We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic rural villa”
Review of Lionforti da Vico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lionforti da Vico
Reviewed 25 June 2013

If you are looking for an authentic experience of Tuscany then this is the place to stay. Friendly host with a delightful and varied breakfast. Location is central so good to explore Tuscany by car. The villa has a rural charm and good views.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsmams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

We arrived after a long trip from Switzerland and we found our way easily, since the place is well indicated in google maps. The road is not good but you can drive on with a normal car. After arriving, you get the sensation of being in another century, with a fistful of houses in the middle of a wonderful and quiet area. The Responsible of the location was always very friendly and gentle with us. The breakfast was very good and it was wonderful to have it in the garden. our apartment was big, clean, quiet and confortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We are a family of two adults and two children. We spent three nights in Lionforti. Since the place is quite expensive (we paid 130 euros/night), our excpectation was for the "magical" place described in the comments below.
The place is quite hard to find, but we managed to get there using the instructions from the website. It is located in the middle of nowhere, even in the terms of a rural area, about 20 minutes drive from the nearest town, Greve. About half of the road is not paved.
The place is in fact a shed. The pictures show a clean, shiny, modern apartment. Ours was quite dusty and dirty, with a fairly large variety of insects occupying the filthier areas (and coming out at night). In other places in Italy we have had one star hotels more hygienic.
The apartment was also very old, and did not include an electric kettle (if you don't feel like using a finjan, say goodbye to evening coffee/tea).
But the biggest disappointment was the breakfast. For 130 euro/night, all we got were a few dull pastries.
The apartment would have been a fair deal for half the price we paid. For us, it mostly felt like a deception, as the website description and reviews had promised a lot more than what we actually got.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eladkatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lionforti, Manager at Lionforti da Vico, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Guest, just to clear that I explaned well the direction to arrive (so..you arraived!)
We are in the countryside and many peaple likes this place.
We restore our old house and repaint every year. Perhaps you didn't know italian old hoistorical houses...?
My apartments are clean, only there are insects sometime because we are in the country, not in an HOTEL in the centre of Florence. We are in the middle of the nature.

Anyway, I don't remember to had tell you that in the house there was an electric kettle (but there was a kettle, too!). And you didn't tell me anything about breakfast (I could change it)

I'm sorry because during your stay here you was kind with me and never compleined.
And.. if you stay so bad, why you remained all the period, why yoy didn't leave before?

However...see you
Simonetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The place is a bit challenging to find, but the second you do, it`s like entering a fairy tail! The place, the house and our room is so beautiful, and so authentic! We only stayed one night in september (unfortunately), but had a wonderful and relaxing time in Tuscany. Simonetta and her family is just lovely, and very helpful. They also have two friendly dogs. The room we stayed in, was big and clean, with old beautiful furnitures. The breakfast was good, and served outside.

I will most definitely come back and stay here again, but more than one night.

Make sure to stop by Greve in Chianti, and all the other small places on your way. It´s really worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeg-er-CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We spent a week in Tuscany at Simonetta and Eugenio place. The location is the best in chianti and has an easy access to any important destination in Tuscany. The house is a typical local house with all you need for the vacation.The house is a perfect location for hiking and cycling in tuscany and has plenty of vineries and restaurants in the area.
We will certainly be back and we strongly recommend it to any tuscany lovers
Mark & Irit

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bushmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We (2 adults + a child) spent three nights in Lionforti Studio Nido in beginning of July 2012. We really liked the friendly service, home-made dinner, peaceful and beautiful house & countryside surroundings. Cool swimming pool water was refreshing in hot days. Even though the temperature outside was hot the room stayed cool. The apartment was spacious with kitchen, better than we expected. We wanted to visit wine yard and Florence, and both places were in a good distance from the house. We also enjoyed pets (dogs, cats, turtles) in the place. We recommend Lionforti to all who appreciate the peaceful and friendly atmosphere and the beautiful countryside in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teija_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

In september last year, we stayed for 5 nights in studio Nio, a lovely appartment with private kitchen. Although our place stayed really cool because it was at the ground floor, it was also a bit noisy because we could clearly hear the neighbours upstairs walking around.
The whole house was beautiful authentic and we enjoyed this atmosphere and being in the countryside very much. Thanks to the central location, this B&B is a perfect starting point from which we took trips to Florence, Siena and other towns. The use of a car is abslotuley neccessary, as there is no towncentre at walking distance. Also you have to drive a bumpy last 2 km on a unpaved road to reach the house, which was a bit challenging at first, but we found it definiteley worth to take to reach the peace and quiet.
The owner Simonetta is really friendly and helpful. She gave us lots of privacy but was there when we need her. Every morning she arranged a perfect breakfast for us on her porch.
We enjoyed her hospitality and would definitly go back if we have the change!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nienke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
3.2 mi away
Fattoria Poggiarelli
Fattoria Poggiarelli
#11 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
16 reviews
4.5 mi away
Locanda Il Gallo
Locanda Il Gallo
#5 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Cetinelle
Le Cetinelle
#6 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Poggio all'Olmo
Poggio all'Olmo
#16 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
90 reviews
2.9 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#3 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
111 reviews
4.2 mi away
Il Casello Country House B&B
Il Casello Country House B&B
#1 of 9 in Panzano in Chianti
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lionforti da Vico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lionforti da Vico

Address: Via Francois 15 | Loc Case di Vico, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ancient and authentic house in the middle of Chianti. Apartments and a room, typical Tuscan style, private garden, pool. Quiet and relaxed, place, about 35 km from Florence, Siena and Arezzo. Breakfast on request, nice view, 2 km of country (no asphalt) road. Simple and charming atmosphere. Prices from 69,00 per night to 600,00 for week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lionforti da Vico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lionforti Da Vico Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing