We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We got stuck in this small hotel in Chianti. Lousy breakfast. Too many stairs to climb with luggage. No help. Indifferent staff. Noisy room. We needed a place to stay close to Dario Ceccini's place in Panzano in Chianti which was supposedly the best place to eat bistecca fiorentina.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2127turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

Travelling with teenage kids so had 2 rooms both of which were very clean and a good size. Beautifully decorated with Tuscan charm.

Restaurant down stairs which was convenient and food including breakfast was very nice although could hear the staff singing as they cleaned up at the end of the night at 11pm.

Family running the hotel were lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevejanklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The Designated Spouse Equivalent and I stayed here on our second night during our 'Hidden Italy' self guided walk from Florence to Siena. After a long walk over rolling hills and then a steep descent into the triangular piaza, we found this small hotel to be the sort of thing you would hope to find more often in the region. Simple, heavy, ancient furnishing, terrazo floors and a little balcony overlooking the rooftops up into the hills. A lovely romantic setting and a comfortable bed, with good pillows.

The shower stalls are the standard small closet size that I suppose you could swing a cat in if it didn't mind a few nasty cracks around the head, and you need to be careful with any vigorous ablutions, but this seems to be the way of things in Italy.

Ate at the restaurant that night and the food was rustic, simple and very good - except for the deep fried weird sort of 'tempura' vegetables. Seems a shame to do this to fresh broccoli, but then again, perhaps it wasn't. The woman manager was friendly and obliging and the house wine just fine. Good value for money at around 150 euros for room and board.

Room Tip: At eh back lloking out onto the hills which is quiter. Early saturday morning the markets are on and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stemar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

So there are many wonderful things about this hotel: Nice, helpful staff, clean, attractive rooms, a beautiful location in the town square surrounded by restaurants and shops, the local market on Saturday morning. We were really impressed by the picturesque view from our room, looking out over the square and the quaint little church bells that rang every 30 minutes. EVERY 30 minutes, all night long. If you are a light sleeper, as my wife is, you should ask for a room opposite the square. If you are a heavy sleeper and don't mind a few bells, the scenery out the window was gorgeous.

Room Tip: Again, the rooms on the square are pretty loud with the church bells and you will hear the market be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jsweat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great location on the main square. Luckily there was a market and event on the square that night, with excellent athmosphere. The restaurant in the hotel was also great.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank teadrinker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My friend and I cycled through Tuscany stopping at many places and the A Giovanni was one of them. A beautiful find with great rooms - mine had a private terrace, a little noise from the nearby SR222 but that can't be helped. I adored this hotel and its charm. But be warned, avoid the restaurant; overpriced and highly mediocre food served with indifference, although the restaurant has an excellent balcony view of the quaint town square…… I would recommend travelling out of town to the nearby Il Ristoro di Lucarelli (onto the SS 222 (Via Chiantigiana) in the direction of Panzano. Continue straight on past the turn-off to Lamole until you reach Panzano. Continue downhill on SS 222 and after 3 km turn left off the SS 222 onto road towards Lucarelli.)

Room Tip: rooms at the rear with balconies are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwardsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

On our first visit in June 2007 we immediately became friends with Roberta, the wine shop / hotel hostess. The location is great for touring Chianti (must have a car) and is less than an hour from Florence. You can day trip to Siena, Volterra, San Gimignano and many other Tuscany locations. Even Pisa is reachable. The area is beautiful all year round.

We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant every day and have had tasting meals with wine pairing there as well. The guided tour of the winery is excellent. We have since been back three times and plan on going again soon (Oct 2009).

There are lots of good restaurants in the neighboring towns, including Greve. Ask Roberta and she will direct you to the type of place you are looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RagsKP94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greve in Chianti hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo del Chianti
Albergo del Chianti
#6 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa al Sole
Casa al Sole
#9 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
83 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Resort Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo
Resort Villa Rosa di Boscorotond...
#3 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
99 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
497 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano

Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 28, 50022, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: £65 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Giovanni da Verrazzano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Giovanni Da Verrazzano Hotel Greve In Chianti
Albergo Giovanni Da Verrazzano Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing