We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Tuscan countryside and the great accommodations made for a great vacation.”
Review of Torre a Cona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torre a Cona
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The Tuscan countryside and the great accommodations made for a great vacation.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This part of Italy is absolutely beautiful. The house we stayed in was well equipped and clean and spacious. The views of the country side were amazing and it was a short drive to Florence. We purchased several bottles of the wine made on the estate and it was excellent. The staff was exceptionally accommodating. I would
highly recommend Torre A
Cona to anyone who would enjoy the peace and quiet of the country close to Florence.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    35
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Four days at Torre a Cona was exactly what we needed to unwind and relax. Endless beauty surrounding us, beautiful weather, friendly staff, great wine and food. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and beautiful. Wine tasting at Torre a Cona was intimate and came with delicious food. Great location to explore Florence, Greve and other wineries.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank India S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was our second visit to Torre a Cona in six years. This time , we stayed in Giardino for 13 nights and loved every moment of the trip. The villa was spacious, well appointed and impeccably clean. The kitchen was well equipped.

Most mornings we would get fresh bread and pastries from the local panetteria in the village and sip our coffee in the garden overlooking the rolling countryside and Casentino mountains in the distance. The surroundings of Torre a Cona are beautiful with its olive groves and nearby vineyards.

We also discovered some local country lanes , car free, which were ideal for walking and jogging ( The SP1 which runs from Bagno a Ripoli to Incisa through the village of San Donato is narrow and quite busy).

The poolside area is surrounded by old stone walls covered with vines and flowers. The ambiance is lovely, especially as the owners have set up rattan sofa and chairs under the trees to the side of the pool. Great for reading and relaxing with a glass of Torre a Cona chianti!

Mariana and Livia at reception were stars. They helped us book museums in Florence and local restaurants. And, they were great giving us directions as we didn't always trust our GPS!

Torre a Cona also provides a catering service . Angela, who prepares the meals in Torre a Cona's kitchens, prepared us a superb mix of antipasti, primi platti and secondi platti for our return from Florence one night.We highly recommend trying this.

A car is really indispensable for both local outings to the village and for further afield. Torre a Cona is exceptionally well situated for visiting Florence (30 minutes). We visited Arezzo, Cortona, Sienna, the Chianti district and Volterra. Nowhere was further than an hour and a half drive.

We found our trip offered everything we wanted - exquisite art and culture, good food and wine, friendly people, beautiful countryside. We are already planning to return next year with family and friends!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Edyckxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very enjoyable stay, quiet tranquil and breathtakingly beautiful. Close to Florence too, and easy drive down. Enjoyed having facilities to buy local food and be able to stay and cook in accommodation. Layout gave you privacy with additional benefit of your own garden area to enjoy the surrounding countryside. Enjoyed my stay immensely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbrook, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in Fienile for 7 nights and loved every minute of it! The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the views of the Tuscan countryside were fantastic! We had a rental car and we wouldn't have wanted to be there without one. We were able to make the short drive to Florence as well as drive to the many small, charming towns in the area. We spent one day relaxing at the beautiful swimming pool. The kitchen was well equipped and perfect for the simple Italian meals we were inspired to make. The staff was wonderful to us during our stay. We LOVED the wine, olive oil and olives that are products of Torre a Cona. I hope to go back some day and will not hesitate to stay at Torre a Cona.

Room Tip: Our 'apartment' was very comfortable. The two full baths are downstairs and so loft bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a lovely villa located in the grounds of an estate that produces wine and olive oil. It has spectacular views out over the olive groves and vineyards.

It is only 10km out of Florence and worth the short drive to escape the crowds after a day of sight seeing. It served as a good base to explore Tuscany as well.

We received excellent service! Above and beyond! I can not stress enough how helpful and friendly the staff were during our stay.

I recommend you hire a car, during your stay. There is a bus stop in the nearby town, but it is difficult to get to up a narrow road. Plus it was lovely exploring the nearby countryside! The staff recommended a local car hire from which we received excellent service for half the price of bigger brands in Florence.

It was one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our stay at Torre a Cona was the worst part of our vacation. The staff was not available for the majority of our stay, and when we did get in touch with them, they were rude. We were planning to do a winery tour and other activities they advertised on their website, but we couldn't get in touch with any staff members until the 3rd day of our 4 day stay. At that time, they told us it was too late to book anything we wanted because we didn't give them enough notice - even though I informed them in an email many weeks before we arrived of the activities we wanted to do. With that said, our room was nice, and the location/scenery was great. If it weren't for the fact that we had a rental car and could day-trip to Florence, our stay here would have been a complete waste of time. While the situation may be better in spring/summer, our October stay was regrettable and we would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torreacona, Direttore at Torre a Cona, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, we appreciate so much your contribution. We are sorry you didn't like your stay. Concerning the problems you mentioned, as we are not an hotel, our Reception is open from 9 to 5 from monday to saturday and sunday from 9 to1 pm and our Receptionists are usually nice and helpfull, we are sorry if you had a bad feeling.
Concerning activies, we usually have to book them in advance and we know this could be a problem to schedule before. We are know working to have some of them every week on site.
I know you have had a wine tasting on the monday afternoon and I hope that has been to your liking. It' is our commitment to try to do better and improve our services.
Thank you again for your contribution .
Yours Faithfully
Livia Curioni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rignano sull'Arno
3.6 mi away
Il Palagio
Il Palagio
#1 of 2 in Rignano sull'Arno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
10.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
9.0 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fattoria Pagnana
Fattoria Pagnana
#1 of 20 in Rignano sull'Arno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.2 mi away
Borgo di Casagrande
Borgo di Casagrande
#5 of 20 in Rignano sull'Arno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Poggio Tre Lune
Villa Poggio Tre Lune
#4 of 20 in Rignano sull'Arno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre a Cona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre a Cona

Property: Torre a Cona
Address: Torre a Cona 49 | San Donato in Collina, 50067, Rignano sull'Arno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Rignano sull'Arno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Rignano sull'Arno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre a Cona 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hilltop in the heart of the Florentine hills, 10 km only from Florence, Torre a Cona has a stunning view over the surrounding countryside. The estate offers lovely rural houses and apartments (from 2 to 14 persons) recently renovated, next to a 17th century Villa in a green and quiet countryside. They have been carefully restored keeping their special farmhouse character and have been tastefully furnished in Tuscan rustic style; there are beamed ceilings and terracotta floors. They all have well equipped kitchens, dishwashers, washing machines, color TV, kitchen ware and linens. Each of them has a private outdoor shaded sitting area with garden furniture and barbecue. The swimming pool (mt 9x8) has been built in a historic site next to a 17th century tower and is open from May to September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Torre a Cona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre a Cona Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing