We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?”
Review of Torre a Cona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre a Cona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

On arriving at this property you will be overwhelmed by the magnificent house that greets you and the impressive panoramic views which are breathtaking. We stayed at Torre a Cona for fourteen nights during the first two weeks of August. Our accommodation was called Giardino and located within Casa Villa which can be found down a pretty olive tree lined track. Our apartment was beautifully furnished with one off pieces of antique furniture with an extremely spacious kitchen. The staff we came into contact with were especially helpful, friendly and informative.

Torre a Cona is ideally located within the heart of the Chianti region and within easy reach of Pisa, Lucca, Sienna and Florence. All of which we visited on many occasions soaking up the culture, art, history, food and tuscan scenery.

We had a suberb holiday which was enjoyed by the whole family and we hope to return next summer!!

Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 864TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Torre a Cona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have had a lovely stay at this location, we had the 'picollo' appartment which is on the ground floor. The appartment itself is large for 2 people, a good bed, working appliances, a tv which let us view the World Championship footbal :)
The swimming pool is a short walk but on a nice location. People are really friendly and talk english.

There are 2 downsides to this appartment:
- No nice view from this appartment because it looks out on the back.
- Noisy building, when people walk & talk through the hallway and in the appartment above you it is not pretty. You can hear people moving there chairs, turning on the dishwasher etc.

Room Tip: The picollo appartment is quite noisy because it is on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank JMF198555555555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at Torre A Cona for 4 days during our Paris-Venice-Tuscany-Rome trip; and we were extremely happy that we did. It was a perfect spot to “check out” of the busy cosmopolitan life of Paris and tourist trap of Venice. Thanks to Livia and the team, our 4 days were packed with activities but our stay at Torre A Cona was like a “home away from home” experience.

The homie experience was due to the fact that we stayed at the “Fienile Barn.” It has all the amenities of a house. The vista is specular no matter which side of the barn you look out at. To the east, you will an orchard of olive trees; to the south and to the west you see a series of majestic cypress standing guard over several hill tops; to the north you will see your own outside private dining table offset by the beautiful Casa Villa in the background. At night, we were treated with fire-flies dancing in the evening air. And if one were to look up, you will be treated to an astronomical delight as there is very little light pollution!

What made the stay a restful one was that Livia and her team took a great care of us. Each morning, we enjoyed home cooked farmer’s table breakfast. During the 1st day, we had lunch. And 2nd night, we had dinner on site. The food was so fresh and was made with a lot of tender-loving-care!

We are extremely grateful to Livia and her team for truly making our stay a perfect one. We are looking to go back to Torre A Cona in September!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor L254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We came for an impromptu wine tasting. It took a bit of effort to find it but worth it. Gorgeous winery and buildings. We tried to reds and promptly bought them to take back. Lots of lovely gift items and if you are in that area and want to visit a vineyard i recommend this place!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CelticGirlLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This part of Italy is absolutely beautiful. The house we stayed in was well equipped and clean and spacious. The views of the country side were amazing and it was a short drive to Florence. We purchased several bottles of the wine made on the estate and it was excellent. The staff was exceptionally accommodating. I would
highly recommend Torre A
Cona to anyone who would enjoy the peace and quiet of the country close to Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Four days at Torre a Cona was exactly what we needed to unwind and relax. Endless beauty surrounding us, beautiful weather, friendly staff, great wine and food. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and beautiful. Wine tasting at Torre a Cona was intimate and came with delicious food. Great location to explore Florence, Greve and other wineries.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank India S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was our second visit to Torre a Cona in six years. This time , we stayed in Giardino for 13 nights and loved every moment of the trip. The villa was spacious, well appointed and impeccably clean. The kitchen was well equipped.

Most mornings we would get fresh bread and pastries from the local panetteria in the village and sip our coffee in the garden overlooking the rolling countryside and Casentino mountains in the distance. The surroundings of Torre a Cona are beautiful with its olive groves and nearby vineyards.

We also discovered some local country lanes , car free, which were ideal for walking and jogging ( The SP1 which runs from Bagno a Ripoli to Incisa through the village of San Donato is narrow and quite busy).

The poolside area is surrounded by old stone walls covered with vines and flowers. The ambiance is lovely, especially as the owners have set up rattan sofa and chairs under the trees to the side of the pool. Great for reading and relaxing with a glass of Torre a Cona chianti!

Mariana and Livia at reception were stars. They helped us book museums in Florence and local restaurants. And, they were great giving us directions as we didn't always trust our GPS!

Torre a Cona also provides a catering service . Angela, who prepares the meals in Torre a Cona's kitchens, prepared us a superb mix of antipasti, primi platti and secondi platti for our return from Florence one night.We highly recommend trying this.

A car is really indispensable for both local outings to the village and for further afield. Torre a Cona is exceptionally well situated for visiting Florence (30 minutes). We visited Arezzo, Cortona, Sienna, the Chianti district and Volterra. Nowhere was further than an hour and a half drive.

We found our trip offered everything we wanted - exquisite art and culture, good food and wine, friendly people, beautiful countryside. We are already planning to return next year with family and friends!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Edyckxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rignano sull'Arno
7.8 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
428 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
867 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Olmi Firenze
Villa Olmi Firenze
#1 of 4 in Bagno a Ripoli
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 411 in Florence
1,120 reviews
3.6 mi away
Il Palagio
Il Palagio
#1 of 2 in Rignano sull'Arno
107 reviews
10.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre a Cona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre a Cona

Address: Torre a Cona 49 | San Donato in Collina, 50067, Rignano sull'Arno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Rignano sull'Arno
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Rignano sull'Arno
Price Range: £70 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre a Cona 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hilltop in the heart of the Florentine hills, 10 km only from Florence, Torre a Cona has a stunning view over the surrounding countryside. The estate offers lovely rural houses and apartments (from 2 to 14 persons) recently renovated, next to a 17th century Villa in a green and quiet countryside. They have been carefully restored keeping their special farmhouse character and have been tastefully furnished in Tuscan rustic style; there are beamed ceilings and terracotta floors. They all have well equipped kitchens, dishwashers, washing machines, color TV, kitchen ware and linens. Each of them has a private outdoor shaded sitting area with garden furniture and barbecue. The swimming pool (mt 9x8) has been built in a historic site next to a 17th century tower and is open from May to September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torre a Cona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre a Cona Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing