We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”
Review of Podere Campriano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Podere Campriano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

After a bus trip from Florence that we thought would get us to Greve, we ended up in Siena (our mistake) and took a taxi to Greve. What a lovely town, and an even lovelier agriturismo. It is very clean and also rustic. The farm/vineyard is natural and pure...the wine is organic and the family is committed to that. How absolutely amazing to drink Chianti Classico right where it is made!
The owners are super-friendly and Elena knows English very well. The family's Burmese mountain dog Zoto is adorable.
We did a wine tasting which was special because of the wine but also we felt comfortable with Elena--she is very unaffected and genuine. She also fed us homemade meats and cheese with her special Bolero Elixer---an accidental byproduct of their winemaking...and what an accident! We bought some to take home.
We highly recommend this beautiful agriturismo with the fantastic Chianti Classico and Elena and her family.
They ship their wine--it is delightful and so nice to know it's made here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbtlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
66
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed 4 nights on this family farm that overlooks the town in the valley below. The property is accessed from a street - we arrived using a GPS and I thought that there had to be a mistake as the street didn't seem like a vineyard to me - however there are large gates between houses that when opened show the road to the house. The accommodation is modern and serviced daily by the family. Breakfast was served in the winery, while it is Italian fare the host, Elena was willing to meet each guests preferences. WiFi is offered free of charge, there is a pool and the room is serviced with a bar fridge for drinks and snacks.

The walk from the house into Greve, probably 10 to 15 minutes where there are interesting shops, bars, cafes and restaurants. We enjoyed the restaurants away from the town square best. The walk home is up the hill through the vineyard - but not too onerous.

There is a regular public bus service into Florence but I would recommend a car to access the nearby villages and wineries in the region. Chianti countryside is quite different to Tuscany being more mountainous and forested with some stunning views. By car you can also easily access Siena and Arezzo on a day trip.

Room Tip: We had a loft bedroom with the lounge and bathroom on the lower level, the stairs could be an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theredman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Podere Campriano is perhaps one of my favourite places in the world! I was welcomed by the Italian speaking Nonna, which made my day. The family run agriturismo is absolutely breathtaking and I felt like I had found a little slice of heaven. The apartment itself was perfect and exactly what I had been hoping for when I booked the accommodation. Podere Campriano is surrounded by vineyards and the family produce organic vino and olio from the property. The breakfast room was authentic with vino, olio and lovely wooden chopping boards for sale. The breakfast itself was delicious and Elena was happy to cater to any needs. I spent time by the pool with the lovely views to Greve, Chianti, and even had a picnic lunch organised by the family. The property is walking distance to the gorgeous Greve, Chianti. The shops are marvellous, with the famous butchery, and lovely restaurants. The town seems to have regular vintage car displays, which was also a highlight. Please also visit Castello di Verazzano, if you are a lover of vino for a tour and lunch. I cannot say enough about Podere Campriano and the town of Greve, Chianti. I hope to return to Mi Casa!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We really, really loved Podere Campriano! The property is truly breathtakingly beautiful - olive trees, vineyards, rolling hills, hiking trails, etc. And, the guesthouse is lovely as well, with spacious, well decorated rooms (very clean too). The location is ideal - you can easily walk into the main square in Greve for dinner and drinks, or take a quick drive to any of the area vineyards, towns, etc.

Have I mentioned the breakfast yet?!? Lights out! The owner asks you to choose either a "sweet" (pastries, homemade jams, fruits) or "salty" (hard boiled eggs, homemade cured meats and cheeses) breakfast. We tried both, and really you can't go wrong. So, so yummy!

Elena and the rest of the family were so very kind as well. Elena is obviously passionate about the organic methods she uses on the vineyard, and is eager to share her profound knowledge for wine and olive oil making. I highly recommend signing up for a wine tasting with her - it's very instructional (and, the wine, olive oil and food are great).

Podere Campriano is truly a special, special place!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We booked an apartment for our family of 3 adults, after seeing the reviews on TA. We chose this place for the convenience of being within walking distance of the town and not too far from the bus stop.

We found Elena's farm to be in a nice setting with a lovely view of the valley from the pool area. There's a separate under cover area on the level below where you can sit and enjoy a nice bottle of Elena's Chianti (thank you Elena for your gift of the wine). We rented the smaller apartment with a loft bedroom and a sofa bed on the lower level. It was very rustic and homely. There was a small fridge and tea & coffee facilities. Although glasses aren't provided, Elena will be more than happy to provide these if you ask her. The bathroom was modern, very clean and adequate (a hair dryer is provided).

Elena and her mother made us feel very welcome and were very helpful when ever we asked for anything. Elena even picked us up at the bus stop when we arrived which was more than helpful because we had several pieces of luggage. Thank you Elena for your fantastic service.

The breakfast provided is either a salty one of cold meat, cheese and boiled egg, or cake with homemade jams (delicious!), plus juice, fresh fruit, coffee and a selectionn of teas.

Although the walk into town is only 10 minutes away, if you are planning to stay here for a few days car hire is recommended. We found the very old town and its Square charming, with a nice selection of shops and restaurants. The Co-op supermarket nearby had a very good selection of alcoholic and food and the deli counter is particularly recommended. The staff were helpful when we explained what type of cold cuts & olives we wanted. You can also buy corkscrews in the Co-op for 1 Euro.

We enjoyed our short stay and chose the right place for its convenience.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty climbing stairs because you have knee problems then the Loft Room might not b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinkumpomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Hills, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Friends who stayed here in July highly recommended Podere Campriano to us, and my husband and I spent 5 nights here the end of September. The farm is absolutely charming, the grape harvest had just begun, and Elena and her family were wonderful. We loved our room, with the bed and armoire in the loft and a sofa bed, bathroom, TV, and small fridge on the bottom floor. Our windows looked out over Greve and its wonderful square. The breakfasts were beautiful, lots of ripe fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, baked specialties, great coffee and juice. We had lunch up the hill on the terrace one day and felt so at home. It was too cold to swim, but sitting by the pool and looking out over the countryside was most restful. We loved the town square and the restaurants were excellent, even the pizza place was good. The room was clean and Elena's mama freshened our room each day. We took the bus into Florence 3 days and really enjoyed Florence. Elena was an excellent source of info for Florence, the buses, etc. Mama and Papa didn't speak English, but they were very friendly and we enjoyed seeing them. I highly recommend this unique farm. The facility is absolutely secure, you have a remote to operate the gate to the farm, and in September, we were able to park on the square for dinner. There is a big parking lot a couple of blocks from the square if you can't. The younger guests walked down to the square for dinner or to catch the bus. We also loved the Coop (grocery store) and lovely shops in town.

Room Tip: We are a couple, so the room we had was large with a loft and we had a sitting area below, so was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonClaypool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at Campriano for 3 days and truly enjoyed our stay. Elena, her father Valerio and family are truly gracious hosts. Location is perfect, away from Greve yet still within walking distance. The walk through the vineyards is an experience in itself. The view from our bedroom was simply spectacular overlooking the Greve, the valley all the way to Montefiorale. The wine produced at Campriano is exceptional. For anyone looking for a true Tuscan experience, I would highly recommend Campriano.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaVinci63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
253 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa al Sole
Casa al Sole
#7 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casale Le Masse
Casale Le Masse
#2 of 40 in Greve in Chianti
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Campriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Campriano

Property: Podere Campriano
Address: Viale Rosa Libri 36/a, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Podere Campriano 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Campriano is a little family winery in the earth of Chianti Classico area. The farm is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves owned, nestled in the quiet Tuscan countryside. In 5 minutes walk you can reach the village of Greve in Chianti and within a few minutes drive you can visit cities like Florence and Siena. Guests can choose different accommodation, suites are rooms on two floors, the ground floor is a lounge and first floor mezzanine the master bedroom; Pilu's apartment with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen and living room. the standard double bedroom Loggia, smaller but with all comforts and the new apartment Serra with independent entrance and private garden. During their stay, guests can participate cooking classes an amazing experience to understand and taste the Tuscany cooking. We need a minimum of 4 participants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Podere Campriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Campriano Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing