We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Comfort in a GREAT Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo del Chianti
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Reviewed 29 April 2013

For a three person room it was a little small and really nothing special there. Is nice that you can really darken the room to get a good night sleep. The bathroom was fine, and everything was clean and in working order. Every place we stayed in Chianti had a continental breakfast but this one had the best/wides selection. The food was not anything to rave about but was nice. There is also a small bar in the lobby when you can have a drink while you wait for the slower people in your party. The location perfect, good food, good wine and all the sites of Greve (there are not many) are close by.
We went in April, will very early in the spring/summer for the region so the pool was not open, and there were not using the outdoor/inclosed garden space. Which would only make this place even better.
Staff were nice enough and occasionally helpful I did not have much interaction with them say negative or positive things about them.

Room Tip: Late spring and summer this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

A great location in a great little town. The town itself is great, and the hotel is located on the main square so you can easily stroll back home after dinner. Very relaxed staff, friendly and helpful if you asked for anything. Room was very little, but perfectly functional, and quiet for a good nights sleep. We stayed just one night so it was fine. If staying longer may have requested a larger room. The hotel also has a pool, too cold when we were there to use it, but would imagine in Summer it would be a great little spot.
For the room itself probably give it a 3, but the location was great, so giving it a 4

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMissC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We visited this hotel in November 2012 and was very disappointed in the quality of the rooms we had. What was so surprising was that it had gained 4 stars here on TripAdvisor. Our group only spend one night here, to which I am so grateful. The rooms seemed like they were from 1970's, having old beds ,bad sheets, awful furniture, gray towels, and lights that did not work.The rooms had a funny smell as well. I woke up all night from the wall heating unit that would turn on and off as the temperature fell and light up my room like a crazy pinball machine complete with lights and noise.I was afraid to use the blankets due to their condition.There were four of us and each had our own room and we all had the same experience. This was one of the worse nights of my life in a hotel. The people who ran the hotel were actually very nice and I am sorry to have to give a bad review but I have to be honest if only to save someone from a night like I experienced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect of this place given the reviews but we had nothing to worry about. Our room was nicely decorated and large with a comfortable bed, TV and fridge. It was a bit dated and the toilet seat had a large crack in it but nothing major. The dude on reception gave us a great welcome. He showed us where to park and suggested a few good restaurants and have us the code for the free wi-fi. We drove on to the piazza to the hotel to drop off our luggage and then parked about a 5 minute walk away in the city's free parking place. Location is unbeatable right on the corner of probably the prettiest piazza right in the centre of town. Sound proofing is not the best between walls - I was woken up by a couple returning to their room at 2.30am (not sure where you would go in Greve until that time so maybe it's not that common). Breakfast was alright. The pool and patio area looked really nice for summer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hotel is old and worn out. (Rooms, beds, bathroom appliances, AC, etc. ). the hotel is run by a family. I met and/or talked to some of them. They were usually willing to help, but not very professional (not toward us, but about running the hotel in general)
They asked us to leave the room at 10:30. I understand that the "hotel rules" were designed this way, but I feel the almost universal time is 12:00. Depending on the reservation status of the room even that can be extended. Regarding our room, since we were told we could extend our stay, I understand that there was no pressuring new reservation check-in.
The positive thing is, the hotel is located at the center of the old-town, Piazza Matteotti, but since Greve is a fairly small town, there are more hotels within 5 minutes of walking distance.
Breakfast was O.K.
Although I don't feel cheated, I would not choose this hotel if I ever have the chance to go to Greve in Chianti.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onder23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beloki, Proprietario at Albergo del Chianti, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012




Dear Mr, I am very sorry for his behavior very wrong in wanting to take revenge on all the way to our hotel.
in its reservation made with booking.com is specified that the checkout is at 11.00, so quite simply could not ask for the receipt to stay in the room until 11.00 as conditions and not to stay up to 12.30.
In addition, the invitation to stop classify our hotel as old and worn out, because as in the photo has been restored only six months ago, according to photos published in various websites of booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and I only stayed here for one night as we passed through Greve. I found this hotel based upon its central location in the town square a lower price. It was a little tough to find the hotel and a place to park. You aren’t able to drive a car into the square where the hotel is located and we probably drove around for 15 minutes trying to find a parking lot. Once we were in the hotel they did give us a very useful map and directed us to the best parking lot. I would recommend e-mailing them in advance to get good directons to the parking lot.

The room was adequate, but probably our least favorite of all rooms during our 2 weeks in Italy. With all hotels I feel like there is a balance between price and quality and this was always the least expensive hotel we stayed in. I found the value to this hotel to be very good, especially considering its central Greve location (lots of restaurants close by, including Gallo Nero, which was one of our favorites on our trip).

The breakfast area was very nice and had a typical Italian breakfast. I didn’t spend any time in the Courtyard or pool, but it looked very nice.

All in all I recommend this hotel for those looking for a good value stay. The Wi-Fi worked well and so did the air conditioner. My 3 stars don’t necessarily anything wrong with the hotel, the room was just wasn’t as nice as others we stayed in, but at about 2/3 the price, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wach35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I knew Greve was a delightful little town with a gorgeous piazza, so my friends and I wanted to stay right in that piazza. The Hotel Albergo del Chianti provided us with a comfortable room with air conditioning and an incredible rate for 3 people. To say that the hotel is family owned is such an inadequate description of this wonderful, boisterous, hysterical group of mother, father, sons, uncles, and nephews who run this wonderful place. The breakfasts were delicious and ample. The advice as to where we should venture took us to towns we had never heard of but should not be missed. The swimming pool in the back is large and surrounded by lounge chairs and umbrellas. We could have stayed there all day, but Tuscany called. I would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxineK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
1.4 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
503 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa al Sole
Casa al Sole
#8 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
85 reviews
3.9 mi away
Locanda Il Gallo
Locanda Il Gallo
#5 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
84 reviews
2 mi away
Fattoria Poggiarelli
Fattoria Poggiarelli
#14 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Chianti

Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 86, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: £72 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Chianti 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the famous triangular square of the village of Greve in Chianti:Chianti, the hotel has 16 rooms renovated and modernized in 2012, to customers, single, double, triple and quadruple rooms, all with private bathroom and all comforts: air cond, heating, satellite TV, telephone, mini bars, safes and free wifi internet access.The strength of this hotel is centrally located with the ability to walk to various restaurants and many small craft shops located in the town square and in the country, but at the same time to offer a relaxing and tranquil space, in fact in the garden the hotel was converted into a 14m swimming pool with salt water where around x7m is served a breakfast buffet with homemade pastries, scrambled eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, etc. ...The Family Bussotti, owner of 'Hotel for about 20 years is present 24h on 24, creating a relaxed and informal atmosphere, providing customers with all the information in the area, what to do and what to visit, plus the chance to sample available products of the family farm, wine, extra virgin olive oil and grappa.Greve in Chianti is situated half way between Florence and Siena, the location is very strategic in the short time we reach virtually all the most famous places of Tuscany, above the area of Chianti Classico, then Florence, Siena, Lucca, Pisa, San Gimignano , Volterra, Radda, Gaiole the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo del Chianti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Chianti Hotel Greve In Chianti
Albergo Del Chianti Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing