We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in beautiful Tuscany countryside”
Review of Il Palagio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Il Palagio
Vejbystrand, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in beautiful Tuscany countryside”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Charming hotel in historic buildings carefully renovated and modernised into a hotel. Very fresh and clean appartement in light colours. Large rooms. Situated in the calm and beautiful countryside outside Firenze. Good location for trips by (rental) car in Tuscany. Easy and quick to take the train to Firenze. Wonderful gardens and surroundings. Loved the rosemary bushes growing on the hill behind the restaurant. Visited in april and the pool was nice but very cool. Friendly staff working in the reception.
When showering, the water was flowing out all over the floor of the bathroom, but it was not a big problem. Two beds were comfortable, but the other two were like camping beds and did not have very thick mattresses.
Didn't visit the restaurant. Used the kitchenette for selfcatering. It was small but quite enough equipped.
Stayed with family (three teenagers) for 4 nights. One of our best holidays!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annelie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    30
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
33
25
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in seemed relatively new. It is very spacious and comes equipped with a kitchenette. In fact, the 2 bedrooms are very spacious as well. Our gripes - the rooms are pretty cold for spring and one of the showers does not have a proper place to accommodate the toiletries. But I must say the service of the front office is pretty good - when I brought the kettle to change, the staff did it very willingly, despite the fact that I had it changed 2 times! And of course another plus point is that it is really close to The Mall :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frangi313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eurpoe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Newly renowated, beautiful appartements, real tuscan style. The view was unforgettable from the palagio!!!!!
The rooms were clean, there were deckchairs outside and around the pool area. The staff was very kind, we had a welcome drink -more than one:), we got all the information we asked, the restaurant was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zs��fia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
298 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Overall, I give Villa Il Palagio an average rating as there were some really nice things and then some things that they really need to consider improving.

First, the positive:
- great location out in the Tuscan countryside - you will definitely need a car if you stay here, but we thought it worth it.
- big villas - we stayed in a 2 bedroom with another couple - two floors, a decent sitting area and table and enough of a kitchen for us to make our breakfast each morning.
- restaurant on location is quite good
- front desk staff was helpful with information and assistance

What could be improved:
- to get your luggage to your room, you need to drag it over a stretch of dusty gravel - no luggage carts and an elevator too small to carry more than 2 people and 2 bags at a time - seems like a really poor design
- air conditioner in our villa never worked properly even after daily complaints to the front desk - they even had a technician come look at it and it was still stifling in the upstairs bedroom.
- shower runs hot and cold (during the same shower) - not so bad in the summer, but would be a shock in the winter, I'm sure. Toilets keep running so you have to remember to push the handle again to get them to stop.
- cleaning is only done if you stay more than one week - we ran out of soap, shampoo and toilet paper and had to keep running out to try and find some. A mid-week fresh-up would be a really nice improvement - even if it's only to replenish supplies.

The most annoying thing is that the front desk is open for a limited number of hours, so if you head out for the day to explore, the chances of the front desk staff being available when you return is slim. We had more than one instance where we would have liked to get some information and the front desk was closed.

Room Tip: Ask about the disco nights and figure out where and when they'll happen during your stay. Then a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The hotel and surrondings is very nice, a nice poolarea, BUT Friday and Saterday there is an open air disco in the hotel! Extermely High Music and noise!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesper01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rignano sull'Arno hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed at palagio with friends for 2 nights. the villa is nice and the park wonderful. I enjoyed the swimming pool. room were really big and well organized. i will suggest to choose palagio to relax in the hills of tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astrid_playfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My wife Denise & I are guests at the Villa Il Pilagio. Having checked in on October 8, 2011. we were warmly greeted by Elisa. She was extremely thorough in reviewing the details of the Villa as well as the surrounding areas and day trips to do.

Two challenges occurred during our visit in Italy. Firstly, my wallet, including cash, Visa card and Drivers License were stolen whilst travelling on the train from Milan. Secondly, the car we personally hired from Hertz prior to check-in at the Villa, frequently stalled. We discussed both these concerns with Elisa. She was phenomenal in arranging an alternative car. Additionally, she made numerous efforts in attempting to track down the stolen wallet.

Each morning Elisa would greet us with a warm smile whilst she provided complete details of daily activities we should do.

Both Denise & I have travelled extensively throughout the world. We can honestly say that Elisa is the best assistant/concierge that we have ever dealt with. Elisa has made our stay here in Italy truly memorable.

Many thanks to Elisa.

Room Tip: All ROOMS Excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rignano sull'Arno
4.1 mi away
Villa Pitiana
Villa Pitiana
#1 of 1 in Donnini
273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
Hotel Tenuta il Burchio
#4 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
191 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fattoria degli Usignoli
Fattoria degli Usignoli
#1 of 1 in San Donato Fronzano
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Villa Rigacci
Villa Rigacci
#1 of 12 in Reggello
347 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Casagrande
Hotel Villa Casagrande
#2 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
841 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palagio

Property: Il Palagio
Address: Localita Il Palagio 59, 50067, Rignano sull'Arno, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Rignano sull'Arno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rignano sull'Arno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Palagio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments in arestored factory - 'Fatoria Palagio'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Il Palagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Palagio Italy/Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing