We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, ordinary food”
Review of Il Portico

Il Portico
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great service, ordinary food”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Not much more to say really..... Our waiter was great but he wasn't backed up by the food. Not the worst we'd had in Italy but nowhere near the best. Average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4flyingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    86
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferrara, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Poor service, frozen meat and inadequate price for the meal consumed. Better try another restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea69Greta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busan, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“There is way better”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The restaurant was too expensive for the level of food served.
The wine was not good, and in this area not having good wine is almost a crime... I mean, it's the location where Chianti comes from.

No No No.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie1990nau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal in Italy!”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this quaint restaurant. It's in the main town square but there were locals dining and it wasn't overly tourist. It was recommended by our B&B for being well priced traditional Tuscan food. We had an amazing antipasti of mushrooms with truffle oil on polenta. Each of us had pasta dishes which were equally impressive. I must warn you that the kitchen is on the slow side but well worth the wait. There was one waitress and one cook for the whole place and you could tell all the dishes were given great attention. The dishes were fresh and piping hot when served. Do try!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good icecream”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We never ate here, but their icecream was very delicius, and for 1,50 EUR for the smallest portion (about 5 cm above the edge of the cup) not too expensive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank martin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Portico also viewed

Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
Greve in Chianti, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing