We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic vineyard in the heart of Tuscany!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Greve in Chianti
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Idyllic vineyard in the heart of Tuscany!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I am a fan of fine wines so our Italian holiday had to include a stay in the Chianti region. Where better to stay than an award winning winery! Castello Vicchiomaggio is located in the heart of Chianti a short drive outside of Greve in Chianti. We found it easy to find & unlike some other reviewers had no problems with our GPS. They have a tasting room/shop located at the entrance to the property which leads to a long winding drive up the hill through the vineyards. There was plenty of parking at the Castello - each room has a designated space although it was not full to capacity during our stay. This is still a family owned business & the daughters greeted us warmly at reception to check us in.
Our suite was located in the newer annex of the property. This appears to be a recent renovation but still retains plenty of character & Tuscan charm. Our suite was enormous & very good value for the price. The bed was comfortable & the a/c kept us nice & cool. There is a communal sitting area in the annex with a fridge & tea/coffee making facilities - there is also free wifi. Outside of the annex is a little garden - with space to dine. As others have said - dining options are limited as the restaurant only hosts events on certain nights. However we had other arrangements in place so this was not really an issue to us. The hotel was able to provide some excellent restaurant recommendations for the whole of the Chianti region marking a map for us specially. Greve is not far to drive & the hotel did manage to arrange for us to get a Taxi one evening.
The Castello & its grounds are simply stunning. It is a beautiful old building set amongst terraced walled gardens & the pictures do not do it justice. Even harder to capture is the view - which is simply breathtaking. The rolling hills of Tuscany stretch before you for miles as an unbroken panorama. This is picture postcard Tuscany. The mist rises from the vineyards in the morning & is a wonderful sight. The infinity pool makes full use of this view & we just sat on the loungers to drink it in.
Some other reviewers have criticised this property for a lack of services & amenities. We simply do not agree - this is agriturismo at its best & not a sterile hotel stay. We did not feel short of anything during our time here & the standard of accommodation was excellent & good value.
Just a quick note on the wine - they do an excellent range of wines - very highly regarded & excellent quality. I have since acquired a number of cases for my cellar!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Technog0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    105
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
279
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sverige
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. A beautiful setting to indulge in. Wonderful to sit in the garden with a bottle of wine and look out over the landscape. Liked the pool. Ate dinner twice at the castle. The food was good and their local wine of course. Try the grappa too, very good. The breakfast was also good.Our room was in the house next to the main building. There is a common area with a refrigerator that you may use. Very good. There was also wifi in this area.
One negative thing. They clean the rooms between 10 am and 3 pm (if I recall it correct). At least to times the cleaning was finished an hour later as promised so we had to sit in the common area and wait for them to be done.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1DoppioEspresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Castello Vicchiomaggio and we will be back again. It helps if you know what to expect before you arrive. This is a beautiful tuscan castle which has rooms and a working vineyard. If you want room service, a bar, a restaurant to dine in every night, laundry facilities etc then this is not the place for you.

Breakfast is served every morning and includes cereal, fruit juices, lots of lovely fresh fruit, bread and cakes, ham and cheese and tea and coffee. It is certainly an adequate spread for the start of the day. Food is only served in the evening on Mondays (wine pairing meal), Wednesdays (olive oil meal) and Fridays (the tuscan burger evening!) We were there for the tuscan burger evening which was fun - reasonably priced at 26 euros per person it included a bottle of water between 2, bruschetta to start, tuscan burger and roasted vegetables for the main and a glass of vin santo and cantucci biscuits for pudding. You can buy a bottle of the estate wine to go with the meal. You can order sandwiches in advance and the office does sell bottles of water and wine whilst it is open. We had a delicious bottle of chilled rose at the pool.

It is easy to drive into the local town of Greve to eat on the nights food is not served.

You can stay in rooms in the castle or, as we did, in more modern rooms in the annex "La Canonica". Here there is wifi in the ground floor reception area which has a seating area and dining area, a fridge and facilities to make tea and coffee. The rooms in the annex have air conditioning. We had a suite under the roof and the air con did struggle to cope but it was 36 degrees whilst we were there. The room was comfortable and clean and the bathroom was modern. We had a sweet little sitting room but quite honestly we were hardly ever in the room. Our room was cleaned and fresh towels given to us every day.

We did not see too many staff whilst we were there - they let you get on with the business of relaxing! But when sought out they were helpful and friendly. This is a family run business and getting it right is important to them.

If the weather is good whilst you are there then the pool area is to die for. An infinity pool with sweeping vistas overlooking the vineyards. It is well maintained, open from 8.30 to 7pm - although we sat by it until after 8pm on two occasions.

The location is ideal for visiting vineyards and beautiful little tuscan towns. I am not sure it would be the ideal place to take small children but for couples it is a haven of tranquility. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank four-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed 4 days in the Castello ... Restaurant not open every day ... no bar/lounge ... not even at the beautiful pool. Towels smell of vinegar and floors not clean, even after daily room service. Walls were bare with nothing left but the large hooks. Nominal air conditioning in the two bedrooms but nothing in large 20' x 30' Dining/Living room or the adjacent large kitchen. These two rooms you do not even want to use if you stay in the summer.
Grounds are beautiful and worth a stop to see but the owner owns several vineyards and you can really tell he doesn't invest in his Castello Vicchiomaggio. The small staff really had their hands full but were very accommodating.
We won't be back except to pick up some Chianti Classico.

Room Tip: Skip the large family 2 bedroom apartment at the top of the Castello.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank risshcdn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Lovely property in themidst of a vineyard but not a hotel..more of a B&B Castle :).
No elevators so if you have heavy luggage u will be carrying them up !
No aircons but you dont need it with the breeze.

They provide dinner options on 3 days a week. We were there for the olive oil dinner...was amazing! The food, service and oh yes I forgot the wine :)

Its definitely worth staying, just that I would have liked to know what it was. And yes Hertz GPS doesnt work there, so be prepared to ask around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apbanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We recently celebrated our daughter's wedding at Vicchiomaggio with 120 friends and family members. This family owned and operated Lombard castle renovated in the Renaissance was a dream location. The impeccable care with which the grounds are maintained, the extraordinary view, even for Tuscany, the kind and hard-working staff, the delicious Castello wines, olive oil, and special dinners all combined to make our experience no less than magical. The relationships the Matta family has with other service providers such as an amazing wedding planner names, Rosi Strati, drivers, guides, photographers, and florists made the planning look and feel effortless.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are air conditioned. Some are amazingly lovely and very large. Rooms in the Canonica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centopercento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We recently included Chianti in Tuscany on our Italy visit and Castello Vicchiomaggio could not have been a more perfect choice to stay! Loved the grounds which were beautiful and well kept. It was quiet, relaxing, and amazing views. We stayed in the seperate Conica building and our room had a seperate living/sitting area, a/c, and a nice large shower. Everything was very clean and the maids came in every day - not sure about other reviews which had issues? Our bathroom had a window in it looking out over the tuscan rolling hills and I was overwhelmed with the amazing view! The other couple we were with booked a standard, classic room and were a bit suprised to find it had no a/c (in July that may have been an issue). But, the room they had in the castle was HUGE. They loved it. The nights cooled off and they opened the windows and were very comfortable. The breakfasts are included and the woman who worked them was very nice. It is a typical continental breakfast, but was always a great way to start out our day. The location was great as a base to go explore the rest of the region. Our GPS went a little crazy (we may have driven off a cliff if we had actually listened to it), but if you get a good road map they are pretty easy to follow. We enjoyed the wine tasting here and going into the cellar (extra cost - but they do give you a lot of info and the woman who does it couldn't be nicer!). We never ate here as we were to busy exploring areas and places, but we enjoyed the pool and relaxing at the end of the day. There is wi fi for those who need to stay connected. Greve and Castello Vicchiomaggio is an excellent choice for your stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k-cadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
1.6 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
542 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
476 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
12.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
663 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Vicchiomaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Vicchiomaggio

Property: Castello Vicchiomaggio
Address: Via Vicchiomaggio 4, 50027, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Greve in Chianti
#3 Romantic Hotel in Greve in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello Vicchiomaggio 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello Vicchiomaggio (Vicchiomaggio Castle), one of the most beautiful and well-preserved castles in Tuscany, immersed in a park of more than 130 hectares, is an elegant holiday farm, a perfect location for wedding receptions, meetings and events organisation, as well as a renowned wine estate.Located in the heart of Chianti, it is a jewel nestled among hills, and a shrine of hospitality to celebrate the most important day of your life, as well as a holiday resort offering the utmost relax, or to enjoy tasting of various wines and typical products and to organise your meeting or gala evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castello Vicchiomaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Vicchiomaggio Hotel Greve In Chianti
Castello Vicchiomaggio Greve In Chianti, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing