We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you sure there is no better alternative?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo del Chianti
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Are you sure there is no better alternative?”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hotel is old and worn out. (Rooms, beds, bathroom appliances, AC, etc. ). the hotel is run by a family. I met and/or talked to some of them. They were usually willing to help, but not very professional (not toward us, but about running the hotel in general)
They asked us to leave the room at 10:30. I understand that the "hotel rules" were designed this way, but I feel the almost universal time is 12:00. Depending on the reservation status of the room even that can be extended. Regarding our room, since we were told we could extend our stay, I understand that there was no pressuring new reservation check-in.
The positive thing is, the hotel is located at the center of the old-town, Piazza Matteotti, but since Greve is a fairly small town, there are more hotels within 5 minutes of walking distance.
Breakfast was O.K.
Although I don't feel cheated, I would not choose this hotel if I ever have the chance to go to Greve in Chianti.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onder23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beloki, Proprietario at Albergo del Chianti, responded to this review, 5 November 2012



Dear Mr, I am very sorry for his behavior very wrong in wanting to take revenge on all the way to our hotel.
in its reservation made with booking.com is specified that the checkout is at 11.00, so quite simply could not ask for the receipt to stay in the room until 11.00 as conditions and not to stay up to 12.30.
In addition, the invitation to stop classify our hotel as old and worn out, because as in the photo has been restored only six months ago, according to photos published in various websites of booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    95
    46
    13
    9
See reviews for
46
117
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and I only stayed here for one night as we passed through Greve. I found this hotel based upon its central location in the town square a lower price. It was a little tough to find the hotel and a place to park. You aren’t able to drive a car into the square where the hotel is located and we probably drove around for 15 minutes trying to find a parking lot. Once we were in the hotel they did give us a very useful map and directed us to the best parking lot. I would recommend e-mailing them in advance to get good directons to the parking lot.

The room was adequate, but probably our least favorite of all rooms during our 2 weeks in Italy. With all hotels I feel like there is a balance between price and quality and this was always the least expensive hotel we stayed in. I found the value to this hotel to be very good, especially considering its central Greve location (lots of restaurants close by, including Gallo Nero, which was one of our favorites on our trip).

The breakfast area was very nice and had a typical Italian breakfast. I didn’t spend any time in the Courtyard or pool, but it looked very nice.

All in all I recommend this hotel for those looking for a good value stay. The Wi-Fi worked well and so did the air conditioner. My 3 stars don’t necessarily anything wrong with the hotel, the room was just wasn’t as nice as others we stayed in, but at about 2/3 the price, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wach35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco,CA,USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I knew Greve was a delightful little town with a gorgeous piazza, so my friends and I wanted to stay right in that piazza. The Hotel Albergo del Chianti provided us with a comfortable room with air conditioning and an incredible rate for 3 people. To say that the hotel is family owned is such an inadequate description of this wonderful, boisterous, hysterical group of mother, father, sons, uncles, and nephews who run this wonderful place. The breakfasts were delicious and ample. The advice as to where we should venture took us to towns we had never heard of but should not be missed. The swimming pool in the back is large and surrounded by lounge chairs and umbrellas. We could have stayed there all day, but Tuscany called. I would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxineK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vellinge, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This nice hotel at the piazza in Greve in Chianti has very good rooms in typical tuscan stile.
Breakfast buffé just perfect like the pool in the garden. The situation is very central and I can highly recommend this family hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and hopefully it won't be the last.

Firstly, to Francesco and the family, gratzie, gratzie, gratzie! You are all wonderful hosts, and thank you for sharing your passion about Grevei. Your enthusiasm for life and ensuring your guests get to experience the real side of Chianti is vey refreshing and rewarding.

Now the accommodation and the facilities!
These are very authentic traditional 3 star rooms with air conditioning and all the comforts required for a plesant stay. The bed is very comfortable and the pillow firm but not to firrm, there are also additional pillows if requested. The bathrooms small but functional, however, if you are over 6,3 you may have some fun. You will also love how the windows and shutters open out to the courtyard or the swimming pool.

Also plus is the breakfast, again very traditional with cereal fruit, yogart, bread, toast and the scambled eggs are fabulous!

So if you are looking for a great experience, as well as great accommodation, stay here!

Room Tip: If you can get a room ovelooking tthe courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Albergo (Hotel) del Chianti - Piazza Matteotti, Greve in Chianti, Tuscany, Province of Firenze, Italy:

In on Saturday, 15 September 2012
Check out, Friday, 21 September 2012

The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. (family members, I think) One does not need to take the breakfast every day: it is 7 Euros per person, does have a nice selection of breakfast items, but can run into more money than one might wish to spend every morning.

Location is very good, if you don't have a car, as parking is not next to the hotel. (we took a bus from Florence). The hotel is located right on the lovely and largest of the towns piazzas (plazas), Piazza Matteotti.
FORTUNATELY, our room -- we are 2 women friends travelling together -- was facing the rear garden, lovely lawn and swimming pool. All public spaces, in and out, appear to be meticulously looked after. Our room a tad less so, but acceptable. Remember, if you're from elsewhere, to bring your PLUG ADAPTERS..., and if you have a cell phone and/or computer(s), bring a power strip and lots of adapters: our room has 4 single outlets, all occupied by a light or the TV. One must give up something (i.e., unplug a light or 2, or TV) to accommodate the recharging of electronics.

There IS free wifi that has been working just great in our room. We have an air conditioner but have not had to use it at all; because we're facing the back garden, we have a window that opens on that side of the building, and a door which has a stairway down to the yard. (not good for a person with difficulty walking.)

The major CON for me (one of us): our window opened onto a tiny balcony, not accessible from our room, but a door into a family residence opened on to it. There was frequent yelling and hollering between (it sounded to me) an older woman and a younger man (mother and grown son, perhaps), and I found it disturbing and intrusive.

Oh, yes!- bring a flashlight! The room key is attached to a card which is inserted to turn on the power in your room. Of course, when you take the card out at night, it kills the lights and you can't see to unlock and relock the door. (it's an old fashioned key that takes getting used to!!!- and , we found it to be a ROYAL PAIN!!!

Our room name was: 'Bronze', in an adjoining building from the lobby area.

Buon viaggio!

-Dulcie H

Room Tip: as written in review above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dulcie L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in the town square and is well priced and comfortable. The family that run the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful and there is a lovely courtyard and garden at the rear of the hotel including a large swimming pool. A great breakfast is included. The only complaint is the airconditioners are noisy and excessively bright at night with their own little light show which initially seems gimmicky but becomes annoying in a dark room when trying to sleep. The alternative is opening the windows and listening to the bustle of the town square below. Worth visiting for the small goods store and bakery located either side of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
477 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
438 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
Relais Fattoria Valle in Panzano
#2 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
#13 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa al Sole
Casa al Sole
#7 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Chianti

Property: Albergo del Chianti
Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 86, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Chianti 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous triangular square of the village of Greve in Chianti:Chianti, the hotel has 16 rooms renovated and modernized in 2012, to customers, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all with private bathroom and all comforts: air cond, heating, satellite TV, telephone, mini bars, safes and free wifi internet access.The strength of this hotel is centrally located with the ability to walk to various restaurants and many small craft shops located in the town square and in the country, but at the same time to offer a relaxing and tranquil space, in fact in the garden the hotel was converted into a 14m swimming pool with salt water where around x7m is served a breakfast buffet with homemade pastries, scrambled eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, etc. ...The Family Bussotti, owner of 'Hotel for about 20 years is present 24h on 24, creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere, providing customers with all the information in the area, what to do and what to visit, plus the chance to sample available products of the family farm, wine, extra virgin olive oil and grappa.Greve in Chianti is situated half way between Florence and Siena, the location is very strategic in the short time we reach virtually all the most famous places of Tuscany, above the area of Chianti Classico, then Florence, Siena, Lucca, Pisa, San Gimignano , Volterra, Radda, Gaiole the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Albergo del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Chianti Hotel Greve In Chianti
Albergo Del Chianti Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing