcate and perfectly-herbed frittata and a great crostata with figs and walnuts for pudding. The place is pleasantly busy and a-buzz without being frenetic and the warm, easy ambience and terrific food make for a great experience. The perfect end to our fortnight in Italy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    151
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neuss, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Finally real Italian style”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had dinner at Trattoria di Montemagno and were delighted not to be stuffed in a restaurant with many other tourists. The food was quite plain but very delicious. The wine was really good and very cheap. The service personal seems a bit unkind at first sight, turns out they are not. Plus if you get up the hill to Montemagno you have a spectacular view of the valley. Worth a trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haubitze87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Completely wonderful”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We went here while staying at the Antica Toscana B&B in Montemagno - the two make a great combination. This was the best meal of our week-long holiday in Tuscany. This small, unpretentious place - family-run and with no-frills - turns out the most fabulous, authentic, beautifully-cooked food. 5 of us ate - with copious amounts of excellent red house wine (decanted into bottles without labels - loved that!) - for 75 euros including a generous tip. The place is full of conversational buzz - cheerful but not noisy, mostly Italian people eating the night we were there. The food was extraordinarily good - especially the rabbit, the meatballs in lemon and the Melanzane Parmigiano. The roast potatoes were sublime, the caponata excellent. And oh! that pudding of crostata with ricotta, pine-nuts and sultanas.... It was so good, we're already planning to go again in September.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and good prices”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We had a really tasty three course dinner, including a bottle of nice red wine, for only 20 euros each. Our starters were homemade thick hearty soup and penne with octopus, followed by guinea fowl in creamy onion sauce and stew with green beans. Puddings were also delicious, freshly made crepe with chocolate and vin santo with almond biscuits - yum!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAJGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovigo
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“La vera Italia..sigh!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The best food experience that I had during my visit to Pisa. Low prices for fantastic food, that reminds me of real italian village inns...fantastic. These are the places which make me regret of having left Italy!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreaRossoblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria di Montemagno also viewed

 
Calci, Province of Pisa
San Giuliano Terme, Province of Pisa
 
Vicopisano, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Trattoria di Montemagno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing