We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant”
Review of La Cantina

La Cantina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I were strolling through Greve before most restaurants were open (around 6:30pm). We were looking at the menu posted outside La Cantina when the owner came out and explained that his mother did the cooking using locally sourced foods in authentic Tuscan recipes. He ended his tantalizing description of the menu with the most convincing argument of all: " And...we're open!" How could we refuse? We dined outside on a beautiful May evening and watched as more and more visitors discovered the charms of La Cantina. Our meal began with two complimentary glasses of Prosecco, followed by large individual pizzas (the artichoke was especially good).

All in all, a most pleasant dining experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank potrezebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    215
    43
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just superb food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Again I put a lot of emphasis on first impressions. The staff were very welcoming (which may not surprise you) they weren't just touting for trade they came over as people who were very proud of their product and that's what you got. Very good servings and most importantly very good quality food. The meal started with a FREE glass of Proseco and after your very good meal a FREE dessert if you could eat it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cr1ck3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Tastey meal in an atmosheric environment”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The food here is good especially the tiramisu which was freshly made and melted in the mouth.
The staff give you a complimentary small glass of Prosecco on arrival together with some seasoned cooked pizza base that is very moorish.
The staff are mainly young and aim to please - their English is great. The inside eating area (there is also an outdoor area) has vaulted ceilings and provides a warm and atmospheric environment in which to dine.
The prices are not too bad, however it is not a super cheap meal but compared to many other places in town it is very competative

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant accidently and entered doubtfully. Pizzas, pastas and wine were excellent and very tasty.
Don't miss this place. Staff very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Bart7819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
1 review
“certainly best italian cusine ever eaten !!!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We've been many times in italy searching for the Real italian food, and have to say honestly,that this was thebest italian food we've ever eaten !!!! Prices are more competitive comparing to these in firenze or rome, but quality MUCH higher here.
We received sweet surprise after all :-)
Went there first day of our stay,but decided to come back last day of our holiday (although wasn't close to where we stayed ).

You have to try pasta and amazing pizza:-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaldaszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cantina also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing