We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Molendino B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Molendino B&B
Ranked #1 of 22 Calci B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 4 incredible nights at Il Molendino! From the moment we arrived, Fabiola, Stefano, and Igor went above and beyond in making us feel welcome - picking us up when we got lost, offering us fresh pastries and coffee upon our arrival, and offering to cook us dinner. And what we thought would be a "simple" dinner turned into one of the best meals we had during our whole stay in Italy. We enjoyed it so much that we asked Fabiola to cook us our final meal the night before we left and not surprising, she completely out did herself. The room was gorgeous - nicely decorated, clean, hot shower and with all the amenities one would need for a stay in the Tuscan country side. And the B&B itself was just so picturesque! The breakfasts were also incredible - fresh meats, cheese, pastries, fruit salad (my favourite!), fresh cakes made daily and coffee, teas, and/or cappuccino to order. Stefano and Igor were also very accommodating of the fact that we didn't have a car and required a lot of help getting around - it was also on one of those car rides that we go to meet his adorable daughter Kiera! Never in our lives have we experienced such incredible service. We had so many wonderful memories at Il Molendino and hope to some day return. If you're going to Tuscany then there is no better place to stay then Il Molendino! 5+++ Stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
146
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

The place is magical !! It all looks like a poem  Everything in Il Molendino has its charm and seems to be in a right place. The owners are extremely nice and helpful.
It's location is also perfect, aside form all the bustle but within a short car ride from any tourist highlists of this part of Tuscany. Thank you again for making our short and intense stay in Tuscany so delightful!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

I have just spent the past 5 days staying at this accommodation and it is wonderful. Three of us were sharing the two bedroom apartment style accommodation - it is roomy and well setup. The settings are gorgeous and it is a wonderful location for quickly getting to other must see destinations in Italy - only a couple of hours drive from Siena and a very worthwhile 30 minute drive to Lucca.

The hosts provide a breakfast if you require it, and if you give them a days notice will share a family dinner with you too. They leave you alone but are very warm and welcoming, and you can pop up whenever you like to ask for information and directions. They recommended some restaurants for us to try and when necessary did the bookings for us.

The setting is just perfect and I would highly recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rt_zooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, had a very large and nice room. The location is wonderful and the hosts are extremely nice. Pisa and Lucca are only 20 minutes away (by car) and the beach is also close. For us it was the perfect place to start our Tuscany expedition.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angi k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bermagui
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in the nicest room I have ever slept in - architecturally it was just perfect - everything you dream of when you think of Tuscany - the proportions and authentic details were just right. With the beautiful linen and fantastic service it was definitely 5 star - incredible value for money.

And Fabiola and Stefan were just such lovely people - no signs whatsoever of being jaded when we made all our obscure requests for help on directions and phone cards and babysitting etc etc etc Fabiola's recommendations for restaurants were spot on. They were both so welcoming to our children too.

Il Molendino is a short stroll to the village of Calci which is perfect for dinner without having to take out the car - something you don't always find while being in a rural setting. Our son loved the nearby museum of Natural History (dinosaurs) and the monastry is so close too.

We were referred by friends in Australia who were referred from friends in Ireland and trip advisor reviews just confirm everything we were told. We hope we can come back again one day and stay for longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murrahjeeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed in Molendino during our trip to Tuscany and we had a really great time there. We are a family with 6yo son and we spent four nights in this wonderful house. Fabiola and Stefano who are the hosts are very hospitable and helpful. The owners allow guests to feel like home and very casually. The house is located in peaceful and safe place with vast and magic garden - children would feel really great there. Around the house you will find a lot of walking/running tracks and some local restaurants with superb food. The rooms are very clean and decorated with style and care about details. The common kitchen is very well equiped and spacious. We would recommend il Molendino to everybody who want to have splendid time in Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lukasz_jadczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Our four day stay was a delight despite record-breaking heat. The old mill has been updated for guest comfort while retaining the character of several hundred years. Our room was spacious, secluded and perfectly appointed for a comfortable stay. The beautiful bed linens added to the "lux" feel. We loved the generous and varied breakfasts with pastries made by the hostess using ingredients from their orchard and garden. Her dinners were even better--a four course seafood dinner prepared from squid, mussels and fish she drove to the Pisa coast to purchase from fishermen was amazing. The location was handy for side trip to various Tuscan sites. We drove when visiting villages and rode the train into Florence for a hassle-free day. We appreciated tips on good places to dine and sites to see. Gracious hosts and a lovely location made our visit perfect.

Room Tip: Nice options for families or couples/singles. Kitchen (with original cooking stove which is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calci
4.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,604 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bed and Breakfast San Francesco
1.1 mi away
Gli Olivi B&B
Gli Olivi B&B
#3 of 22 in Calci
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Il Giardino della Pieve
Il Giardino della Pieve
#1 of 23 in Cascina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Cribo
Bed and Breakfast Cribo
#1 of 36 in San Giuliano Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B VillAmorosa
B&B VillAmorosa
#2 of 22 in Calci
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Molendino B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Molendino B&B

Property: Il Molendino B&B
Address: Via Nicosia 1, 56011, Calci, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Calci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Calci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Calci, B&B Il Molendino is a 17th-century stone farmhouse surrounded by the Tuscan countryside, a 20-minute drive from Pisa. It offers rustic accommodation with free Wi-Fi.All rooms and apartments at Molendino have wood-beamed ceilings and wrought-iron beds. They are air conditioned and decorated with classic rugs. Apartments also feature a private entrance and furnished patio. The large garden surrounding the property has barbecue facilities and seating areas. A bike rental service is available for visiting the area. Il Molendino B&B is just 200 metres from a bus stop linking with Pisa. A shuttle service for Pisa Galileo Galilei Airport can be organised (15 EUROS). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Il Molendino B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Molendino B&B Calci, Italy - Province Of Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing